Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gonzaga Preparatory School

Private | 8-12 | 901 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Spokane

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $88,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2012

As my wife says, "G Prep is worth mortgaging your house for." Fortunately, Prep's Fair Share tuition program ensures that you pay tuition based on your income, so you hopefully won't have to mortgage anything. Our two sons graduated and earned nearly $1,000,000 in scholarships combined. I am paying 0$ to send my two sons to college. That's right: free college tuition. One of my sons went to a good Mead School District public high school for a year, and he said that the teachers are better at G-Prep, there's more college prep attention at Prep because the public school counselors are only concerned with dropouts, you can walk out of his public school any time and not get caught, there's a better sense of community at G Prep, everybody knows his name, etc. There are even parents from North Idaho who drive their kids one hour or more to get their kids to this school. So, it's worth it. You won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2012

If you are interested in a Christian faith based, academically rigorous environment that competes with the top schools in the state in 4A sports, there is no better choice. Understand that the tough grading system may put your child at a disadvantage compared to the public schools and there is no 5pt. A for AP courses. Despite this, our children have been blessed to receive top quality education, are well prepared for college, and living a life supported by a community of believers that seek to spread the Good News.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

Gonzaga Prep has not disappointed our family. We have two children now at Prep and they are thriving. There are enough students to choose like-minded friends and make new ones. They have found their niche and don't like to miss school, which is unusual. The teachers and staff care about the students ensuring that they succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

We have had 3 children start their high school education at Gonzaga Prep. While our experiences with all 3 children were different, the most important part of their education was the catholic values taught at Prep. But this school is not for every teenager. There are well defined clicks and if you are an average student you will struggle at this school because all they care about is improving the graduation rate and the A/P scores, they don t care about the individual student. They also keep their staff way past their prime
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

I love this school. if you want a community of friends for your children when they grow up this is the perfect place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

i love my school i go here and its the best woderful teachers great sports and its all great
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2006

I attended GPrep and I have to say that the school gave me a true sense of what it is to be a man or woman for others. The Jesuit ideals of giving back to the community through service gave me opportunities I know I would have never been able to have if not for this private institiution.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 12, 2006

Fantastic school---faculty, students, curriculum, everything is top-notch!~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

Excellent School, for a private education it is top notch.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 6, 2006

Great school providing quality prep for college! Cost is fair. Staff Great. Students work with each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2005

High quality teaching, my kids came from public school, and the one thing that they noticed the most is teachers care for each student. Sports and music are a big part of my childrens life and at prep they get to experiance that plus a christian atmosphere in every activity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

Fantastic education and outstanding moral, emotional, and spiritual support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Outstanding education and long lasting impression. My kids will attend here.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 60%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Two or more races 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Cindy Reopelle
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Spokane
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1224 East Euclid Avenue
Spokane, WA 99207
Website: Click here
Phone: (509) 483-8512

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rogers High School
Spokane, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT