Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Sultan, WA
Students enrolled: 502
 

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sultan Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
The teachers at Sultan Elementary are wonderful. They really seem to care about the students. Mrs. Anderson, the school principal is very involved with the students and she is easy to talk with. We recently enrolled two our boys because homeschooling was no longer working. One of our sons learns very quickly and rather than letting him sit in class and be bored, as I believe many schools would have done this late in the year, the teachers and Mrs. Anderson worked hard to get him into a class that challenges him more. On their first day of school both of my sons came home with welcome letters from all of their new classmates. SES is wonderful learning environment with teachers that really care.

Sultan Elementary School 4

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has spent Kindergarten through 5th grade at this school with great results. She has enjoyed her classes, especially since entereing the advanced excel class for 4th and 5th grades. It was more challenging, which kept her interest, and the teacher was terrific for this class. All the teachers genuinely care about their students and work hard to not only teach them but nurture them when they can. The PTO is a strong, supportive, helpful, creative group, though the number of active members has varied over the years. New parents are warmly welcomed and it isn't at all like a clique as in some schools. There are many activities and events throughout the year, which helps the kids feel like they are part of the community as well as the school. For a few years there were an excessive number of assembiles, but that has been changed to allow more teaching time in the classroom.


Sultan Elementary School 4

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
I have children at Sultan Elementary and I like the school. I think the teachers work hard to challenge the kids, keep them performing at standard and generally care about the kids. The teachers union is strong which is frustrating sometimes but overall the school is good.

Sultan Elementary School 4

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
I have had at least one child at SES for the past 8 years and overall it has been a much better experience than I ever expected. The teachers are among the most dedicated staff that I've ever had the pleasure of knowing. The parents that are involved are fantastic. I just wish that there were more parents that took the time to get out there and be involved. LOVE that there is a Watch D.O.G. program at the school. Do I wish that there were more afterschool programs offered, yes? But my children are learning more and more everyday!!!

Sultan Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Sultan Elementary is a great school and place for families. It has highly educated and dedicated teachers and good leadership in the past three years. Scores have been rising on the WASL and MSP in Reading, Math, Writing, and Science. There is a new energy at the school, and a welcome atmosphere. Parents love coming to spend their day volunteering in classrooms. It is a great community school that has gone through many changes in the past three years.


Sultan Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Sultan Elementary is an excellent, up and coming elementary school. The community is genuinely diverse, both socially and economically, and is sincerely devoted to the education of its children. The principal works very closely with the teachers and parents to make sure school needs are being prioritized and met, and recently standards have been improving across the board.

Sultan Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2009
- a parent
i find that every school goes through ups and downs throughout the years, and sultan ele. is in it's down years. They teachers are good, not great. The principal is out of touch. I've found it frunstrating to be a parent at this school

Sultan Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 02, 2007
- a parent
This school has a long ways to go before becoming the school it should be! Kindergarten and 1st grade teachers were great at keeping parents up to date with information and asking for help; however this year has been a down turn to that. No communication from the school, teacher, or principal. Last year I had to have one of the teachers talked to by the principal about appropriate videos in the school. Apparently during recess hours he did not have good judgement to what that was.


Sultan Elementary School 2

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sultan Elementary School 4

Posted July 03, 2006
- a parent
Awesome and dedicated teachers though they have little support from administration to do what is best for their students. Administration seems to always be guggling teachers which makes it hard for teachers to feel irreplaceable and comfortable in their environment. This can impact negatively on the way they are able to feel connected with their students and teacher confidence in themselves. Administration needs to back off and let teachers do the job they are so very capable of doing. Most teachers at this school have been there for years and have the comunity and their students best interest at heart. most administration in this district seems to be using current jobs as stepping stones to climb ladders without considering the affects they have on students / teachers and community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sultan Elementary School
501 Date St, Sultan, WA  98294
(360) 793-9830
Last modified Sultan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sultan Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top