Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Northwest Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 740 students

Preparing Minds...Transforming Hearts
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2014

Positives - Parents seem to keep to themselves, school is teaching Christian values. I will try to leave a non-bias point of view. Negatives - extremely underfunded. They just started offering a speech pathologist and a teacher that helps struggling students. They are charging for the speech pathologist and I am told next year will start extra charging the struggling students. They started a new football team. I wish that money could have gone to an extra teacher to help students academically. School is nickel and diming everyone and begs for money at every turn. They write our grandparents for money and beg us for money to fund the school. There are very little programs teaching the kids to give to the poor and needy (canned food drives, feeding families..) and when they do it's in the news. Board of regents appears to have their own interest involved rather than the children's best interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

Great school with loving supportive teachers and families. Great full that I don't have to worry about my children while they are at school, because I know they are in excellent loving hands and are getting a wonderful education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

We love the Northwest Christian community! We've had kids in various grades, from elementary to high school. Our kids have flourished under the personal care of teachers and coaches. They have a great group of friends to choose from. Class sizes are small and cumulative test scores are high. Best of all, the school is true to its commitment of teaching to both the mind and heart. They do this well! As our kids are growing up in a pretty crazy world, I think the 6K to have your kids taught a Christian worldview is a bargain. Plus, depending on your financial situation, financial aid is definitely available. There was turnover in the administration at the elementary school this past year. I wonder if that is the cause of the sour grapes in the review below? There are always two sides to a story. "Many public school administrators have pulled their kids from the school..." is irrational and emotional, untrue. It makes me sad that someone had that experience when ours has been so great. This year, I am impressed with the new principal and the changes she is making. Definitely call and meet people and use your instincts. Educational choice is one of our best freedoms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Do not send your children to this school. There is no accountability amongst the teachers or administration. Ask why the principal is no longer the principal, ask for recent test scores, meet all the administration and go to their churches and find out what they believe, get phone numbers of families that have left and ask them why. Do research before paying 6k a year. Many public school adminstrators have pulled their children from this school; call them and ask why. The kinder teachers are good and pull the families in but after that.......... $600 a year to bus your children out there is not worth it!!!!!!!! Use your instincts and meet everyone before sending your kids there and if you get a feeling about someone....use your instincts!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2013

First I must say this is a well respected school in the community and there are some loving teachers here although in my opinion things are changing in this school. We live in a community were Mead made the list by Newsweek as 'best schools". There is a lack of programs for gifted students and Mead has an excellent program that starts in 4th grade. Class sizes have grown (my child had over 22 kids) and location/cost makes this school even more undesirable. I believe they do not teach the latest mathematical teachings and have fallen behind on keeping up with the newest methods of teaching (the public schools do a much better job).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

What a delightful experience to have our two boys attend such a wonderful school, K-12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

They have been a great part of our community for years.


Posted February 26, 2010

My twins attended Northwest Christian Schools from 8th grade through graduation. They both were well prepared for college and life in every area: academically and spiritually. The teachers are exceptional and they went the extra mile to meet the needs of our son and daughter. Both received scholarships to Whitworth College and my son went on to receive his engineering degree at U.S,C, My wife and I give N.W.C. an A+!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 60%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Whitworth College
Grand Canyon University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jack Hancock
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (509) 292-6704

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Whitworth College
Grand Canyon University
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

PO Box 28400
Spokane, WA 99228
Website: Click here
Phone: (509) 292-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Can Learn Academy
Spokane, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT