Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rogers High School 1

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
This school pushes all students to take honors and advanced placement courses. I like the idea of challenging students, but the school ends up dumbing down the material so everyone can take it. That defeats the purpose of having an honors class and kids who truly need harder classes end up not getting the challenging education they need.

Rogers High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
The language that comes out of their mouths is horrible and teachers do nothing. There were frequent fights.


Rogers High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
The band teacher bullies students so much that students drop band after middle school out of fear. The brave or naive (my student) who take the class get yelled at and he even jokes about making kids cry. He is sexist and gives the boys the best parts. If your child likes playing an instrument, I DO NOT recommend Rogers.

Rogers High School 3

Posted January 10, 2015
- a student
2.5-3 stars: First of all, I would like to accommodate this school for having really understanding students and staff. I'm currently a senior at this school and came in during the start of the second quarter last year, having to abruptly switch cities and schools. Everyone is really nice and took me in with open arms. However, I would like to comment on the teachers teaching methods. I don't think they push there students hard enough and I feel like they coddle them at times. The teachers don't really enforce due dates that often, giving students more time to complete assignments than need be which teaches the students to be lazy and that easy assignments are harder than they appear. It seems the teachers do this to get the students to have a better grade when actually they let the students do the least of their ability just to have high scores so the teachers look good. I blow off many assignments because i don't think I'm getting much value from them. If you want the easiest way to get a duploma and have a better chance of getting into college, due to it's bad rep and looking better than you are, I'd go to this school. Go somewhere else if your looking for a valuable education.

Rogers High School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
It's been great to see the amazing turnaround that Rogers High School has undergone in the last five years. The coverage I have seen in the newspaper has been nothing short of remarkable. From increased graduation rates and test scores to a commitment to safety, this school has really shown a focus on academics and student success. This can be best illustrated by the high caliber schools these students are getting accepted to, from Harvard to Stanford and Columbia to more local schools like Gonzaga and UW. Two students in the last two years have received the Gates Millennium Scholarship, good for all school expenses including room, board, books and fees for ALL education through a Doctorate. Numerous students have received full ride scholarships to Whitworth and many other students have achieved a multitude of other academic awards. Rogers High School staff and students should be proud of their accomplishments. Keep it up!


Rogers High School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a community member
I love the negative comments posted from people that have probably never stepped foot into Rogers high school. Why the need to post a review when you don't really "know the school"? Here is what actually goes on at Rogers: The bells ring, students go to class and teachers teach. At the end of the year 80+% of the students graduate on time. Similar to any other high school. The difference is that's not good enough for the staff that works there. They know every one of the 1400 students who go there and work hard to help all students become successful. Two years in a row a Rogers graduate has won the Gates Millennium scholarship. There is one of the best college/career counselors you will ever find working there. There are many AP classes available and students get a top notch education. Rogers has improved over the past fews years and will continue doing so. The hardest obstacle to overcome is the negative perception outside the walls. Give it a chance and you will be thrilled with your student's outcome!

Rogers High School 1

Posted January 31, 2013
- a community member
I see a lot of spelling and grammar mistakes in the reviews posted by former students. They all seem to of had a lot of fun but that isn't going to help them get a job.

Rogers High School 2

Posted November 11, 2010
- a student
To correct the previous statement, I'm sure you received GREAT education. I believe Rogers to be a school where creativity is supported and I commend those whom attend Rogers for this; However, not only academically but socially Rogers High School graduates (few that there are) could do better with one to two more years of schooling. Especially if said students are interested in progressing to University. All in all, I would suggest taking a second look at any other high schools your student could possibly attend. Consider Gonzaga Prep, just down the road. Often the expense of private school turn families away but with their fair-share tuition, the tuition is adjusted per family income making the school affordable for all.


Rogers High School 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a community member
I had so much fun there and got a grate education!!!!

Rogers High School
no rating

Posted December 02, 2008
- a student
I am a proud graduate of Rogers. I owe that school everything. It made me who I am today. Unfortunately, because of the low income zip code that it resides in, it has a very bad reputation. Having graduated valedictorian, I am forever thankful to the faculty at Rogers who seem to care more than they have to. I attended Shadle for a brief period my sophomore year and was extremely let down. At Rogers, diversity brings people together, and overcoming the negativity that surrounds the school bonds the students and faculty. If I could convince someone to give this school a try, im sure they wouldn't be disappointed

Nearby schools

Rogers High School
1622 East Wellesley Ave, Spokane, WA  99207
(509) 354-6600
Last modified Rogers High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top