Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted March 13, 2016
- a community member
The Montessori Method works so well for an active boy! The multi-age classroom and student directed "work cycle" has allowed our son to excel. He is challenged to stretch in areas that come easily and is supported in areas where he struggles. We are so thankful for this school and the Montessori program.

Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
We absolutely LOVE this school! After two years, I really think my daughter is getting a fantastic education there. The Montessori method has allowed her to soar ahead at her pace and beautifully supports her individual academic needs. The teachers, staff, and parental community have a total hands-on approach. The principal, Paula Bond, is very involved and works tirelessly on continual improvements. We are so fortunate to have this Montessori school in our Tacoma public school system. I only wish and hope and pray that a Montessori option for middle school (and HS) will be available by the time my daughter needs it. Even without it, I think this style of learning, that promotes independent, motivated students, will have given her an edge that will translate over into a traditional classroom. Lastly, the newly constructed building is just the icing on this wonderful cake. What a gorgeous facility that seems to have been truly designed with Montessori learning in mind! I'd give this school a hundred stars, if I could.


Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
Geiger is a fantastic option for famlies looking for more freedom and creativity in the classroom. We have had a terrific experience for over 3 grades and have experienced a superior teacher. I also really like the multi-age classroom. It has taught my son how to be a good leader and help his peer group out. The principle, Ms. Pond has a zero tolerance for bullying and it shows!!! I only hope my daughter will have a spot in two years.

Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
Mrs. Bond and the entire staff here are excellent! The environment is so calm and quiet, peaceful. I wish I went to this school when I was a kid! My daughters love it here and so do I!

Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted July 19, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends Geiger, and we are both really pleased the teachers and faculty. The Montessori method teaches great things! We are blessed to have this school and these wonderful teachers in our neighborhood! The family involvement is also excellent and provides this school with so much.


Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
My daughter goes to geiger, this is her first year at the school and she loves it! They teach the kids to love and respect each other, the montossori part of the school is also amazing! I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a montossori school!

Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted June 09, 2007
- a parent
I had a daughter go from kinder to 3rd grade and she has had great experiences at Geiger. The teachers had always given my daughter all the special attention that they could spare. The PTA was very involved and made many contributions. My daughter has never said anything but wonderful things about her teachers and principal.

Geiger Montessori School 4

Posted August 21, 2004
- a parent
I have had children at Geiger for over 10 years. The past two years have been hard but there is a new principal now and I am very encouraged by the direction that Geiger is taking. Geiger has wonderful Teachers who care deeply for their students. I would recommend Geiger to anyone!


Geiger Montessori School 1

Posted May 25, 2004
- a parent
I have had two children in Geiger since 1996. I am choosing to take my child out of Geiger, due to the poor leadership of the principal, and lack of District help with this problem. The test scores have steadily lowered and I believe that is due to poor leadership, teacher apathy, and lack of support of parent involvement.

Geiger Montessori School 4

Posted January 20, 2004
- a parent
My niece lived with me last school year. She'd moved here for a short period of time from out of state. She'd always run home from school and tell me great things about her teacher & their classroom activities. It made me happy to know she was welcomed into a really great school. I still live near Geiger and can only hope that when my 16 month old goes to kindergarden Geiger will be as great if not greater!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Geiger Montessori School
7401 South 8th Street, Tacoma, WA  98465
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (253) 571-6800
Last modified Geiger Montessori School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top