Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Tacoma, WA
Students enrolled: 440
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
We absolutely LOVE this school! After two years, I really think my daughter is getting a fantastic education there. The Montessori method has allowed her to soar ahead at her pace and beautifully supports her individual academic needs. The teachers, staff, and parental community have a total hands-on approach. The principal, Paula Bond, is very involved and works tirelessly on continual improvements. We are so fortunate to have this Montessori school in our Tacoma public school system. I only wish and hope and pray that a Montessori option for middle school (and HS) will be available by the time my daughter needs it. Even without it, I think this style of learning, that promotes independent, motivated students, will have given her an edge that will translate over into a traditional classroom. Lastly, the newly constructed building is just the icing on this wonderful cake. What a gorgeous facility that seems to have been truly designed with Montessori learning in mind! I'd give this school a hundred stars, if I could.

Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
Geiger is a fantastic option for famlies looking for more freedom and creativity in the classroom. We have had a terrific experience for over 3 grades and have experienced a superior teacher. I also really like the multi-age classroom. It has taught my son how to be a good leader and help his peer group out. The principle, Ms. Pond has a zero tolerance for bullying and it shows!!! I only hope my daughter will have a spot in two years.


Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
Mrs. Bond and the entire staff here are excellent! The environment is so calm and quiet, peaceful. I wish I went to this school when I was a kid! My daughters love it here and so do I!

Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted July 19, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends Geiger, and we are both really pleased the teachers and faculty. The Montessori method teaches great things! We are blessed to have this school and these wonderful teachers in our neighborhood! The family involvement is also excellent and provides this school with so much.

Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
My daughter goes to geiger, this is her first year at the school and she loves it! They teach the kids to love and respect each other, the montossori part of the school is also amazing! I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a montossori school!


Geiger Montessori School 5

Posted June 09, 2007
- a parent
I had a daughter go from kinder to 3rd grade and she has had great experiences at Geiger. The teachers had always given my daughter all the special attention that they could spare. The PTA was very involved and made many contributions. My daughter has never said anything but wonderful things about her teachers and principal.

Geiger Montessori School 3

Posted September 12, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Geiger Montessori School 4

Posted March 21, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Geiger Montessori School 4

Posted August 21, 2004
- a parent
I have had children at Geiger for over 10 years. The past two years have been hard but there is a new principal now and I am very encouraged by the direction that Geiger is taking. Geiger has wonderful Teachers who care deeply for their students. I would recommend Geiger to anyone!

Geiger Montessori School 1

Posted May 25, 2004
- a parent
I have had two children in Geiger since 1996. I am choosing to take my child out of Geiger, due to the poor leadership of the principal, and lack of District help with this problem. The test scores have steadily lowered and I believe that is due to poor leadership, teacher apathy, and lack of support of parent involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Geiger Montessori School
7401 South 8th Street, Tacoma, WA  98465
(253) 571-6800
Last modified Geiger Montessori School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Geiger Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top