Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Suquamish Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2012
- a parent
My son started first grade this year at Suquamish and is very happy. He attended a Montessori school for preschool and kinder. The transition was seemless as the class seems to have a similar model. The students and families are very diverse both culturally and socio-economically. The teachers and administration have been open to concerns and questions we have had and are very proactive in seeking out new programs to enrich the school and meet kids' emotional and educational needs. Overall, as a family, we all feel we have made a great choice with Suquamish and are looking forward to helping the community grow.

Suquamish Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
My special education child was made to feel as if he did not "belong" at this school. His teacher said as much, even though his preschool felt he was more than ready for a mainstream classroom. We switched to another public school and have been much happier and the atmosphere definitely feels more welcoming. He was apparently ready for a general education classroom as he is thriving at his new school! Sadly Suquamish could not see past my son's disability. For shame.


Suquamish Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2011
- a parent
We have two girls in this school and they are having a wonderful experience. I am not sure what the other reviewer is referring to regarding teacher cliques and that they become threatened (and unethical??), this hasn't been our experience at all. When we have concerns, we raise them and the teachers and staff have been very supportive. I think in this age group, having a great group of teachers that care makes a huge difference. The school is small but that's great as everyone knows everyone else teachers, parents and students). The school does have diversity (both ethnic and income) but i feel this is great for the education and social development of kids. The other great program offered is the advance learning program (AGATE) for students who want to excel. Like many school, I think there are some parents that are more engaged than others but the school does seem receptive of in-class parent participation ( another +).

Suquamish Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
Suquamish Elementary is one of the best schools in the North Kitsap School District. The teachers in this school are very passionate about their work and the children. The Principle, Mr. Torgerson is committed to excellence in education, teacher collaboration, parent involvement and community involvement. Being closely tied to the Suquamish Tribe provides such a wonderfully unique experience for children.

Suquamish Elementary School 1

Posted November 04, 2010
- a community member
A lot of young teachers that seem to be in some kind of clique...and yes, they LOVE the children and families that are docile. Throw some kids or parents their way that challenge them to be better teachers and they become threatened and even unethical. I have witnessed one too many adults bullying children at this school.


Suquamish Elementary School 2

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Suquamish Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Great principal and teachers who actually care and give their all for their students

Suquamish Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2009
- a parent
Fantastic school! Mr. Davalos, office staff, counselor, teachers and all other staff are top notch. My daughter began going mid year and she was anxious that no one would know her. Her first day of school as we walked in she was greeted by name by Mr. Davalos, the greeter at the door, the counselor...she had a parade of people to bring her into the Suquamish family. I truly believe the leadership of this school makes it stand out!


Suquamish Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 06, 2009
- a parent
suquamish has great teachers and all of them give 110 percent to the kids

Suquamish Elementary School 3

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
We have recieved little help with bullying situation. Very diapointed in communication between staff and parents. -A very involved and concerned parent

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Suquamish Elementary School
18950 Park Ave NE, Suquamish, WA  98392
(360) 598-4219
Last modified Suquamish Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Suquamish Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top