Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Naches Trail Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 702 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

I have 3 children that attend this school and I am not happy with the overall setup. Their is a fist grade teacher who wears a crown and when she wears this crown the students can't talk to her. My child kept coming home with marker all over her clothes because another student wanted to color her. The teacher would tell her to go sit down that she has the crown on. There was another time when my child was crying from a headache and asked to go to nurse office she was told no and to stop being a cry baby. Then their is another teacher who doesn't communicate at all. I found out that my child was not completing in class homework when she was home sick and I requested for missing homework to be sent to office. There was 36 missing assignments that went to office. I should have been notified when there was no more than 5. I feel like they set child up to fail by doing these things. One of my children hates going to school because of things like this. I have had enough and will switch school districts
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

I have two children attending this school and I have not been happy with them at all. They do not inform the parents of upcoming events, nor do they respond to notes or voice mails. I would love to be more involved in my kids school activities but they have given me no opportunity to do so. Most of the work the kids do is at home with me teaching them. I am disappointed in the overall experience I have had with this school so far. If it does not get any better we will be looking into other schools next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

the staff is very helpful, respectful to parents and students. My daughter doesn't adjust well to change and they helped accommodate that as much as possible. Great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Im just so happy with everything this school has to offer, not just educational, but also personal as well. These wonderful teacher and staff are above n beyond words!! well AWESOME comes to mind.. I being a single parent with a child with a birth defect couldnt ask for more support. they have shown true care and concern as if my child was their own.. Im grateful and content with this school and staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

Love this school the teachers are great and what a wonderful principal she remembers all the kids names and will call them by name and say hello. Teachers go out of their way to help with teaching your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

Im not to happy with the school i love the staff.But my daughter is in forth grade and need help in reading and they do not provide it for kids beyond third. bascicly shes a lost cause .We are taking both our kids out after brake .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

great school, great teachers with a very caring principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

All of the staff is polite and helpful. They really care about the kids and strive to surpass standards. I am very pleased with the level of intelect and kindness of all the staff. I love that they still dress-up for halloween and all holidays are celebrated,and respected. The kids love it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

I think Naches Trail is a great school. My grandson is learning and growing by leaps and bounds. He has had great teachers, including the one he has this year. I am very happy with this district and especially this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2006

I have 2 children that go to this school and have all of their school years, I am not happy with this school, the children have had good teachers for the most part till this last yr my youngest has a teacher that is very rude to the children, tips over desks to help clean them and also the principle will always back up any teacher or staff, I am unhappy since my children are older and more open to tell me what is really going on, I believe them and as someone else said, I just try to teach them not to be like one of there teachers now. I feel this school needs help and the PTA is more into making the school look cool than into learning they buy toys, signs and not books, Another words, More material than worried about learning. Good luck, We are moving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

Intent focus on quality education. The teachers and staff provide a safe environment for our children to learn, explore, and grow. I know first hand how awesome the special help programs are here. My son was having difficulty with reading. He was placed in a special reading class which I was admittedly worried might 'label' him and cause stereotyping leading to frustration down the line. I couldn't have been more wrong. The specialists helping him were cheering on each of his successes and helped me understand his learning style so I could better help at home. After a few short months with this intense almost individualized assistance, he graduated from the program and couldn't have been more proud of himself and his accomplishments. He now adores reading and has had no further troubles. I have found the family feeling at Naches really bonds the students and faculty and it works.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My daughter attended Naches Trail from the 1st grade through the 6th grade. She participated in most of the sports programs as well as the band and choir programs. We were very happy with all of her teachers - they were willing to spend extra time with the students if they needed help with anything. My daughter is now in Jr. High and her grades show how well her past teachers taught - she has all A's & 1 B... Needless to say - I am very happy with the way my daughter was taught at Naches Trail Elementary... Thank You!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

I have 2 children that have graduated from this elementary school and one still there. I am not, nor will ever be impressed with this school, it's teachers, staff, and principal/vice principal leadership. This school is unsafe, I get charged for lunches my children never receive, and there is no attention paid to children that require a little extra help. Disappointing doesn't begin to cover how I feel, but with a lack of resources to get my last child left there to another school leaves me with no choice but to have them go there and teach them extra at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

Naches Trail has high expectation for student academic achievement. The teachers use district mandated curriculum in communication arts, math and science. There is a high level of technology integration with curriculum and plentiful equipment available for student use. The school has a high number of students who participate in after-school sports programs through Bethel Rec. The music program is excellent and there is an art specialist 3 days per week. Parents are highly involved and fund raisers are successful. PTA sponsors activities such as Friday night skating parties as well as the spring carnival.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2005

I am not happy with the lunch time procedure. My daughter has been coming home without eating her lunches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

I was not impressed with the overall performance of Naches Trail and their teachers. I felt that my children recieved mediocre lesson plans as well as their attention to their needs. We are currently looking for other schools, further distance to avoid another year at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female66%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income55%
Not low income78%
Special education31%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income78%
Not low income87%
Special education39%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students55%
Female51%
Male61%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income28%
Not low income73%
Special education0%
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female71%
Male58%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income48%
Not low income76%
Special education20%
Not special education72%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students47%
Female54%
Male39%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander40%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Low income17%
Not low income67%
Special education20%
Not special education52%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female84%
Male67%
Black64%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income61%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female77%
Male71%
Black73%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income64%
Not low income81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female81%
Male72%
Black80%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income59%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students61%
Female58%
Male64%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income42%
Not low income76%
Special education18%
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female83%
Male71%
Black92%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income63%
Not low income86%
Special education27%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 63%
Hispanic 13% 18%
Black 12% 5%
Asian 10% 7%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 129%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 20%N/A8%
Special education 217%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 57%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15305 Waller Rd East
Tacoma, WA 98446
Phone: (253) 683-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT