Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Spokane, WA
Students enrolled: 497

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hutton Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
We have two children at Hutton - 3rd Grade and Kindergarten. Their teachers have all been excellent, hard-working, caring, creative and intelligent. The Principal really does know every child's name and is extremely visible and involved. The PTG is very active and welcoming. Through the PTG, the school is able to offer after-school programs in World Languages, Fine Arts, and Science. They have arranged author visits, and organize fun school-wide events. They also help fund technology needs for the school and do so much more. We moved here from a rural Washington school district and are so happy to be here. Looking forward to the re-model!

Hutton Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
Great school, great parents, great community, great staff (especially the p.e. teacher, music teacher, and librarian) ... looking foreward to the "new school"


Hutton Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2012
- a parent
This is one of the very top schools in the city. There is a strong culture of parent involvement. The principal works tirelessly to support teachers, parents, and kids. The school works hard to create as level a playing field for all kids regardless of socioeconomic background. We feel lucky to have our kids at this school.

Hutton Elementary School 4

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
I have had a great experience with Hutton. My child, who has had difficulty with learning, has received one-on-one help from qualified, caring teachers and has blossomed at Hutton. I have had countless opportunities to get involved (solicited via email by teachers and PTA alike), but I work outside the home full time, so it has been difficult to do so. Yes, the building is old, but it is slated for a remodel in the next few years.

Hutton Elementary School 2

Posted June 07, 2011
- a parent
This is not a good school for gifted children, high academic performers, children with conditions like asthma or parents who want to be involved. Teachers teach to the median and below, and they use their top performers as helpers but do not offer any enrichment for these children. The school building is charming but very old with a history of serious mold and use of toxic artificial air fresheners by teachers, which are prohibited. The principal only pursues changes that fit into his personal agenda and otherwise avoids any and all disputes/issues. Ex.: the safety patrol is not supervised by an adult but has to work dangerous 3+ way intersections that do not have signs. The principal made an agreement with the district to have an adult supervise, but there is no such adult. When I voiced my concern, I was told that it gets better in warmer months when the snow is gone. The principal has a "nothing bad has happened so far" attitude. An avg of 6 people attend the PTA meetings, and the same work horse parents are used year after year. Parents have no voice. Teachers have no voice but are protected by the principal enabling inappropriate behavior in favor of perpetuating complacency.


Hutton Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
Hutton is the #1 school in the district. They work hard for all the students. My children are starting 3rd/5th grade. The PTA is fantastic, they pay for books for the library, computers for the students and after school art and language classes in Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Sign Language. With the standardized testing for the state constantly changing the teachers step up each year to give their best to their students. Parents are encouraged to volunteer in the classrooms and every other school activity and many do. The principal is very visible in the school. He knows all the kids names and is not only a disciplinarian but very encouraging to the students. In every PTA/school meeting I have attended they are always very open to suggestions and ideas that can make things better for the students at Hutton.

Hutton Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in 2nd grade at Hutton at her teachers and other school staff have been wonderful! Wouldn't go anywhere else!

Hutton Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
I have 4 kids at Hutton. I moved to Spokane from Northern California (Menlo Park). I think this school is as good and in ways better than our previous schools. Hutton has a great sense of community.


Hutton Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
Hutton is one of the best schools you could ask for in Spokane. The faculty is friendly and helpful as well as the students. We have chosen hutton for 14 years and it has not let us down. Hutton will put your kids on the right educational path for many years down the road and build morals and structure for your child to grow on.

Hutton Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2008
- a parent
Hutton is a wonderful school. We have been involved with it for over 10 years as our children have progressed through their academic years. The teachers give 110% to each student and they are willing to do whatever it takes (staying late, meeting with parents, phone calls, etc.) to assure each student reaches their full potential!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hutton Elementary School
908 East 24th Ave, Spokane, WA  99203
(509) 354-3030
Last modified Hutton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hutton Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top