Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Spokane, WA
Students enrolled: 770

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sacajawea Middle School 5

Posted October 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is extremely good, epically the accelerated classes, geometry, and algebra. The none accelerated classes, are good but more like a regular school, the basics. The accelerated program teaches skills that with prepare you children for High School and beyond. Expect your student to have a ton of homework, about 2 hours a night. The accelerated teachers expect a high level of maturity from their students, and no excuses will be accepted.

Sacajawea Middle School 2

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
Overall, an "OK" school, however it is resting on it reputation and is starting to slip. Of particular concern are some of the "old line" teachers, who either come across as elitist, or worse, feel that they should be teaching college courses rather than having to deal with immature Jr. High school students. Not all that happy with this school.


Sacajawea Middle School 5

Posted April 19, 2012
- a community member
I went to Sacajawea Jr. High School in 1968-1970. It was a great experience for an education, athletics, culture, fun and friendships. Wonderful leaders and teachers. Question? What is the year that Sacajawea opened? Where can I find the history of the school? My Favorite Counselor is: Mr. Ed Jenkins (1969-........) My Favorite Teacher is: Miss Ruth Pieterson (1968-....)

Sacajawea Middle School 3

Posted June 30, 2011
- a parent
I'll start this off by saying that every single Honors course I attended was great - 7th and 8th grade English and Social Studies. However, even the Honors Math course is severely lacking with a teacher who, quite honestly doesn't care about any of her students. The entire Science department, as well, is poorly structured and is built to fail. The classes here, if they aren't "Honors" either aren't given appropriate funding or aren't given successful teachers to teach the course. It seems that a majority of the standard classes are poorly designed. The electives, though, are amazing - Art, Life Skills, Band - all have amazing teachers, that as an 11th-grader, I will never forget and have made a lasting impact on me. They constantly drive you to do your best and to achieve the most you can, while creating a good student-teacher bond. Their respect is felt and completely genuine. It's a shame the school is brought down by a terrible Math and Science department though. (More so Science than Math).

Sacajawea Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
Sacajawea is a great school to consider if you are moving to Spokane. Both my son and daughter are highly successful due to an excellent grounding in reading, writing, learning how to relate to people from diverse backgrounds. The Language Arts staff, reading teachers, and art teachers are to be commended.


Sacajawea Middle School 2

Posted June 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sacajawea Middle School 0
no rating

Posted June 17, 2009
- a student
Sac is a great place to be. It's full of fun and tradition. There's always someone to go to in times of trouble, wether it be a teacher or another student. I just finished my eighth grade year at Sacajawea and am missing it already!

Sacajawea Middle School 5

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
I attended Sacajawea from 1987-89. I had a great experience at Sacajawea. Now 20 years later my step son attends Sacajawea he's in the 8th grade he loves it at Sacajawea its a great place to come to with all friendly teachers.


Sacajawea Middle School 1

Posted April 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sacajawea Middle School 1

Posted January 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacajawea Middle School
401 East 33rd Ave, Spokane, WA  99203
(509) 354-5500
Last modified Sacajawea Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sacajawea Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top