Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ferris High School 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Good selection of classes and programs! Most of the teachers and staff are great! Our daughter has enjoyed her time at Ferris!

Ferris High School 1

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
As a long time Ferris supporter who has had multiple family members attend Ferris it is very depressing in my opinion that the Ferris High School Athletic Department has declined to the point that families with children that want to excel in athletics need to look at other schools. This trend started a couple years ago and can best be encapsulated with the varsity baseball team head coach this year that is way in over his head. It got so bad this year that the varsity head coaches father stepped in to try and help right the ship to no avail. Feedback from fellow supporters indicates the same is taking place with other parts of the athletic programs. After observing the baseball season I was left to wonder as to how the decision was made that this person was qualified to coach, teach, and mentor these fine young athletes as rather than coach, teach, and lead, the head coach repeatedly publicly humiliated many of the players in the middle of games for all to see. You could see it in their faces. You could see rather than building a team he was breaking them and ruining their passion for the sport many of them had played for years. As a former coach for nearly 20 years I understand that parents and fans love to second guess coaches and believe they always have the right answer. That is not the case here. With that said I was in such disbelief in the behaviors and choices that this coach made repeatedly throughout the year that I struggled to contain myself and felt terrible for the kids. I was able to speak to many of the regulars that followed the team and it seems as though the Athletic Director is the mother of the head coach which explains how someone as under qualified as this coach is ended up coaching these kids. I am a believer in giving people the opportunity to grow and learn, but in this case the behavior of the coach was so out of line that I feel compelled to provide feedback to not only Great Schools but district leadership as well. While the head coach has some ownership in this with his poor behavior the real issue needs to be addressed at a higher level or the once great athletic program will continue to turn kids that want to excel in athletics away toward other schools.


Ferris High School 1

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
Insufficient dress code, drug restrictions. Most recently they observed Two days of silence at school in favor of homosexuality, this occurring just after the state leader imposed a complete embargo on travel to Indiana because of the religious freedom act. I did not know that public schools had the right to force students to participate in social movements. Spokane schools in general do not sufficiently prepare students for exams or college. Drugs, sex, immorality-the motto of Spokane.

Ferris High School 4

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are fully engaged. Staff is wonderful. My son is getting a first-rate education, and college prep. I will say that the school does a bad job of keeping parents notified of events, but that is my only complaint.

Ferris High School 5

Posted July 10, 2012
- a community member
This school is the best you could hope to have. My parents hate it, but i think this school has amazing students, understanding teachers and there programs are phenomenal, if you want a high school just right for your kids, this is the perfect place


Ferris High School 3

Posted April 23, 2012
- a student
Ferris features a plethora of extracurricular activities, and nearly everyone is doing at least one or two (or three, or four, or ten). The Wind Ensemble is one of the best in the state, as is the football team. The latter has won several state championships as well as academic state championships. The basketball team is also pretty good. The Canterbury Belles (an all-female, audition-only choir) are good on a national level. Unfortunately, rules are seldom if ever enforced, so the school is marred by extreme amounts of profanity, inappropriate attire, vandalism, smoking, and general lack of tact. This alone is what causes the school to be 3/5 rather than 5/5. Lots of AP programs are offered as well.

Ferris High School 5

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
Ferris is a wonderful school. Despite some reviews stating the teachers are difficult to communicate with, I find the opposite; Every request or concern I have stressed has been handled with the greatest concern for my child. I have not had much luck with the counselor as she doesn't seemed the least bit interested. So I prefer to go through the teachers. Music program is awesome!!

Ferris High School 5

Posted December 18, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school, great classes, fun students, great sports, amazing music program. My child loves it here.


Ferris High School 2

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
The school is generally fine as far as public school education, but the teachers are difficult to communicate with, the counselors are too busy to really pay much attention to individual students, and the administrative staff consistently treats parents as if they are an inconvenience--the opposite of friendly customer service. There are some shining exceptions, but generally speaking we would give the school a low rating from a parent perspective. As alumns and the parents of three kids that have gone to Ferris, have a good deal of experience with the school. Our kids have been good students, many honors classes, involved in varsity sports, etc., but we are glad to be moving on.

Ferris High School 4

Posted February 08, 2008
- a student
Everyone has commented on the music programs, which as have been stated, are amazing! The Wind Ensemble and Advanced Percussion groups put on great shows and recieves awards every year. But we also have a great ASB, and sports programs. Our Boys Football and Basketball teams are always at the top of the highly competitive GSL.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ferris High School
3020 East 37th Ave, Spokane, WA  99223
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (509) 354-6011
Last modified Ferris High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top