Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Point Defiance
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted October 27, 2015
- a community member
This school teaches rules, but does not give opportunity for students to learn responsibility so students are not learning respect.

Point Defiance
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a community member
The leadership in this school is incredibly negative and it shows in the morale of the teachers and the attitudes of the students.


Point Defiance
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a community member
This school has trouble identifying potential issues early on and coming up with systems and solutions to strengthen the overall school for individual student success.

Point Defiance 2

Posted October 27, 2015
- a community member
The school leadership is not supportive of students, teachers or families and the institutional culture at this school is toxic because the school lacks good leadership. I have repeatedly heard Point Defiance staffs talking negatively about other parents in the hallways and had a staff talk negatively about another parent directly to me. I find this very demoralizing and disrespectful to the overall morale at this school. There are some very exceptional teachers and very strong PTA. Overall, they do what they can to make their school better for students, but I would not recommend this school to another parent.

Point Defiance 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Pt. Defiance has been a wonderful fit for us. I have two children that attend school there one in 2nd grade and one in 4th grade now. We started at Pt.Defiance with preschool and have had great experiences since. My children have had different teacher along the way and being a very present parent in my children's education I have had nothing be great relationships with them and continued friendships with some of them. Pt. Defiance is very driven on the subject of reading, but reading is the core to learning and without a strong base learning in the future can be difficult. AR testing is a big thing in every class and it gives the kids a goal to work towards. They have lost of fun and enjoys doing it. My daughter was the top reader last year between K-2 grade. The have a positive behavior program called "3R+S"- which stands for Respectful, Responsible, Ready and Safe. They offer an array of special education programs, Challenge programs, After school activities such as, Dance classes, Brick for kids, Girl scouts, boy scouts, Tennis, Acting and lots of others through out the year. They also have Champions which is an after school daycare located on school grounds and Rebecca the coordinator is Amazing!! The PTA is very involved they have lots of family activities such as movie night, dances, and carnivals just to name a few. My son is looking forward to next year when he gets to go to the Science camp that they have for 5th graders. But don't get me wrong we have had our challenges and issues through out the years with things, but things can not go perfect all the time that just isn't life, and the staff has always been there by out sides to help and support. They never give up on a child and they give them every opportunity to be the best they can be and themselves while still following the school rules and behavior program. They do everything they can to make school a good experience and learning fun. They try to include the whole family as much as possible with sending home a weekly newsletter and all the events, but being a parent that is evolved as much as I am it is easy. I make sure to let every new teacher know they can call and talk to me about anything and I am always available to help out. Parent volunteers are very big at the school as well and help to make the school that much better. It is just an all around friendly, inviting school.


Point Defiance 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
The best school my son went too. Too bad we moved... Recommend it for everyone

Point Defiance 2

Posted October 04, 2014
- a community member
Horrible! Some of the teachers are bullies and if you stand up for your kids they center your child out and bully them!

Point Defiance 1

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
Pt. Defiance Elemantary School is horrible.Some teachers are good,but some are bad.the The teachers always have favorites.They always say things to their favorites and never pay attention to the other kids. Also, my child, who is going to be a fourth grader, had a very rude third grade teacher. The teacher would always ignore the students. I do not reccomend this school.


Point Defiance 3

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
this school has a awesome kindergaten teacher mrs.riggio but it seemslike the 5th grade teacher dont quit help out with the kids that need help luckly my daughter has found a new middle school that willing to help with what she didnt get in 5ht.

Point Defiance 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrid... I wish I had seen this site before I decided where to move!! My sons third grade teacher is rude, pushy and inattentive. My son hates school and has never ever hated school!

Nearby schools

Point Defiance
4330 North Visscher St, Tacoma, WA  98407
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (253) 571-6900
Last modified Point Defiance is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top