Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-5
Public
Steilacoom, WA
Students enrolled: 428

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Saltars Point Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
It was the worst 2 years my kids ever went through.... Hands down destroyed my boy want to go to school!!!

Saltars Point Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
Not sure why someone is trolling to dog this school. 2 yrs experience with the school and myself and everyone I know are happy with it. Take the bad reviews with a grain of salt.


Saltars Point Elementary School 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
Not worth the time to really educate your children properly. poor teachers and even poorer administration.

Saltars Point Elementary School 2

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
My 9 year old Son has ADHD. At first, he did well at Saltar's. He had an IEP (individual learning plan) with one on one help in math and writing. About half way through his 4th grade year, his teacher began calling his mother at work in the middle of the day. Warning her that her Son was becoming disruptive, not cooperating, and causing undescribed disruptions in the classroom. These calls evolved into almost a bulling or badgering to put our Son on some kind of medication. We tried several different drugs, but our Son would not eat because of hem and lost weight. Here's our dilemma. Do we ruin our child's physical health so as to make him easier to teach, or do we nurture him and expect the staff at Saltar's to do their jobs?

Saltars Point Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
We are a military family who moved into this school district to avoid the on-post and military feeder schools off-post and it has been WELL WORTH IT. Our son has always been slow to meet friends and we have always had to have an IEP due to stress induced stuttering but at Saltar's he has made friends immediately, no longer requires speech services after a quality evaluation that finally identified the speech issues as stress induced (as we thought as parents). Additionally,Mrs. LeCompte immediately welcomed Louis into her classroom, has a strong stance against bullying and challenges our son to do better...not just in what he is struggling but in what he is succeeding in as well. My son loves her because she seems to do all this "without ever yelling." The office has been responsive, expedient, and friendly. The PTA is very involved with many different events each month. We were hesitant about enrolling our son in school knowing we would move again shortly & considered homeschool but are happy we decided against it. They have helped our son develop social skills and he is quickly learning to make friends. Most important he smiles when he comes home for the first time in a while.


Saltars Point Elementary School 1

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
terrible school. No follow ups and poor office staff. very disapionting staff !! Not a good school for an average student or a very bright student as well . no special services are offered and the staff is clueless to state funded programs.

Saltars Point Elementary School 4

Posted March 16, 2011
- a parent
After several transition years withchanging principals, Saltar's is now settled with a stable principal, a staff that genuinely cares, and teachers who are motivated and engaged with the children. The district does not provide funding for extra-curricular activities, but the teachers try to do the best they can. The school is responsive to parents' needs and concerns when placing students. Our children really enjoyed it.

Saltars Point Elementary School 4

Posted February 26, 2011
- a parent
We have had some excellent teachers at Saltar's Point. The student body is well behaved and the building is well maintained. We have been generally very pleased with this school.


Saltars Point Elementary School 1

Posted January 22, 2011
- a parent
Terrible school! I have never felt like my child was in danger of going to school until he had to go to this one. They never did anything to make sure the students were safe. Glad we moved away from here.

Saltars Point Elementary School 2

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
Disappointed! Our son is doing great as far as grades are concerned. The school itself lacks an element of lifting the kids spirits and making learning fun. With the exception of a small holiday choir event, holidays are not celebrated. Very sad. Honestly, we are looking forward to moving just so we can change schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saltars Point Elementary School
908 3rd St, Steilacoom, WA  98388
(253) 983-2600
Last modified Saltars Point Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 4-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Saltars Point Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top