Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherrydale Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 334 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2013

Fellowship Christian Academy ...do NOT send your children here. This would be a wrong move for your child.


Posted April 29, 2013

Cherrydale has been a real delight! My child started kindergarten this year, and I have been very pleased by my son's teacher and the school principal. She has been open, available, and really seems to want to have parents involved in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

Cherrydale is a basic primary school. It really doesn't do more than teach to lowly standardized testing and teach to the lower third of the class. No child is chllenged here. The school has a pathetic music program (kids sing to prerecorded songs with kids already singing on them!) and no art classes. PE may be the best thing going for this school. New principal this year but it is same old same old for Steilacoom School District. So sad for the kids.


Posted May 24, 2011

Great School and Great Kindergarten Teacher. The staff is also very helpful. We love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2010

Cherrydale is a cute school but the teachers are terrible. Only 1 teacher in 3 years was decent. They have too many kids in a single class or teachers just don't pay enough attention to children needing help. One teacher at a conference told me that out of 100 kids, 99 of them were doing better than my child! She also said the children learning English as a second language were at higher levels than my child. First off not a good way to say you think my child is stupid! She had my child tested for special education classes and of course I was told my child was fine special education wasn't needed. I would tell her to ask the teacher for help when she did not understand something and the teacher would say to ask another student. Who gets paid to teach my child, the teacher or your kids?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

My oldest daughter, now in 6th grade, had a wonderful experience here, but since my youngest, currently in kindergarten, has been attending, I think the leadership has gone down hill. The kindergarten class sizes are too large and it's difficult to get answers for basic Q's from the principal. The PTA is awesome and very organized. They add a lot to the over all experience. The speech therapists are awesome. Don't care for the office staff, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

I have a son, who attended Cherrydale last year. The campus did not meet my expectations. The staff were very rude to my son. In addition, the learning environment was quite uncomfortable for him. The students were very mean to him and his teacher did nothing about it. I do not recommend this school for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

Cherrydale is a wonderful school.Both my kids attended Cherrydale and the staff and parent involvment is outstanding.I could only hope all the other schools my kids attend in the future could measure up to Cherrydale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

They were introduced to my oldest boy when he was 5 and his speech was completely not understandable. Now he is in the 3rd grade and because of his teacher, therapist and staff at Cherry dale is schooling is much easier for him. He is no longer in any assisted classes and doing very well. They were a great assest in our life and have done so much for my family. We are deeply appreciative to them for everything. Thank you to everyone at Cherry dale for everything you have done for Kyle and Andy we will for ever keep you close to our hearts. Thank you The Castro Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

Cherrydale is the finest private school fund with public money in Pierce County. The school is a primary school meaning there are only three grades K-2. The ethnic make of the students very much reflects the neighbor where the school is located. My grandson attend this school and I could not ask for better environment for the start of his education. The staff of this school is best I have see at making sure each student feels wanted. This staff also had several teachers who have taught their whole career in this school. Must great place if the staff does not want to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2004

Cherrydale is a wonderful school with a wonderful staff. I love this school for my daughter I couldnt ask for anything more in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Cherrydale Elementary continues its quest to teach to the lower and middle levels of academic achievement. By neglecting the gifted children, they have lost substantial revenue as a result of those children transferring out of district. Consider this school if your child does not require academic challenges, extracurricular activities, and a life-long love of learning instilled and provided by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female76%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income56%
Not low income78%
Special education38%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female83%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income62%
Not low income84%
Special education31%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 63%
Hispanic 11% 18%
Asian 9% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 131%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 23%N/A8%
Special education 215%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 67%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Deva Ward
Fax number
  • (253) 583-8478

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 Galloway
Steilacoom, WA 98388
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 983-2570

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Firwood
Steilacoom, WA


Oak Grove
Steilacoom, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT