Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2015
- a parent
This school has given our kids an excellent education. We are so proud to be part of this community. Their community nights are truly inspiring. It is fun to see the great learning going on.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2015
- a parent
We love Roosevelt because of its diversity. Both of our sons received a quality education and a love of learning. We support public education and our neighborhood schools!


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2015
- a parent
Roosevelt is an amazing school. My kids have thrived there. The teachers are dedicated to make sure every child succeeds. I love Roosevelt's diversity. My children have made friends with kids from all around the world. They not only provide a top notch education, but have a huge variety of after school activities. I would recommend Roosevelt to anyone moving in the neighborhood.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
Roosevelt is an amazing school. The principal, Mrs. Oakley, is dedicated to the teachers and children. She is hands on and always willing to assist. The teachers are caring and professional. The parent teacher group (PTG) is stong and active. They have a diverse student body that makes the classroom vibrant and true to life. I have volunteered at events and in the classroom and am so happy our daughter can attend Roosevelt. She has made great strides in academics and made many fun friends as well.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
When we first moved into our neighborhood, 10 years ago, we had heard mixed reviews about Roosevelt. Just as the neighborhoods Roosevelt pulls from have transitioned , so has this school! We could not be happier with our choice to send our children here! The teachers and staff are AMAZING and there is a sense of community that is hard to beat! Roosevelt does such a wonderful job of reaching all of its students, not only ion an academic level, but through the vast amount of extracurricular activities it has to offer as well . They are very culturally minded and have a wonderful partnership with the MAC (Museum of Arts and Culture) that enriches the lives of the students and their families. Roosevelt has students from all walks of life, but I believe that is why it is such a special place. Through this diversity, my children have learned compassion, and I can't think of a better attribute to have .


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
We only gone through Kindergarden here. Mrs Sullivan is the most incredible teacher. She is one of those people who have something positive to say about anyone. She always has a smile. Thanks to her our daughter had a very positive experience in her first year of public school.

Roosevelt Elementary School 1

Posted July 06, 2013
- a community member
A teacher at the school told a 3rd grade student that was already homeless that when he grew up, he would never have a job or a home. The principal is never available and does not address parent's concerns.
1 person found this helpful

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a parent
Roosevelt is a great school! The teachers and staff are outstanding. We loved our daughter's kindergarten teacher this year. She is very smart and kind and really cares about all of the kids.


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
Roosevelt is a wonderful school. My son started kindergarten at Roosevelt in 2012 and loves his teacher and his classmates. The school has a lot of parent participation and some great extracurricular activities we have enjoyed like yoga club and gardening club. The Roosevelt parent teacher group also organizes quite a few family events over the school year which have been a lot of fun.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2013
- a parent
We have been very happy with keeping our child at Roosevelt (even after receiving opportunities to attend the public Montessori and Odyssey programs). The reasons? 1) The teachers are outstanding. Most seem to be able to teach to a broad range of capabilities without sacrificing those who can perform at higher levels. 2) The student/family population is both culturally and economically diverse which has enhanced our child s education and socialization. In a town as homogeneous as Spokane, Roosevelt is a unique learning environment that works. 3) The current principal, counselor, staff and parent group recognize and capitalize on what makes Roosevelt special, and have worked towards broadening resources by engaging with the greater community. Besides placing mentors and volunteers to help in the classroom, the extracurricular offerings include: yoga, chess club, a science program with Gonzaga U., intramural sports, and gardening. 4) My child has learned compassion by being around those who may not be like her . This characteristic is not measured by a test, but is so worthy. She is learning about the challenges inherent in any community while reaching her potential.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt Elementary School
333 West 14th Ave, Spokane, WA  99204
(509) 354-4040
Last modified Roosevelt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roosevelt Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top