Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broadway Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 451 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2014

My worst decision as a parent was to send my son to this school. The school is split into 2 programs and it is pretty clear to see which program is favored. The principal seems to undermine the intelligence of the parents and act as if this isn t obvious to see. The teachers lack enthusiasm for teaching and the office staff could learn some manners from my 6 year. The school hardly offers the opportunity for parent involvement which makes it difficult to have a strong relationship with the staff. Worst school in this district! Stay away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2014

Putting my child in this school was the worst decision I ever made. When she started here she was a year ahead in math and reading. She was bullied beyond belief and the principal did nothing about it. They even had video of a kid reaching over the seat on the bus and ripping my daughters hair out. Nothing happened. My daughter was only in this school 1 year when I pulled her out and put her back at Roosevelt now she is behind on math and reading. I have told many parents about this and have many that have taken their kids out because of poor teaching and poor staff attitudes. Worst school in this district! Plus her teacher in her class picture was glaring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

The only reason that I did not give Broadway 5 stars is simply because my daughter needs to be challenged by her school work, and they do not individualize their teaching plan to include the higher level children, it seems to be up to the individual teacher. Ms. Banta is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

I was a student at Broadway three years ago. I went there since I was in preschool. I always felt that it was like a home to me. The teachers are very personal. I wasn't very good in math as a 4th grader. My 4th grade teacher took his extra time to help me out before and after school. Now I am an 8th grader taking a freshman math class. Broadway has a lot to be proud of and I am glad to say I was a Broadway star. The staff is awesome and this school also helped my get out of my shy zone.


Posted December 15, 2008

Broadway has been a great school for my son. He is ADHD and has Tourette Syndrome, they have worked with him and gave him confidence in being able to go to school and not get suspended weekly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

Broadway's dedicated highly trained staff do an excellent job with students who remain in the builidng for 3 or more years. They will pass the state WASL test if there are no learning disabiities. Thirty-three percent of our students do not remain in the building and many have attended more than three schools in their first years of education. These are tough odds to overcome but we continue to provide high quality education to all of our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 30, 2008

I am very disappointed in Broadway schools. My son has a learning disability and they have just swept him under the rug. I can see why children drop out of school.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Broadway is a great school! My kids have attended Broadway for 5 years and I am very impressed with the quality of the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

They do not teach phonics in kindergarten which is the only way to learn reading. They teach memorizing words, the kids are bored and unchallenged. we have decided to remove our child and put her in gusethame Lutheran, they have superior teaching methods. I am severely disappointed in this school and the pto involves 8 parents. No one is participating in this school it is sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I feel that my two children are getting a good education at Broadway elementary. The Teachers are very good at keeping the parents involved. The programs seem to keep the kids interest up and they are learning quickly. My girls love to go to school and the amount of homework is not overbearing. Broadway has a good music, library, and P.E. program as well. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female69%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income58%
Not low income78%
Special education20%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female78%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income56%
Not low income83%
Special education15%
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female61%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income58%
Not low income82%
Special education38%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female74%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income56%
Not low income77%
Special education19%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students57%
Female55%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income46%
Not low income82%
Special education13%
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female64%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income49%
Not low income79%
Special education27%
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female75%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income60%
Not low income88%
Special education36%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female78%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income67%
Not low income92%
Special education36%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 60%
Hispanic 14% 20%
Two or more races 8% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Black 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 14%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 269%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 60%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11016 East Broadway Ave
Spokane, WA 99206
Phone: (509) 228-4102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gethsemanee Lutheran School
Spokane Valley, WA


St John Vianney School
Spokane Valley, WA



St. Paschal Catholic School
Spokane Valley, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT