Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Christian Academy

Private | PK-10 | 40 students

Small class size and a loving staff of caring individuals

 
 

Living in Spokane

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $198,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2014

Love this school! its been wonderful for my daughter who needs constant challenge in the classroom to keep her stimulated CCA is awesome and would I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

My niece has gone to CCA for several years. It has been a wonderful educational opportunity for her. As a retired public school teacher/administrator, I fully support the mission and work of CCA!


Posted January 24, 2014

My experience with this school in the past has been nothing but positive. As a parent of a future kindergartner, this is the school where I will place my children. The staff is unbelievably caring and helpful. The academics are strong and spiritual atmosphere makes this the place we want to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2014

Cornerstone Christian Academy has been an absolute blessing for my children and our family. With our son feeling unsafe and under stimulated in the public school system we knew we had to make a change. The staff at Cornerstone immediately took the time to get to know him and his needs. His abilities were quickly assessed and he has constantly been challenged with work to reflect his potential. The small class sizes and Christian values create a family like atmosphere that not only allows for individualized instruction but a feeling of safety and security. Tuition is affordable and the school is committed to making a private Christian education accessible to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

Cornerstone has turned out to be a very disappointing school for my 3 boys. Several children have left the school and mine will not be coming back after the new year. My son is now in first grade and still doesn't even know his alphabet, yet his progress report is showing all 3 and 4's . Each classroom has about 5 to 7 kids so there is no excuse for the neglect towards my son's education. Also they have no sports other than basketball. I do not recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

No parent participation. Same old activities every year. Tuition keeps going up but they have nothing more to offer . The board and principle are not interested in making the school a better place. So if you like a school full of sheep this is the place to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

As a concerned parent I feel obligated to comment on CCA and the lack of stimulation they provide for my child in a private school setting. There is no extra activities and no change in many years. There is no playground and no fence to protect the children from the busy street. The children have been promised a playground for years and even asked the children to give their own money for this cause. The fact there won't be a playground for several more years was very upsetting to find out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

As a step parent to 3 boys at that school has repeatedly made suggestions on things that needed to be improved for the best interest of the children . It has been expressed that our opinion is not wanted nor needed and that our tuition does not give us the right to voice our opinion. We were told by the board that our children going to this school is a privilege and we should be thanking them and other donors of CCA. It has been a shame that this school does not want to improve and make change for the better. This school was once a great place for kids but it is no longer that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

My daughter moved to Cornerstone Christian Academy two months into her 1st grade year. She had been going to an overcrowded inner-city public school where she was so far behind academically that she was receiving special ed services. Within a week of transferring to CCA, she could write all her letters and numbers correctly, and within a month she improved from pre-K to grade appropriate in math skills. She has thrived in a small classroom environment and is excited to go to school every day. What a blessing to also have faith incorporated into academics! I would highly recommend Cornerstone to anyone. The teachers and staff are wonderful. This is the best possible option for any child who needs the special care and attention to succeed in a classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

My children's school is amazing. Prior to coming here, my daughter who has some mild special needs was bullied and as a result, was not able to concentrate on learning. She is excelling academically and making friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Cornerstone Christian faculty have been awesome for my entire family. Life happens and they are there to help you and your child through, by praying as individuals and a group. Their leadership shrines through my child and the kids and other parents attending. Thanks to all! The classrooms are small and inviting. The kids are always cheerful and cordial. It is tight knit community I am proud to be a part of. There is always room for improvement and they strive to find ways to improve with the resources they have. Again, I can't say thank you enough on behalf of my entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

My son has gone to school at Cornerstone Christian Academy since Kindergarten, he is now in 5th grade. He adores the school, teachers and fun, family environment. It's been such a great experience for him and for us! We feel very blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Cornerston Christian Academy is an amazing school. It is a God send to our family and a true blessing. We have children with different emotional needs and cornerston really strives to meet them at the level where they are at. My children have been able to excell in certain subjects because of all the one on one instruction from the teachers and small class sizes. I have had a kindergartener doing 2nd grade math because the teachers were willing to work with him and allow him to suceed. The parents and staff truly love the children that attend and it is a tight knit community. The principal and teachers are great at resolving conflict in a caring and loving way, that disciplines effectivly and teaches kids character qualities. They love the entire child and want the best for them educationally, emotionally, socially and spiritually. Our familys goal is to allow the children to stay as long as possible from Kindergarten to 8th grade at this school. The teachers are true servants and volunteers. If you were to break down the hours they are at the school dedicating themselves they are well underpaid. This school deserves every grant available. They are AMAZING!!!!!!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

My son has is in the third grade this year and doing better then ever in school!! This school is a great choice due to the great family like atmosphere. The small class size is great!! It gives the teachers time to work with each student and really get to know them. I could not ask for a better school or teachers for my son!! I would recommend this school to any one who wants Thier children to get a great education and to learn the importance of having a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

Our first year attending my child had always gone to public school. My child;'s experience has been amazing, the staff and other families have been very kind and loving. The work is much more challenging as the expectations are much higher but her teacher has been very supportive. Bullying and mean girls don't attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

My child absolutely loves this school she loves the staff as she finds them encouraging and caring about all of the students that attend this school. The teachers really try to help them learn to the best of their academic and physical abilities. I think that this school is definitely worth your time. The academics are outstanding. My child wishes that they had a high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I was entirely impressed by this school. It has a loving and family oriented atmoshere. Very sensitive to special needs and other students. Safe and caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

We left CCA for a couple of years due to loss of an income as we had a new addition to our family (and I homeschooled during that time). We are now back with three of our four attending the academy and I'm just as pleased as I was a few years ago. Our kids are a bit challenging and CCA has embraced them all in incredible ways. The student/teacher ratios are great, the curriculum is very friendly even to our two oldest children who both have learning disabilities, and the family focused environment is a blessing. And I'm beyond impressed with the compassion that is put towards our third child even considering some of his challenging behaviors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

CCA did not help my child, rather chose to humiliate him in front of the class. It may have required too much effort on their part to teach him as he has a LD. He was forced to leave this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

One word describes Cornerstone: Amazing! Quality, research based curriculum, teachers who are there because they love the kids and know their calling, and a student/family body that is wholesome and caring! I have yet to find a school in our area that even compares to Cornerstone!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 7%
Hispanic 8% 20%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dave Kistler
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • None
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • work with individual students
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4224 E 4th Ave
Spokane, WA 99203
Website: Click here
Phone: (509) 835-1235

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Libby Center
Spokane, WA


All Saints School
Spokane, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT