Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwood Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

very good school nice students nice learing time pe music band all great 2 floors about 750 students


Posted August 14, 2013

Northwood is a good school because there are a lot of nice kids, teachers, and staff. The teachers are all great and will really teach you so that you're prepared for the next grade. :D. the food could improve though.


Posted April 4, 2010

This is one of the worst schools i have been to, and i have been to many i am an 8th grader in Classic 4 and the teachers are rude, the student are hurtfull, and nothing is done about it, yes the learning is very good, but you dont feel safe
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2009

This school was not what we thought it would be. Lots of issues with bullies.


Posted July 19, 2009

I am writing a review about this school because I am now an 8th grader here. If you are someone who is going to be coming to Northwood and if you like to feel proud than you should join band. Mr.shook is the best band teacher and only gives music that we can all play. He is stict but thats how you learn. we practiced so much for the Jr. Lilac Parade that we won the grand sweepstakes. This means that the teachers will take their own time and teach you what you need. so I would love to recommend this school to anyone who is moving here to Spokane. Go Huskies! Also, Go Watershed!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2008

Northwood Is an excellent middle school. By far it is the best middle school in Spokane. The student leadership is amazing!


Posted May 7, 2008

i am a student at northwood right now and this is great learning environment. All the teachers go out of their way to help us. I am involved in clubs and stuff like that. Right now i am apart of leadership and it is a blast. I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2007

I was a student there a year ago and had a blast. Teachers stay after school to help student who needs it. They provide plenty of extra curricular activities, too. Their sports and academic abilities are great. The principle is out interacting with the students every day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2005

The teacher, administrators, and staff work hard to provide the students with a quality education in and beyond the classroom. From providing online grades and assignment review almost instantly to offering a variety of sports and extracurricular activities such as chess club, art club, planet Northwood, math club, and homework club, this school makes impressive efforts toward meeting the expanding interest of the students.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted November 23, 2004

Wonderful school. Great teachers and a very forward thinking principal who stays totally involved with the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

I like Northwood and my son also enjoys it. I really think having all teachers use think-wave and keep it updated would help all students succeed because they would have the support of parents to remind them of assignments and parents know how their kids are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2004

I am a student here at Northwood and I love it. Our education is one of the best in the state. Our sports and other out of school activities have the highest turnout in the state. I love it here because the teachers are great and they make learning enjoyable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2004

I'm concerned about the low level of computer use in this school. Many teachers seem unwilling to embrace new and changing curriculum and the use of technology. Also, there seems to be a lot of bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female81%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income64%
Not low income81%
Special education19%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income67%
Not low income84%
Special education58%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students86%
Female96%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic94%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income78%
Not low income89%
Special education54%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female71%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income44%
Not low income73%
Special education17%
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female85%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income58%
Not low income79%
Special education42%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female84%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income70%
Not low income88%
Special education72%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students96%
Female99%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Low income94%
Not low income96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 60%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 7%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 11%N/A8%
Special education 17%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 223%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 71%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13120 North Pittsburg
Spokane, WA 99208
Phone: (509) 465-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT