Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orchard Center Elementary

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

Awesome School .... Felt very welcome when we switched our boys from district 81 out to the valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

As the school year comes to an end, we are moving just to get our child away from this school. Huge bullying problem through all the grades. great lack of leadership. The principal blows a lot of hot air, but no real action. The receptionist, Trish is cold and unfriendly. Save yourself a lot of hassle and try Seth Woodard Elementary down the way, I always hear glowing reviews from other parents and wish we would have put our child there first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

My daughter went to Orchard Center from Kindergarten to 5th grade and we loved every minute of it. She was actually "choiced in" as her daycare was in the school district. I volunteered for 5 years to run the Fit for Bloomsday after school program and got to know a lot of the kids. The principal was awesome and truly cares about the kids. All of my daughters teachers were awesome and when she had a problem with reading in 1st grade they had her in a special program to help her out. She did great and never had a problem since. We now live in the school district as she is in middle school and just love WVSD all the way around. I would send her there again in a heartbeat. She got a great education by caring and involved teachers/principal. Parent involvement may not of been that great but in this day and age both parents have to work. There were always great turnouts for bingo night, "Donuts for Dads/Muffins for Mom", student of the month breakfast, school carnival, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

no communication, and the staff/principal of the school tend to rely on the excuse "we are a low income neighborhood and don't have involvement of parents" as a way to distract from their shortcomings and huge lack of organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

NOT the school to have your child attend it they have special needs like ADHD, Autism, or others. They are VERY behind on special education services and needs. Huge lack in communication. If your child is a "star student" and does not require much, they will probably do fine. However, if your child is developmentally behind don't count on the staff to inform you of progress regularly. When your child does struggle to meet academic objectives, the blame is pointed at parents, a typical staff scapegoat. There is no consistency in staffing aides or schedule for your special needs student. We will be looking into a different school this next school year, as Orchard Center is ill equipped to deal with learning disabilities. The past 2 years at Orchard Center have hindered the success of our special needs child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

My husband and I love this school. All of our children have gone to Orchard Center and three are still currently attending. They all have excellent test scores and I have nothing but kind words to say about the principal and the rest of the staff. I love volunteering regularly and I ALWAYS feel welcomed into the school. I hope the other negative reviewers child gets such a great education elsewhere that he or she can teach their parent that neighborhood is one word :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

My student has attended OC for the past 3 years, and we've been extremely happy with the school, teachers, staff, and students. We feel that the teachers/staff go the extra mile to help the students. The Principal is fair and has great leadership that the students look up too. We have a great core of parent volunteers that are there to help our students! I highly recommend our school! My son attended another school for a year after moving to the area and he was unhappy and was glad we moved into the OC area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

I just read the review by a parent who was not very happy with Orchard Center's Quality of education. It was very discouraging. I am a grandparent to two Orchard center students. I have been involved from time to time in some of the school activities. I only have great things to say about their teachers and staff. They not only care about teaching students who fit in the box of standardized education, they go out of their way to teach "special needs" students. This process of including those children in each classroom is very enriching for kids who would not otherwise be exposed to people who are not exactly like themselves. The teachers go over the top to include all the children in their education in practical involvement in their community and their environment as a whole. Perhaps the best thing would have been for those interested in what really goes on in the school to attend some of the classes and assemblies and observe what really goes on instead of looking at statistics. Sometimes the best thing to do is to join in the education process instead of trying to change it.


Posted May 10, 2012

They have been on academic probation for quite some time now. We went to speak with teachers about how the school got there and what they were doing to change here are a few of the answers we got. It hasn't changed for sometime and trust me it isn't going to be changing anytime soon We don't have parents who involve themselves so what more can we expect Then we went to speak with the principal his BIG excuse that he kept saying was, "Demographically speaking we are in a low income neighbor hood. Parents don't have the time and don't put in the effort." So because we live in a low income neighbor hood my family members do not deserve a good education. We tried helping with programs and trying to get the school involved we waited all year and at the end of this year we have made the decision to switch schools. Nothing has changes lots of talk but no action. I actually went to find out about enrolling my children there before we knew this. The secretary couldn't give me any info on the school and when she went to ask the principal he wouldn't come out of his office to greet us he sent her back with a sticky note with a web address on it. So who not participating Orchard Center?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

This school has helped my child so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Orchard Center has faculty tuned into the child's needs or talents. We are very pleased with the level of education and performance. Love the music department, too.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female58%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income62%
Not low income68%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female65%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income48%
Not low income74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students50%
Female50%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Low income45%
Not low income59%
Special education31%
Not special education58%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female75%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income76%
Not low income65%
Special education77%
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students63%
Female79%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income52%
Not low income82%
Special education46%
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students49%
Female52%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Low income45%
Not low income57%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female64%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income61%
Not low income72%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students73%
Female76%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income71%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 60%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 7%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 15%N/A8%
Special education 119%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 265%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 62%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Travis Peterson

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7519 East Buckeye
Spokane, WA 99212
Phone: (509) 922-5473

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St John Vianney School
Spokane Valley, WA



Gethsemanee Lutheran School
Spokane Valley, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT