Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sacajawea Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 770 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2013

Overall, an "OK" school, however it is resting on it reputation and is starting to slip. Of particular concern are some of the "old line" teachers, who either come across as elitist, or worse, feel that they should be teaching college courses rather than having to deal with immature Jr. High school students. Not all that happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

I went to Sacajawea Jr. High School in 1968-1970. It was a great experience for an education, athletics, culture, fun and friendships. Wonderful leaders and teachers. Question? What is the year that Sacajawea opened? Where can I find the history of the school? My Favorite Counselor is: Mr. Ed Jenkins (1969-........) My Favorite Teacher is: Miss Ruth Pieterson (1968-....)


Posted June 30, 2011

I'll start this off by saying that every single Honors course I attended was great - 7th and 8th grade English and Social Studies. However, even the Honors Math course is severely lacking with a teacher who, quite honestly doesn't care about any of her students. The entire Science department, as well, is poorly structured and is built to fail. The classes here, if they aren't "Honors" either aren't given appropriate funding or aren't given successful teachers to teach the course. It seems that a majority of the standard classes are poorly designed. The electives, though, are amazing - Art, Life Skills, Band - all have amazing teachers, that as an 11th-grader, I will never forget and have made a lasting impact on me. They constantly drive you to do your best and to achieve the most you can, while creating a good student-teacher bond. Their respect is felt and completely genuine. It's a shame the school is brought down by a terrible Math and Science department though. (More so Science than Math).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Sacajawea is a great school to consider if you are moving to Spokane. Both my son and daughter are highly successful due to an excellent grounding in reading, writing, learning how to relate to people from diverse backgrounds. The Language Arts staff, reading teachers, and art teachers are to be commended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

Sac is a great place to be. It's full of fun and tradition. There's always someone to go to in times of trouble, wether it be a teacher or another student. I just finished my eighth grade year at Sacajawea and am missing it already!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2009

I attended Sacajawea from 1987-89. I had a great experience at Sacajawea. Now 20 years later my step son attends Sacajawea he's in the 8th grade he loves it at Sacajawea its a great place to come to with all friendly teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

i use to be a student in sacajawea during the 80's. please email me the school website so i could follow up on my yearbook if possible
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

i think this schools teachers are amazing they work so hard to satisfy there students and make them fill comfortable with who they are with still having discipline and structure this school is a good learning invirement for these children !!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2008

I Am a 7th grader attending this school, and I think it is awsome. We have great teachers and the classes are pretty fun. I can trust the kids here too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2007

I love this schoool! Im a 7th grader attending this year, and everything about it is awesome. Im involved in so many things, including student council. Overall: the best middle school ever
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2007

There is no better way to tell if a school is good or not than by a student. That is why I am here to tell you about this amazing school. First off I would like to say that I have been to two other middle schools than SAC: this one is by far the best. I have fallen in love with these teachers for the past two years. The extracurricular activities here are amazing. Furthermore this school is so Diverse! If your students are minorities, there are great opportunities such as MESA made for them. Last but not least, Sacajawea has so many differnt things parents can get involved in. There is open house, Mom's, Dad's, and grandparent's night, a sock hop just to name few. I hope if you do choose this school, your student will have the great experience that I had.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2005

I have a special needs student who went through Sac a few years ago. They were always kind and supportive of my daughter and of us, her parents. Their principal, Herb Rotchford, ensured that my daughter had an excellent program, personally sitting in on meetings and planning sessions. After my daughter's very positive experience, I am a loyal life-long Sacajawea supporter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

When I moved to Spokane, I was told I should move on the South Hill so that my child could go to Sacajawea. This school is only a good idea if you are a white student. My child has been called names of all kinds here and the principal has done nothing but tell me not to be so sensitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2004

The new principal at Sacajawea is horrible! She hardly knows any of the students and is never out to supervise at lunch. She needs to take her cue from Mr. Rotchford and start getting involved with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

My daughter goes to Sac and loves it there! She likes all of her teachers she says even though they give her homework! Ha ha. She loves all the events they have and the dances! And Mr. Reavis and Mr. Rotchford Rock!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

This school has one of the best principals in our state. Strong parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male86%
Black55%
Asian58%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic76%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income65%
Not low income95%
Special education33%
Not special education90%
Limited English14%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female84%
Male82%
Black64%
Asian58%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income65%
Not low income92%
Special education45%
Not special education87%
Limited English14%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female88%
Male77%
Black64%
Asian50%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income62%
Not low income93%
Special education35%
Not special education87%
Limited English7%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander42%
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income59%
Not low income88%
Special education56%
Not special education80%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income62%
Not low income89%
Special education56%
Not special education81%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female82%
Male87%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander33%
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Low income64%
Not low income95%
Special education76%
Not special education85%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low income100%
Not low income100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 60%
Two or more races 11% 6%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 234%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 16N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 81%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jeremy Ochse

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 East 33rd Ave
Spokane, WA 99203
Phone: (509) 354-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



All Saints School
Spokane, WA


Rainbow School
Spokane, WA


Libby Center
Spokane, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT