Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saltars Point Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I can only rate the teacher's my daughter has had as educators. I can't speak for the school in general.

Saltars Point Elementary School 4

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I LOVE our daughter's teachers and Beth however, the rest of the administration I'm not thrilled about. I have never even met the principal and do not agree with their lunch/recess policy, it causes kids to rush through lunch instead of taking time to actually eat so that they have time to play.


Saltars Point Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Martin has been such a wonderful educator for my daughter. We were blessed to have her and the teachers she partners with to loop this year. This allowed the same students to stay with the same teachers, the teachers that know my daughter so well and it kicked start this year. There was no wasted time getting to know the students skill level and learning styles. She takes the time and interest in my daughters progression and happiness. I just can't say enough about how wonderful she is!!

Saltars Point Elementary School 4

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
This school serves students from 4th and 5th grade from DuPont, Steilacoom, and Anderson Island. So it is much like a mini middle school. That said, it was quite an adjustment at first for my child. We've been fortunate enough to get great teachers the two years my child went here. They were kind, competent, enthusiastic, and communicated with us pretty well. The principal and vice-principal isn't very approachable or personable but disciplinary problems seemed to be handled by both systematically, with communication to parents as soon as possible. The school also employs a counselor and a school psychologist. Enrichment classes includes Music (the music teacher got rave reviews from my child), PE, Library, Art and Tech, and Counselor. Students can also join drama/theater, choir in 4th grade, and band in 5th grade as extracurriculars. On the downside, the food served at the cafeteria can be better. When my child purchases a hot lunch their class is often one of the last ones to go so the better choices is often gone. Also the kids really do not get much time to eat before they're being sent out the door to accommodate the three lunch periods. Finally, the school is a bit far from DuPont so almost all kids are bussed.

Saltars Point Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
It was the worst 2 years my kids ever went through.... Hands down destroyed my boy want to go to school!!!


Saltars Point Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
Not sure why someone is trolling to dog this school. 2 yrs experience with the school and myself and everyone I know are happy with it. Take the bad reviews with a grain of salt.

Saltars Point Elementary School 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
Not worth the time to really educate your children properly. poor teachers and even poorer administration.

Saltars Point Elementary School 2

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
My 9 year old Son has ADHD. At first, he did well at Saltar's. He had an IEP (individual learning plan) with one on one help in math and writing. About half way through his 4th grade year, his teacher began calling his mother at work in the middle of the day. Warning her that her Son was becoming disruptive, not cooperating, and causing undescribed disruptions in the classroom. These calls evolved into almost a bulling or badgering to put our Son on some kind of medication. We tried several different drugs, but our Son would not eat because of hem and lost weight. Here's our dilemma. Do we ruin our child's physical health so as to make him easier to teach, or do we nurture him and expect the staff at Saltar's to do their jobs?


Saltars Point Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
We are a military family who moved into this school district to avoid the on-post and military feeder schools off-post and it has been WELL WORTH IT. Our son has always been slow to meet friends and we have always had to have an IEP due to stress induced stuttering but at Saltar's he has made friends immediately, no longer requires speech services after a quality evaluation that finally identified the speech issues as stress induced (as we thought as parents). Additionally,Mrs. LeCompte immediately welcomed Louis into her classroom, has a strong stance against bullying and challenges our son to do better...not just in what he is struggling but in what he is succeeding in as well. My son loves her because she seems to do all this "without ever yelling." The office has been responsive, expedient, and friendly. The PTA is very involved with many different events each month. We were hesitant about enrolling our son in school knowing we would move again shortly & considered homeschool but are happy we decided against it. They have helped our son develop social skills and he is quickly learning to make friends. Most important he smiles when he comes home for the first time in a while.

Saltars Point Elementary School 1

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
terrible school. No follow ups and poor office staff. very disapionting staff !! Not a good school for an average student or a very bright student as well . no special services are offered and the staff is clueless to state funded programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saltars Point Elementary School
908 3rd St, Steilacoom, WA  98388
(253) 983-2600
Last modified Saltars Point Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 4-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Saltars Point Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top