Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Balboa Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Such an awesome school! The staff and teachers are second to none. They go above and beyond for these students daily.

Balboa Elementary School 2

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
Both of my children's teachers were far from great. The principal has no idea what she's doing, and has given me false information on multiple occasions, and this school has serious issues when it comes to bullying (they tell kids to "Toughen up" and fail to make bullied children feel secure telling an adult). I will be switching my children to a different school for this coming school year.


Balboa Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Balboa has been a wonderful experience for my boys! Excellent teachers and leadership. They truly care about my children and are teaching them to love learning!

Balboa Elementary School 2

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school for children that need more help in the classroom. My child has been segregated, I was told I just need to plan on him repeating his grade, and his teacher said she isn't going to push him to do work anymore. This is a kindergartener we're talking about.... The counselor has been a huge help lately, but that's about it. The principal seemed to just be making excuses for his teacher's behavior.

Balboa Elementary School 3

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
If you like combination classes than this is the school for you, for there is a good chance that at Balboa your child will spend a great deal of their time here in these type of classes. Ofcourse the principal will try to convince you how wonderful "multi-age classrooms" are. The only thing that saves the day is the high quality and experienced teachers who over the years have learned how to better deal with having kids of different learning levels together. Also, the school seems to for some reason have something against field trips even though I'm sure they raise enough money in all the fundraisers throughout the year to pay for a bus ride. The campus itself is large, beautiful and in a quiet neighborhood. The school is older and needs serious updating as the gym is small and there are multiple portable classrooms. With some work, a little pep from leadership, and a change with the "way it's always been" thinking this school could be outstanding.


Balboa Elementary School 2

Posted September 01, 2011
- a parent
This has the potential to be a great school. The new prinicple in 2010-11 is a far cry from the fabulous one prior to her. I have been extremely disappointed in her lack of social skills, as well as many other parents. The teachers and staff are wonderful, but when the head person is learning how to be in charge, it creates problems. Their test scores are also nothing great, but the opportunity for your child to excell is there.

Balboa Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a community member
As a grandparent, what I know is that the kids love going to school and that they demonstrate the ability to engage in long conversations about their interests. The school and teachers have given them the necessary skills to be excited about life.

Balboa Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
'its awesome'per Daniel[9yrs/4th grade] I like it because they have a montessori program.My children are above their grade level in most of their subjects. They go on many excellant field trips one of which they explored a dairy operation and a science museum the next day.The parents are very involved.My children are involved in Scouting,Awanas,Mindstorms,soccer and many other different camps.which I attribute to the teachers being highly motivated and mind opening attitudes.Daniel's Father.Thankyou.


Balboa Elementary School 4

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school. The teachers are very comitted and the principal is a warm, intelligent, caring person. The location is also very nice.

Balboa Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
Excellent Spokane school! Dedicated teachers! Caring staff! You can't beat the wonderful atmosphere at this small, northside school! Parent involvement is high with many extracurricular activities (bingo night, carnival, Santa breakfast...too many to list all of them!). Don't let the older building distract you...this school is one of the best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Balboa Elementary School
3010 West Holyoke Ave, Spokane, WA  99208
(509) 354-2000
Last modified Balboa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Balboa Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top