Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seth Woodard Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 323 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Our children have been attending the SPICE program at this school for the past 12 years. SPICE is a parent coop program. Each family contributes $110 and 45hrs of volunteer time to the school each year. Additionaly a parent/teacher/principal meeting is held each month. Because of the parent help the teachers are able to give the students more individualized attention. We love this school! Strong imfasis on community service, traditions, learning outside the classroom and parents and teachers working together. The principal makes a point of spending time with the students. As each of our students has moved on to middle school, they have found themselves ahead of the other students and so at the top of thier class. As a parent I love working in the classroom with my children. I get to know their friends and their teachers this way. I also really appreciate the parent meetings, they keep me in the loop and allow me to add my own input to the program. Teacher Imfasis: K-Reading, 1st-Life, 2nd-Cultural Awareness, 3rd- Transistion of Responsibility Level, 4th- Community Service, 5th-Responsabilty in Preperation for Middle School and Life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Our child was new to Seth this year, we were immediately welcomed by staff, and families!! Our child was challenged academically as well as socially. We were a part of the SPICE program and could not be happier. Seth is an amazing school, and we feel incredibly blessed to be a part of their family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I went to Seth from 1st-6th grade about 12-16 years ago and have started my own family with every intention of sending my kids there! The SPICE program is phenomenal and the extra programs and experiences that are made available to the parents and students at Seth Woodard are all standout reasons to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Seth Woodard is a top notch school. The staff and teachers have a love and dedication to all students and families. There is not a teacher in the school that I would not hesitate in putting my son or daughter in their class because all of them are superb. Academically both of my children left the school with excellent study skills and work ethic and a love for school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, July 28, 2014

This is an amazing school with an outstanding principal and an educated, professional staff and teachers. My children have received a top notch education at Seth. As an added bonus, they have been taught how to be kind, caring members of a community. The values that we teach at home are regularly reinforced at the school. The principal has done a fantastic job bringing together the many wonderful programs at Seth Woodard. I highly recommend this school to all parents who want to be involved and connected to a school community that is 100% committed to caring for your children and their education. I have loved being a part of the SPICE program and being able to volunteer in my kids' classrooms, get to know the other children & parents in their classrooms and go on fun yet educational field trips (we even get to attend youth theater plays!). I love knowing that I make a difference in the lives of my children and their peers simply by being involved. Thank you Seth Woodard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

We came to this school to be involved with our childs education. The SPICE program is supposed to be set up to allow parental involvement. Some of the teachers are great but the support from the school administration is simply terrible and the SPICE program turns out to be a waste.. There are real problems with education and social behavior that are consitently downplayed instead of being addressed. What parrent involvement exists is minimal and ineffective, bordering on nothing more than drama. I wish I had another option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

I would not recommend to enroll your child in this school. If you are a parent who is involved in your childs life and care for your childs well being I would not encourage you to bring your child to this school. They ok bullying, they do not have any resolution to kids hitting your child repeatedly, assaulting your child. I have spoke with numerous parents who kids have been punched, kicked, pushed down, inappropriately touched by other students in their class/ school for the school to try and down play the real problem and disregard the parents concern. The principal just takes notes does not show any sympathy, more like a robot. Your child will be a human punching bag for kids with emotional problems and the school down plays it, does not even tell parents most the time they end up figuring it out from their child or from another parent, they try and hide whats really going on. I would not even give the principal a point. Teacher- are ok. The problem lays with the prinicpal not doing anything about bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Seth Woodard Elementary is an amazing mix of extremely adept, hard-working, intelligent teachers and administrators who also know how to be fun, personable and make learning what it should be -- an adventure! I love Seth Woodard and wouldn't have my kiddos go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

Our son was in the PACE Magnet class for 3 years and Haley Murray is the best. Gifted children can be a challenge to teach, then to add in a class mix of grades 3, 4 and 5 adds even more challenge. She teaches with such a positive, encouraging spirit. My son really enjoyed his 3 years with her, we will miss her. Ms Arter is awesome. All the programs she coordinated we so awesome and fun for the kids. Pam Francis is so engaged and you can tell she loves her "kids". Seth is awesome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

I love Sethwoodard. We came from an overpriced Private School and I would pay more for what we are getting at Seth than I would ever pay for 'private' school again. The teachers are wonderful and the staff is caring and attentive. I couldn't be happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

The quality of the academic program is superior with 100% of the students passing Reading on the statewide test. The school has Spanish, Choir, Band, Strings, Art and after school sports for intermediate level. Parent involvement is one of the highest in the State.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Pam Francis is a fair, but tough administrator who is not afraid of coming along side of kids who are struggling. The SPICE program has been great with lots of parent involvement and loads of opportunities for kids to learn about the world around them and to be challenged by the community and by the teaching staff. I would highly recommend any parent to seriously check this school out for their child. They are doing some of the best educating in all of Spokane. Several of their teaching staff copuld easily qualify for teacher of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income81%
Not low income95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female89%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income84%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students83%
Female96%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income78%
Not low income89%
Special education31%
Not special education100%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female96%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income92%
Not low income89%
Special education75%
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students60%
Female85%
Male43%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income50%
Not low income74%
Special education25%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female82%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income70%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female97%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income85%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female97%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income79%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 60%
Hispanic 12% 20%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 7%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 12%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 261%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 74%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Tad Heinen

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7401 East Mission
Spokane, WA 99212
Website: Click here
Phone: (509) 921-2160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St John Vianney School
Spokane Valley, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT