Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Charles Borromeo School 5

Posted March 05, 2015
- a community member
St. Charles Borromeo School in Tacoma has not had a female principal since 1985 so the previous review must be another school. I have had four children go through St. Charles and they received an excellent education. The teachers are great, the facilities beautiful and the school has a strong connection with St. Charles Borromeo Parish. The tuition is very reasonable - in fact is one of the least expensive private schools in the area. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.

St Charles Borromeo School 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
I believe that the previous reviewer is referring to a different St. Charles Borromeo Catholic School. The scene she is describing definitely does NOT fit the profile for our school. First of all, we have a male principal named Dan Hill who is outstanding and highly involved. Classroom management is great in the lower grades. The kids are challenged appropriately to fit their unique personalities, the teachers are warm and caring and take so much pride in nurturing the children's academic, emotional and spiritual needs. We came from a public school in Tacoma and were nervous to make the switch to private school but this school stood out in terms of academic preparation through middle school and parent satisfaction in the lower grades. We couldn't be happier and it has been worth every penny. My girls are thriving here, have made tons of new friends and the parent and teacher involvement is top notch. We highly recommend St. Charles!


St Charles Borromeo School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
I have been a parent at the school for 10 years. Our children no longer attend the school. First and second grades are good. Kinder and 3rd - 8th leave a lot to be desired. It is obvious that the principal has a hands off approach to her post as administrator. She spends all her time putting out fires, and no time is spent trying to make changes for the better. As a matter of fact, the principal seems to want to keep everything status quo and only makes changes in reaction to issues. The enrollment has severely dropped over the years, and more and more parents are unhappy. There is an incredibly high turnover of teachers, as they are under-valued and under-appreciated. The parents who do volunteer are left to their own devices, and eventually burn out due to lack of involvement or assistance from the administration. Classroom management is nonexistent. I am an educator, and I spent time in the classrooms to help with various projects, and the students are allowed to completely run amuck. The scene in the classroom reminded me of monkeys in a zoo. I was appalled. It is clear that the leadership is lacking. I highly recommend doing a lot of research before committing to St. Charles.

St Charles Borromeo School 3

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
Incredibly involved parents at the school though can be clicky at times and thankfully it is not apparent to the students. The rigidity of many teachers, the "cookie cutter" approach to education, and the unwillingness to alow students to achieve their full academic potential is unfortunate, however. With the overhaul of the junior high math program things may get better. The religious aspect of the school is not overbearing. There are some very good teachers, but they control the outcomes more than the principal. There must be a tenure-track for teachers because some seem to linger for years without performance to show the exceptional quality parents expect from a private school.

St Charles Borromeo School 4

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
A good solid catholic education can be acheived at this school. The teachers are dedicated and work very hard to make sure that the students learn. The only 'negative' would be the constant requests for money and the all to frequent parent meetings.


St Charles Borromeo School 5

Posted November 23, 2008
- a parent
It is an excellent school with great education. It is wonderful to have a school that your kids want to go to everyday.

St Charles Borromeo School 5

Posted October 19, 2008
- a student
St. Charles is a great school. I am a sixth grader here and I love everything about it. The enviroment is loving and the grouds are beautiful. Mrs. Lyyn is a great teacher for 5A. I have never been dissapointed with this school.

St Charles Borromeo School 5

Posted March 02, 2005
- a parent
St. Charles is a wonderful school. The teachers truly care about the kids. The principal is caring and supportive, and parent involvement is extremely high. The basics are well-taught, and there is an awesome music and art program.


St Charles Borromeo School 5

Posted December 01, 2003
- a parent
The feeling of community at this school is incredible. They really do try to enrich the whole child, academically, emotionally, and spiritually. The teachers and principal sincerely care about each individual child. I am so pleased to have my kids attending St. Charles.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Charles Borromeo School
7112 South 12th Street, Tacoma, WA  98465
(253) 564-5185
Last modified St Charles Borromeo School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Charles Borromeo School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top