Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public district
Spokane, WA
Students enrolled: 223
 

5 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Valley City School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
When I first moved to the area, I was told that City School was a school for kids that got in trouble a lot. Please people do your own research. This is far from the truth. In fact if your child is a trouble maker and is not self paced, they will get weeded out of the program. This school is too great to deal with unruly children. We are impressed with the school and staff. Our child feels valued and is now truely able to be creative. We dealt with a lot of hypocrisy at the last school our child attended. Glad we made this leap for the 5th grade year. Our child has already grown tremendously and loves school now! We look forward to our child's growth at City School for the remainder of middle school. Sign your kid up in April of 4th grade for City School if you don't want them to miss out on this great opportunity. Your child will go through a process of filling out an application, getting references as well as your getting an interview. Our child leaped for joy when the acceptance letter came in the mail (priceless moment).

West Valley City School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
We are very impressed with this school. This schools focus is on building long lasting relationships, teaching responsibilities, and setting up kids with tools and knowledge for their everyday future.


West Valley City School 4

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
West Valley City School encourages new students to get out of there comfort zone. That's something not a lot of other middle schools focus on. Each student has the chance to make a difference in the community while building relationships with other fellow classmates. City School teachers are easier to talk to than most teachers because they have more bonding time, it's a smaller school, and each student usually gradually gets better and more focused throughout their years. I highly recommend City School for students who want to make a difference and strive to do there best. City School has taught my children how to give perfect presentations and allowed them to be more comfortable in front of a group of people. One of my main concerns was that the students had a little to much freedom. Every teacher learns to trust students depending on their actions in class, and then once the student gets in trouble they aren't punished. Students need to know what's right and what's wrong and the teachers don't want to punish the students, so nothing happens.
1 person found this helpful

West Valley City School 3

Posted July 28, 2013
- a community member
Why would I write this school with 3 stars? The teachers are very nice, but are kind of out of it. The kids are NOT being watched. Not really anyways. Half the time the teachers are out of the classroom, (most of the time) CHILDREN are teaching CHILDREN during the class of what they call "flex" because their excuse is "we don't have enough volunteers or teachers" , the children are running the school. And yes the "children running the school" may build responsibility in the children, but if they are not willing to take the responsibility, then who will? The principal picks on CERTAIN children, he will follow them and watch their every move until they do something wrong. I have read the other reviews and nobody has mention the incidents with the police involved, the biting and stabbings! I gave it more than one star because the concept is great! I love the hands-on projects they do and the field trips they take. The younger children are learning higher concepts because they are in a classroom with older children. If you are considering this school, be concerned of your children's safety. It is a nice school.

West Valley City School 5

Posted October 23, 2012
- a community member
Best school in the world!! I love all the teachers. I love the classes and ow they are challenging and fun. I hope your child gets the chance to go here.


West Valley City School 4

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
The teachers are great; most communicate very well. I've had 2 children graduate from WVCS and in high school they were years above their classmates. Although the kids worked hard, I think City School is part of the reason they were able to maintain grades high enough to keep them on the honor roll. With that said, due to the fact that you don't get "grades" on a regular basis, this school is not for parents who aren't involved. You do need to look at the list of assignments and communicate with your child(ren) about outstanding items. Finally, I will say my one frustration has been with the principal. He did not take immediate actions to address issues such as bullying and racism. The school is founded on the principle that children will do the right thing if they act respectfully therefore the only rule is that students show respect. However, the disrespectful actions were not addressed. I m not sure how much experience the current principal has (there was a different one when we first came to the school) but he either needs to take a firmer stand on inappropriate actions or the district needs to take a stand and replace him.

West Valley City School 1

Posted October 19, 2011
- a parent
The idea of this school is fabulous, if only it could be carried out as such. There is no accountability for students or teachers. When homework is turned in, there are times the teachers don't grade it for a month. On top of that, the principal doesn't know the definition of "bullying," nor does he adhere to parental involvement when it comes to threatening, bullying or invasion of privacy. Instead of contacting the parents when shutting down the student's email because another student sent pornographic images from it, he refuses to call or return calls. The best way to get his attention? Sit in his office until he finally shows up, then slap a restraining order against the offending student on his desk. A beyond poor example! I would never recommend this school based on the principal alone!

West Valley City School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


West Valley City School 0
no rating

Posted October 25, 2009
- a community member
City School is the best! It allows the students to learn about City Governament and to work in teams.

West Valley City School 0
no rating

Posted October 23, 2009
- a parent
WV City School is a cutting-edge school! I wish more students had the opportunity to experience this unique educational format. The way in which the school approaches learning is unique and very effective. It allows the children to not only develop a fantastic core education of language, math, science, and history but also allows the students to accrue a font of valuable life skills. The students attain priceless teamwork skills through their many team projects and through their daily team class. Students acquire a priceless work ethic via many means, one of which is the 'city' the school operates within it's daily school day. The students have a wide variety of jobs they can apply for, interview, may or may not get and work daily. The students have the opportunity to be everything from a judge to a barista to owning their own small business! They learn financial responsibility through their paychecks, paying taxes, and 'tuition' with their city money. It's truely an Great School. As amazing as the City School concept is, the teachers are even more fabulous. I have never had the pleasure of or heard of a bunch of more dedicated, hard-working, intelligent, and a truely caring thoughtful group of individual teachers. Each and every one of them are outstanding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Valley City School
8920 East Valleyway, Spokane, WA  99212
(509) 921-2836
Last modified West Valley City School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Valley City School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top