Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Tacoma, WA
Students enrolled: 400

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Patrick School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Our family is not Catholic and was not really considering St. Pats when we first started contemplating kindergarten and beyond for our oldest son. But of the 4-5 schools we toured St. Pats stood out as most welcoming and seemed like it would offer an approach to teaching that fit our hopes for the type of experience we wanted our now three kids to have. That initial impression has not been proven wrong and the last two years have been wonderful. Mrs. Krattli and Mrs. Richards anchor the kindergarten which will be split into two classrooms for the first time in 2014-2015. Both are excellent teachers that were highly communicative and always giving of their time. When our son struggled with some of the math concepts being introduced we worked together to build his comfort and confidence with the material. That type of attentiveness and caring is what makes St. Pats a special place and well worth the cost. We would encourage families of any faith not to overlook St. Pats - the community and educational experience offered are excellent and you are welcomed without regard to religious affiliation.

St. Patrick School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
Saint Patrick is a GREAT SCHOOL.. The Staff is amazing and the new Principal just puts icing on the Cake. Recently updated the technology with IPADS and ChromeBook shows a real commitment to keeping this school moving forward. Highly recommend anyone looking for a Pre-K through 8 program consider St. Pat's. Especially if Bellermine in in your childs future given the addition of Chris Gavin, you get the sense kids will be prepared for Bellermine and beyond. Class sizes are small , teachers are caring and the school community as a whole is very welcoming. Best decision we have made for our kids!


St. Patrick School 5

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
My boys have been at St. Patrick's for 5 year now and we are thrilled with education as well as the community. It feels like a loving neighborhood school that is filled with teachers, students and parents who genuinely want the best for 'their' children. This coming year (14/15) we are getting a new leader who has 28 years of experience of leadership at our local Catholic High School and we are thrilled! The future looks bright indeed for our beloved school!

St. Patrick School 5

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
I have three children at St. Patrick School - 1st grade, 3rd grade and 4th grade. All three have had outstanding teachers who have challenged them academically and served as excellent Christian role models. They've also benefited from having technology, music and art classes as a part of their weekly class schedules starting in PreK. Not only is St. Patrick a great value, but also a great community!

St. Patrick School 2

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
There are some good teachers at this school. However because of a weak administration there are also some teachers who are out of control. This lack of leadership has emboldened these disgruntled teachers and they have spread their negativity like a cancer throughout this community. Even going so far as to actively pull parents into their drama. It is very sad.


St. Patrick School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
I have two daugters at St Pat's . one going into 4th Grade and other other Kintergarten. They both started in the Pre-K program and have LOVED it. Everyyear we are so pleased withe teacher and classroom environment we expect a let down and yet the next year is just as good!. The girls get a solid Catholic Education with a community of students, families and teachers that really care about them. I can not say enough about the quality of the program Spanish, Technology, even my picky eaters have expanded their pallete because of the lunchroom. Saint Patrick Catholic School is a great value and great gift to your children.

St. Patrick School 2

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
After several years at st. Pats, we had to leave. The bullying, teasing because of a stuttering just were too much to take. Nothing happening to the children in question, and the knowledge of what was happening was at the forefront. To bring a psychologist in the 6th grade to address multiple nasty issues was NOT the answer, and tossing the bad apples was needed. When that didn't happen, we left. Know that leadership is challenging here, but your big fat check will cover your poorly behaved child. So sad that ghosts still plaque my two. (Both 4.0 kids). Being a native to the north end is always helpful, tolerance to southern accents and being different not embraced. Sad, this is not representative of the faith, nor the parish.

St. Patrick School 3

Posted June 23, 2012
- a teacher
There are many caring, excellent teachers at St. Pat's who are truly interested in their students' development and success. Unfortunately, some of the parents make it very difficult for the teachers to do their jobs. There is grade inflation in the middle school because some parents of students who struggle academically bully and harrass the teachers extensively. Some parents feel their child deserves an "A" simply because they are paying tuition, even though their child hasn't done the work necessary to earn an honest "A". Teachers who stand up for academic honesty get bombarded by the parents. There is also much disrespectful behavior from students towards teachers and towards other students. The principal and teachers are working hard to make positive changes, but some of the parents are resisiting, and a few are downright mean. Overall, for the preschool and elementary programs, I highly recommend St. Pat's. For 7th and 8th grade, if you want your child to get mostly A's to get into a private high school, then St. Pat's is a good choice. If your priority is the quality of what they actually learn rather than the grade, then this school would probably not be a great choice.


St. Patrick School 5

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
My child came to St. Patrick School 10 years ago in the all-day pre-school program. I knew he would be happy here from the first day when he met his teacher and said she reminded him of a grandma with soft cheeks. The nuturing and faith filled environment has given him a safe place to learn and grow up. This is his 8th grade year and even though he is excited to go on to highschool, he will miss the community he has grown up with. Thank you St. Pats for 10 AWESOME years of fun and learning!

St. Patrick School 3

Posted January 01, 2011
- a parent
This school is in a transition phase (or at least we hope it is). There are a handful of exceptional teachers who not only command the respect of the students, but are doing an outstanding job of teaching the curriculum appropriate for their grade level. Unfortunately, these teachers can't make up for the environment of academic deficiency which has sadly become acceptable at the school (as evidenced by weak standardized test scores). There is also a sense of entitlement among the parents and students at the school which makes the social environment unpleasant for many. There is a general lack of discipline and respect among the students. Efforts by teachers and staff to instill discipline have been ineffective, largely because they don't have the support of the parents (many of whom send their children to the school to "keep up with the Joneses"). If you're looking for Christian values, you'll find them only in a very small percentage of children and parents at this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Patrick School
1112 N G St, Tacoma, WA  98403
(253) 272-2297
Last modified St. Patrick School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Patrick School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top