Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Spokane, WA
Students enrolled: 543

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Evergreen Elementary School 3

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
Love the Mead school district -- they challenge their students and push them achieve more. I would give Evergreen a five star rating if it weren't for the principal. I am not impressed with Mr. Iverson at all. He TALKS -- and does not LISTEN to concerns. When I went to him with an issue, he gave me the same canned speech he gave every other parent -- VERY frustrating. He's good with the kids -- not so much with parents (and it doesn't seem like he is with teachers, either).

Evergreen Elementary School 2

Posted February 15, 2014
- a parent
Poor leadership, lack of communication among staff. Lots of bullying. Staff does nothing to stop it. No follow up, false promises from staff. The only reason they didn't get a one star is because of the extra curriculum and some teachers are carrying (emphasis on the some).


Evergreen Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Love this school. My daughter went there since 1st grade and is now in the 8th grade at Northwood and now my son is going there and is in the 1st grade. The teachers are nice, the staff is friendly and the principal is always out greeting everyone. You can tell they are all there for the kids and families, not just work!!! Love everything they do for our community!

Evergreen Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
Principal (Iverson) and teachers are great! Lots of volunteer opportunities and they are good about keeping parents informed.

Evergreen Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Our son had a great experience at Evergreen, and so did we. I've heard grumbling among parents since the school was knocked off its top perch among Spokane-area elementaries when Prairie View opened a few years ago, taking Evergreen's very popular principal and some of the richer families, but this is still an outstanding school by any measure. Great music program. Huge playground. Nice neighborhood close to Whitworth University.


Evergreen Elementary School 3

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
Evergreen was perfect for my daughter. She had great experiences with teachers. There are some good teachers and there are some terrible once. My son was super bored in 1st grade. I tried several months of trying to ask teachers to give him extra work. I was told that he should not read on higher level. Mr. Iverson did not give me an appointment though I asked for it twice. I moved my son to private school where he finally got challenged.

Evergreen Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
I currently have two children that attend here. It is a great school! The teachers and staff are very friendly and helpful. We did have one bullying issue this year with my daughter and it was handled quickly and I was told that if we had anymore problems to let them know right away and they would handle it immediately. Thankfully we didn't have any problems after that. This school has a good amount of parent helpers/volunteers. It also has a ton of after school activities for the kids to get involved in.

Evergreen Elementary School 2

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
My child has just finished 5 years at Evergreen and while I was very happy with staff initially I have come to realize that there is a lot of special treatment towards students, bullying goes unpunished and the Principal Iverson is very politically motivated. I see a trend among the "old timers" that is not appealing. Ready for my child to move on.


Evergreen Elementary School 3

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Evergreen Elementary School 2

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
Evergreen's quality as a school has declined greatly since Principal Becky Cooke left and went to Prarie View. I wish she was still there, things went much more smoothly. My daughter only has one year left there thank goodness. There are however still some excellent teachers and staff there still.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Evergreen Elementary School
215 West Eddy, Spokane, WA  99208
(509) 465-6400
Last modified Evergreen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Evergreen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top