Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Palisades Christian Academy

Private | PK-10 | 137 students

Our school is know for its Christ centered academics and quality teaching

 

Living in Spokane

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $210,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

We have three kids in the elementary school at Palisades. It is our first year there and we have been so impressed with the quality of the teachers and the dedication of the staff. The school has accommodated our kids with advanced work and level appropriate math, reading, spelling, etc. The music program is fantastic and offers many opportunities for everyone. There is just a real community feel to the school and the older kids are terrific with the younger ones. Community involvement, mission trips, and food drives are just some of the ways PCA kids learn to be outwardly focused and service oriented. The special things about the school are too numerous to count. Our kids especially love the family ski days, retreats, festivals, and music programs! We feel that the school provides an amazing Christian school experience for the price and we are grateful to have found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

My child will not attend this school. Multiple teachers have left since it opened a few years ago (renamed) and it is on its third principle. The board members have little to no administrative experience. The textbooks and equipment/supplies are old and out-of-date. Three-of-five ratings on this site were completed by teachers, which is evidence of an unprofessional bias.


Posted April 6, 2013

My son is in second grade at this school and has been here for three years. We've been very happy with PCA as well as the teachers and staff. The teachers seem to really care for their students and modify their teaching for each child. The school has an excellent music program for elementary and secondary grades. There is also access to after school programs such as gymnastics and children choir. The school has winter activity days where they ski while younger children have activities such as skating, swimming, etc. Compared with other private schools in the area, PCA is very competitively price since it is supported by several area churches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

I love teaching at Palisades Christian Academy. This school is definitely one of the best schools in Spokane. The teachers are very dedicated to their work, and deem it not "just a job" --but a mission. The academic standards are high, but the teachers are willing to work with students to overcome struggles. The families are very supportive and work diligently to try and make our school better and better. We are very blessed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2012

In my career as a teacher, I've NEVER worked with such a strong team of qualified instructors, staff, and parents as my time as a teacher at PCA. Every teacher has a personal interest in the success of each student (physically, emotionally, academically, & spiritually). Before working at PCA, I had students who came from the 9-10 grades to my 11-12 grade classes. They were superior students academically & with much more leadership experience than the kids that came through my school! That was when my wife and I decided we'd enroll our children at PCA when they were of school age. When the opportunity to teach at PCA arose, I jumped at it. What a great school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2012

My daughter just finished Kindergarten at this school. We were very impressed. I especially appreciated how her teacher adapted the school work to fit my daughter's unique needs. We also liked having so many extras available through the school: swimming lessons, ski/snow-boarding, music lessons, gymastics, art lessons, spanish club, and sports. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2005

This is one of the greatest schools in the state. The teachers are well educated and caring. They work hard to meet a variety of student needs. Students are kind and hard working. Expectations are high.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 64%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Hispanic 4% 16%
Black 3% 6%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dan Wister
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Seventh-Day Adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC
Fax number
  • (509) 324-8904

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • buses for field trips and comm
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
137
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
student aid from churches

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
None
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1115 N. Government Way
Spokane, WA 99224
Website: Click here
Phone: (509) 325-1985

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Rainbow School
Spokane, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT