Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Spokane, WA
Students enrolled: 398
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
When we first moved into our neighborhood, 10 years ago, we had heard mixed reviews about Roosevelt. Just as the neighborhoods Roosevelt pulls from have transitioned , so has this school! We could not be happier with our choice to send our children here! The teachers and staff are AMAZING and there is a sense of community that is hard to beat! Roosevelt does such a wonderful job of reaching all of its students, not only ion an academic level, but through the vast amount of extracurricular activities it has to offer as well . They are very culturally minded and have a wonderful partnership with the MAC (Museum of Arts and Culture) that enriches the lives of the students and their families. Roosevelt has students from all walks of life, but I believe that is why it is such a special place. Through this diversity, my children have learned compassion, and I can't think of a better attribute to have .

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
We only gone through Kindergarden here. Mrs Sullivan is the most incredible teacher. She is one of those people who have something positive to say about anyone. She always has a smile. Thanks to her our daughter had a very positive experience in her first year of public school.


Roosevelt Elementary School 1

Posted July 06, 2013
- a community member
A teacher at the school told a 3rd grade student that was already homeless that when he grew up, he would never have a job or a home. The principal is never available and does not address parent's concerns.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a parent
Roosevelt is a great school! The teachers and staff are outstanding. We loved our daughter's kindergarten teacher this year. She is very smart and kind and really cares about all of the kids.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
Roosevelt is a wonderful school. My son started kindergarten at Roosevelt in 2012 and loves his teacher and his classmates. The school has a lot of parent participation and some great extracurricular activities we have enjoyed like yoga club and gardening club. The Roosevelt parent teacher group also organizes quite a few family events over the school year which have been a lot of fun.


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2013
- a parent
We have been very happy with keeping our child at Roosevelt (even after receiving opportunities to attend the public Montessori and Odyssey programs). The reasons? 1) The teachers are outstanding. Most seem to be able to teach to a broad range of capabilities without sacrificing those who can perform at higher levels. 2) The student/family population is both culturally and economically diverse which has enhanced our child s education and socialization. In a town as homogeneous as Spokane, Roosevelt is a unique learning environment that works. 3) The current principal, counselor, staff and parent group recognize and capitalize on what makes Roosevelt special, and have worked towards broadening resources by engaging with the greater community. Besides placing mentors and volunteers to help in the classroom, the extracurricular offerings include: yoga, chess club, a science program with Gonzaga U., intramural sports, and gardening. 4) My child has learned compassion by being around those who may not be like her . This characteristic is not measured by a test, but is so worthy. She is learning about the challenges inherent in any community while reaching her potential.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
Roosevelt is a vibrant, fun, and diverse school. My kids have had terrific teachers. The principal and parent-teacher group do a great job of organizing extracurricular activities.

Roosevelt Elementary School 4

Posted March 05, 2013
- a community member
Roosevelt has a tough mission in trying to educate students who move in and move out with frustrating frequency, in part due to the high number of students who live in poverty, are homeless, or who have temporary living situations such as foster care. With all of this turmoil in the lives of the students, it would be easy to give up on some of the kids, but the Roosevelt staff doubles down, giving students extra attention and genuine affection (including the ones who act out), and offers as many enrichment opportunities as possible, in order to open the world to all of the students. I have never met a more caring, hard-working, go-above-and-beyond staff. The principal and counselor do an especially commendable job of compassionately working to provide a safe, caring environment in which children can learn, grow, and thrive.


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
The principal and the teachers/staff are wonderful at Roosevelt. We continue to see exceptional curriculum, plus a caring environment for our children. We are very pleased to be at Roosevelt.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2013
- a community member
Roosevelt has an amazing array of extra-curricular and enrichment opportunities for students. Yoga has been such a wonderful addition this year!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt Elementary School
333 West 14th Ave, Spokane, WA  99204
(509) 354-4040
Last modified Roosevelt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roosevelt Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top