Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Suquamish Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 11, 2015
- a parent
Both of my kids have attended Suquamish for the AGATE program in North Kitsap School District. This is the only school they can attend to be in the program, and it has served them well for several years now. They are challenged to the point of limitation, which is where every student anywhere should be operating. I have little to complain about with this school. We have moved a lot being military, and I think this school is at least as good as the others in CA and WA they have attended. The local tribe contributes a lot of money for excellent field trips and programs, including a four day trip to IslandWood on Bainbridge for the 5th grade class.

Suquamish Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2012
- a parent
My son started first grade this year at Suquamish and is very happy. He attended a Montessori school for preschool and kinder. The transition was seemless as the class seems to have a similar model. The students and families are very diverse both culturally and socio-economically. The teachers and administration have been open to concerns and questions we have had and are very proactive in seeking out new programs to enrich the school and meet kids' emotional and educational needs. Overall, as a family, we all feel we have made a great choice with Suquamish and are looking forward to helping the community grow.


Suquamish Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
My special education child was made to feel as if he did not "belong" at this school. His teacher said as much, even though his preschool felt he was more than ready for a mainstream classroom. We switched to another public school and have been much happier and the atmosphere definitely feels more welcoming. He was apparently ready for a general education classroom as he is thriving at his new school! Sadly Suquamish could not see past my son's disability. For shame.

Suquamish Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2011
- a parent
We have two girls in this school and they are having a wonderful experience. I am not sure what the other reviewer is referring to regarding teacher cliques and that they become threatened (and unethical??), this hasn't been our experience at all. When we have concerns, we raise them and the teachers and staff have been very supportive. I think in this age group, having a great group of teachers that care makes a huge difference. The school is small but that's great as everyone knows everyone else teachers, parents and students). The school does have diversity (both ethnic and income) but i feel this is great for the education and social development of kids. The other great program offered is the advance learning program (AGATE) for students who want to excel. Like many school, I think there are some parents that are more engaged than others but the school does seem receptive of in-class parent participation ( another +).

Suquamish Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
Suquamish Elementary is one of the best schools in the North Kitsap School District. The teachers in this school are very passionate about their work and the children. The Principle, Mr. Torgerson is committed to excellence in education, teacher collaboration, parent involvement and community involvement. Being closely tied to the Suquamish Tribe provides such a wonderfully unique experience for children.


Suquamish Elementary School 1

Posted November 04, 2010
- a community member
A lot of young teachers that seem to be in some kind of clique...and yes, they LOVE the children and families that are docile. Throw some kids or parents their way that challenge them to be better teachers and they become threatened and even unethical. I have witnessed one too many adults bullying children at this school.

Suquamish Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Great principal and teachers who actually care and give their all for their students

Suquamish Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2009
- a parent
Fantastic school! Mr. Davalos, office staff, counselor, teachers and all other staff are top notch. My daughter began going mid year and she was anxious that no one would know her. Her first day of school as we walked in she was greeted by name by Mr. Davalos, the greeter at the door, the counselor...she had a parade of people to bring her into the Suquamish family. I truly believe the leadership of this school makes it stand out!


Suquamish Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 06, 2009
- a parent
suquamish has great teachers and all of them give 110 percent to the kids

Suquamish Elementary School 3

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
We have recieved little help with bullying situation. Very diapointed in communication between staff and parents. -A very involved and concerned parent

Nearby schools

Suquamish Elementary School
18950 Park Ave Ne, Suquamish, WA  98392
(360) 396-3850
Last modified Suquamish Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top