Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Little Cedars Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 774 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

Although I'm a freshman in high-school now, I loved this elementary. This school really excelled my learning. I had great teachers (for the most part). The teachers really care about the students. I don't recall too much about the actual curriculum, but it was very well rounded. We had art days every week, music days (where I attempted to play the recorder), and it really helped me with my multiplication later in life.


Posted May 20, 2013

I'm not sure what happened with the kids from a few years ago but both our kids have done great at Little Cedars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

Little Cedars is an outstanding school and our 3 children have been attending since it opened in 2008. The teachers are fantastic and really work to connect and motivate their students. While the academic program is challenging, it has also been very rewarding to see our kids flourish in this environment. The Principal has been very involved and engaged, and the school receives a lot of support from parents in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2011

I was not very impressed; This school, although was very nicely built did not live up to it overall expectations. My son used to attend Totem Falls and he had overall good grades, was in the AR accelerated reading program. Was good friends with most of the teachers, never got in trouble, and had many friends that were kind and respectful; but sadly in his third grade year. The new Little Cedars school was built and he was required to transfer. Learning about all the new features of the school was great, yet none of his friends transferred either. The school didn t seem to have an AR program, and his grades and work ethic seemed to decline. He also complained more about schools and would have rather stayed at the other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

I'm not entirely impressed by this school. My son never had an issue in school socially, and his grades were really good at Seattle Hill. When we transferred to the new school, his grades and test scores went down, and he's had some issues socially here. The Vice principal seems to have his hand on the control, and I think he really cares about the kids. But I'm not really impressed with the teachers we've had so far. I feel they are overworked and the teachers aren't especially organized, with a few exceptions. I am also unimpressed with the front desk receptionist. However, the parent involvement is very good. This year I haven't been as involved as other years, due to work load, but when I am there helping out, there are many parents stepping up and getting involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

I love our little cedars school. What a great place to start my kindergartener!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Little Cedars is a wonderful school and has a great Principal who is very concerned with each and every student. We had an absolutely wonderful full-day kindergarten teacher who goes above and beyond. There is great parent involvment in the classroom and for the school. This school is definitely five stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

We are extremely happy with all facets of Little Cedars; the education, the teachers, the prinicpal, the staff, the PTA, the building, etc. It's a wonderful school and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

I am very happy with this new school. There are a lot of extracurriclar activities, and there are many opportunities for parents to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

It is a great school for our kids! It has great teachers and an exellant staff. My child comes home and I ask how was school,she says it was great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

Word could never properly express how much this school has done for my son! He has several neurological disorders, and over the past 8 months I have gotten to know the entire staff it seems like. My son is high functioning and still in a regular class room. This school has bent over backwards to meet my childs every need not just academically, but socially as well. Each staff member that my son and I have come into contact with has a genuine concearn and desire for my sons sucess. They plan to be there for him as a support system and a cheering section till graduation day! I could not measure the level of quality that each staff member brings to this school. I could not measure the level of true heartfelt commitment and and Love for each students happiness and sucess that I have been personally witness to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I love this new school, my child too! She says the smart boards are the coolest things shes ever seen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

We are completely thrilled since they opened this new elementry. The teachers, staff and principal are overwhelmingly nice, helpful and nuturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

I couldn't be happier with this new school. The teachers, staff and principle are top notch. They are friendly and happy to be working with kids. The school also has a wonderful PTA. They have offered so many great and fun opportunities to the kids and their families. I have also seen my son being challenged after 3 disappointing years at Seattle Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female73%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low incomen/a
Not low income70%
Special education33%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female89%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low incomen/a
Not low income84%
Special education42%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female77%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income57%
Not low income78%
Special education36%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female92%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income54%
Not low income85%
Special education43%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female87%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income62%
Not low income83%
Special education50%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female73%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low incomen/a
Not low income69%
Special education9%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female68%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low incomen/a
Not low income75%
Special education73%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students61%
Female54%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low incomen/a
Not low income63%
Special education36%
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female73%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income47%
Not low income72%
Special education33%
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female84%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income67%
Not low income81%
Special education67%
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 63%
Asian 11% 7%
Hispanic 8% 18%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 111%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 23%N/A8%
Special education 210%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7408 144th Placese
Snohomish, WA 98296
Phone: (360) 563-7280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Totem Falls
Snohomish, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT