Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Garfield Elementary School 1

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
My child has gone to Garfield from K-6. Everything has been great up until this last year. Her 6th grade teacher has just been the worst. Now I am counting down the days until summer starts so my child doesn't get screamed at or treated badly anymore.

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2012
- a parent
My son is in his second year at Garfield, and I couldn't be happier with the school. Everyone, from the teachers to the principal to the Express staff, has really made it a point to treat my son as an individual and get to know him. He has had a few difficulties, but I've always felt that the school addressed them appropriately and with genuine care. I feel like he's getting a great education from people who truly have a desire to see all of the students succeed.


Garfield Elementary School 2

Posted October 31, 2012
- a community member
I am currently volunteering at Garfield. All of the teachers I have come in contact with have been excellent and are wonderful with the kids. However walking around outside at recess, in the lunchroom, and just around the school, I have been disappointed with how some of the staff handles themselves. I find that the recess staff is constantly screaming at the kids, who are simply just kids trying to play. They'll be running in the grass or tossing around a ball, and I see all of the recess staff constantly just yelling, then turning around yelling more without any real reason. On the occasion that they are actually speaking to one child directly they are all over them without letting them speak or explain any sort of misunderstanding. I have talked to the kids and this sort of impatient treatment is greatly impacting their view of school negatively. The recess teachers are out there to create a "safe" enviroment for the children, but how is that supposed to happen when they are constantly intimidating them and, lacking a better word, being mean? That is not the type of adult that a child would feel comfortable speaking to and safe with. It's really disappointing.

Garfield Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and principal are extremely active in the children's schooling by learning what works best for all the students to learn to the best of their abilities. And they are number one at keeping parents involved in their kids' school lives. 5 stars

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
My grandson loves everything about Garfield. He loves his classroom teacher and friends. He enjoys every part of his busy day. He loves attending the Express Childcare program. He can't wait until his older to do some of the extracurricular programs. If you are looking for a great school in the Spokane area. Check out this absoulely awesome school. You love it here!


Garfield Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 23, 2007
- a teacher
As a teacher at Garfield for twelve years now--I have to say that I love coming into Garfield every single morning to see my wonderful students. I can honestly say that every teacher and staff member is devoted to making Garfield the best school that it can be! Do we have problems? You bet! But, we strive to find the best solution for everyone and to treat every child, parent and families with the respect they deserve. It's our job and we're proud to do it!

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
Garfield and the APPLE program are amazing... I have 3 children all with different needs, from reading recovery for one child having a hard time, to challenging another with high level math, and all of the support that goes along with belonging to this community. Garfield is AWESOME!

Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Garfield Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Garfield Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2003
- a parent
I have had the priviledge of volunteering in this school while my daughters attend. Their teachers have always been amazing people with student success priority #1. Never have I met a more caring staff and administration. Thank you Garfield!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garfield Elementary School
222 West Knox Ave, Spokane, WA  99205
(509) 354-2700
Last modified Garfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Garfield Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.