Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Suquamish Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 418 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2012

My son started first grade this year at Suquamish and is very happy. He attended a Montessori school for preschool and kinder. The transition was seemless as the class seems to have a similar model. The students and families are very diverse both culturally and socio-economically. The teachers and administration have been open to concerns and questions we have had and are very proactive in seeking out new programs to enrich the school and meet kids' emotional and educational needs. Overall, as a family, we all feel we have made a great choice with Suquamish and are looking forward to helping the community grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

My special education child was made to feel as if he did not "belong" at this school. His teacher said as much, even though his preschool felt he was more than ready for a mainstream classroom. We switched to another public school and have been much happier and the atmosphere definitely feels more welcoming. He was apparently ready for a general education classroom as he is thriving at his new school! Sadly Suquamish could not see past my son's disability. For shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

We have two girls in this school and they are having a wonderful experience. I am not sure what the other reviewer is referring to regarding teacher cliques and that they become threatened (and unethical??), this hasn't been our experience at all. When we have concerns, we raise them and the teachers and staff have been very supportive. I think in this age group, having a great group of teachers that care makes a huge difference. The school is small but that's great as everyone knows everyone else teachers, parents and students). The school does have diversity (both ethnic and income) but i feel this is great for the education and social development of kids. The other great program offered is the advance learning program (AGATE) for students who want to excel. Like many school, I think there are some parents that are more engaged than others but the school does seem receptive of in-class parent participation ( another +).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

Suquamish Elementary is one of the best schools in the North Kitsap School District. The teachers in this school are very passionate about their work and the children. The Principle, Mr. Torgerson is committed to excellence in education, teacher collaboration, parent involvement and community involvement. Being closely tied to the Suquamish Tribe provides such a wonderfully unique experience for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

A lot of young teachers that seem to be in some kind of clique...and yes, they LOVE the children and families that are docile. Throw some kids or parents their way that challenge them to be better teachers and they become threatened and even unethical. I have witnessed one too many adults bullying children at this school.


Posted September 18, 2009

Great principal and teachers who actually care and give their all for their students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

Fantastic school! Mr. Davalos, office staff, counselor, teachers and all other staff are top notch. My daughter began going mid year and she was anxious that no one would know her. Her first day of school as we walked in she was greeted by name by Mr. Davalos, the greeter at the door, the counselor...she had a parade of people to bring her into the Suquamish family. I truly believe the leadership of this school makes it stand out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

suquamish has great teachers and all of them give 110 percent to the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

We have recieved little help with bullying situation. Very diapointed in communication between staff and parents. -A very involved and concerned parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

Great art and music program and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2004

Outstanding school and teachers, thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2004

This school has answered my prayers, My children are happy, they enjoy learning, the parents and teachers are happy to see me and my children every morning and afternoon. I could not have created a better place for my children to learn. Thank you to the staff at Suquamish Ele. You have created the perfect learning atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

The principal, Mr. Davelos, is exceptiional and sets the stage for a cooperative work environment for the teachers and a positive, happy learning atmosphere for the kids. This is a friendly school where the principal and office staff greet every child by name (and even the parents too). As with every school, some teachers are better than others but everyone seems cheerful and glad to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2004

I love this school I went there and now my children do and it's even better. Mr Develos is above and beyond his call of duty and all the teachers I have contact with too, this place is the place to have your children, Hurray for Suquamish Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

The school is focused on teaching the kids more then just fundamentals. There is activity night, reading night, and education / resource night. The parents and teachers all seem 'on-board' with interactive communication and activity and I am impressed with the support the community offers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

My only concern is the fact that 'rumors' interfere with the education process a little more then I am comfortable with and that the kids seem to be the center of adult popularity contests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2003

Great school. The main focus here is reading. We have a family fun reading night where parents and kids have a free dinner and go home with at least 2 books. This happens once every month.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female59%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income41%
Not low income82%
Special education27%
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female76%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income43%
Not low income89%
Special education18%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female62%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native American27%
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income31%
Not low income83%
Special education13%
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female70%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native American46%
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income40%
Not low income94%
Special education19%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female76%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native American46%
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income43%
Not low income89%
Special education13%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female68%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income51%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female83%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income56%
Not low income97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students69%
Female72%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income51%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 60%
Two or more races 17% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 10% 2%
Hispanic 10% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 7%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 250%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 79%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • JOE DAVALOS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18950 Park Ave NE
Suquamish, WA 98392
Phone: (360) 598-4219

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harvest Day School
Suquamish, WA



Pal Program
Poulsbo, WA



Special Programs
Poulsbo, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT