Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Visitation Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 178 students

STEM curriculum, small classes, technology-rich, Catholic identity

 
 

Living in Tacoma

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2014

Visitation STEM Academy is an amazing place for children. The teachers are absolutely amazing. My daughter has been there for 4 years. I am truly amazed at the growth I have seen in her. She is very confident, articulate and loves to learn. She looks forward to going to school every day. I know my daughter is not just another face in a classroom. The entire school staff, teachers and students know her and care about her. It is a true community who helps one another. My son went to public school in University Place district which is a great school district and he did well but I have to be honest that I can see and feel the difference between Visitation and public school. My daughter is given the opportunity to keep advancing beyong her level of grade to stay challenged and continued growth. Last year my daughters kindergarten teacher came to her birthday party at Pump It Up which made my daughters day as she so wanted her to be there. I also love that my daughter is learning about faith regardless of what each persons beliefs are the one thing that is constant is treating others with respect, caring about each other and learning by example!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Visitation Catholic School, newly renamed as Visitation Catholic STEM Academy is an outstanding school. The school has staff and teachers who are helpful, kind, positive, and genuine. Visitation teaches students important values including patience, hospitality, and religious morals. The school is in the process of renovating their campus, as of June 2013, to better its STEM program. The STEM program focuses on teaching science, technology, engineering, and mathematics in a more "hands on" way. The STEM program does not only focus on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics but incorporating technology into other subjects like reading, writing, social studies, English and religion. Visitation also has resources for students to use that can better their education. Students participate in mental exercises on the schools iPads, computers, and laptops. Besides the basic subjects Visitation also focuses on teaching students about Catholic morals and having a healthy relationship with God, our Father. Those are just some of the many reasons why Visitation Catholic School or Visitation Catholic STEM Academy, if you will, is an amazing school.


Posted September 18, 2009

Because we have a very rich diversity both socio-economically and ethnically and because we are a tight knit community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Wonderful academic, social, cultural diverse group of students in grades PK - 8th grade. School is a family and a benefit to all families and also support the military families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Visitaion School makes you feel welcome as if you are part of a large family from the moment you walk in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

There just isn't enough I can say about this school! My son has been in attendance since pre-K and he has loved every year there! Everyone is treated equally and you can see the enjoyment in every child's face.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

Small Catholic School which teaches great values and has a great community. However, we decided to move to a different school for more programs and due to a bully situation which was not adequately resolved in a timely fashion. We know the school will work on this after we leave. Academics were excellent and our child went from being a C- student unenthusiastic about school to an A- Student excited again about academics. We recommend this school in spite of the issue because we know in time it would have been resolved but we needed to find a happier situation for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

Small caring community, warm friendly teachers, strong academics are just a few words to describe this school. Students recieve personal attention. Teachers care about the students and often go above and beyond what is expected. Parents are highly involved and active in the classroom and in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

I have two children attending Visitation and I can not imagine a more inviting, educational, and dedicated community than this one. The teachers go far beyond the call of duty to be sure that each student achieves to the best of their ability. The staff is warm and welcoming. The principal is available and approachable. Visitation has been more than just a school for my family. It is a partnership of parents and educators that provides a safe and discipled environment to raise our children in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

My children have been going to this school for up to 7 years. You won't find more dedicated teachers or involved parents in any school nearby. I highly recommend checking out our school. It is very welcoming. Many students that go on to Bellarmine are very successful. You receive great writing and speaking skills that will help you in the future. Also, we have great test scores!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 22% 7%
Black 20% 5%
Hispanic 16% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Vietnamese
Spanish
Korean
Chinese (Mandarin)
Chinese (Cantonese)
American sign language
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Thomas Jay
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (253) 474-6718

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • CYO
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • CYO
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Visitation Catholic STEM Academy provides exceptional, individualized education from pre-kindergarten through eighth grade. Featuring small class sizes, computers in every classroom, and before and after-school care, Visitation maintains high academic and moral standards in a caring environment. Rich in diversity — ethnic, racial and socioeconomic — our students model compassion and service to the community. We are committed to making tuition affordable for all families.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bellarmine Preparatory
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3306 S 58th St
Tacoma, WA 98409
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 474-6424

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Edison
Tacoma, WA



Manitou Park
Tacoma, WA


Arlington
Tacoma, WA


Hope School
Tacoma, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT