Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
479 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Thank you for your interest in Annie Wright Schools. We welcome and value all feedback. Annie Wright puts children at the heart of every program, policy and decision. The school is in the process of adopting the internationally-recognized IB curriculum throughout the school, which has both helped retain excellent and experienced teachers and attract world-class faculty from around the world. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to provide feedback or learn more about our wonderful community and program. - Jennifer Haley, Director of Enrollment
March 19, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Annie Wright Schools 5

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has been attending Annie Wright since 1st grade. I cannot say enough about the warmth, caring, flexibility, and academic excellence of this school! Every child is treated as a special, unique individual. They are held responsible for their actions, in a way that helps each child develop responsibility. The kids are never overwhelmed with homework, yet they are working at a level well above public grade schools. Bullying is not tolerated and children are expelled when they do not comply. This is a lovely community for children and their parents.

Annie Wright Schools 1

Posted December 23, 2015
- a community member
The school itself used to be a good institution until the reins were handed over to the current head. In my opinion, he is a bully and a tyrant. His leadership colored the experience for me, and not in a good way.


Annie Wright Schools 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
I like the small class sizes and the parental involvement and sense of supportive community. Most of all, I am enjoying watching my two cute kids turn into confident and caring young ladies. And I have no doubt that the teachers they have had at Annie Wright and the administration has helped foster not only their academic development but also their social and emotional well being.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Thank you for your interest in Annie Wright Schools. We welcome and value all feedback. Annie Wright puts children at the heart of every program, policy and decision. The school is in the process of adopting the internationally-recognized IB curriculum throughout the school, which has both helped retain excellent and experienced teachers and attract world-class faculty from around the world. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to provide feedback or learn more about our wonderful community and program. - Jennifer Haley, Director of Enrollment
Posted March 19, 2014

Annie Wright Schools 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
We love this school and are so happy to have our two boys here. The teachers and leadership, including the head, are amazing. My boys are challenged and their teachers know them well. The community is great: laid back, involved, loyal and dedicated. My boys are happy here!


Annie Wright Schools 1

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
There is a problem at Annie Wright School, and it is the principal. He is rude, disrespectful, unhelpful, and many other things. When I spoke with him, he was demeaning and unyielding, and he seems to be trying to rehaul the entire school according to some ridiculous standard where he continuously fires people. I know for a fact that the school has had to settle for worse teachers because the head fires people so often that they have trouble filling the openings with qualified candidates. I have also spoken to ex-employees, and though they are general very pleasant, not a single one of them has a pleasant thing to say about him.

Annie Wright Schools 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
My experience at this school has been completely contrary to the few negative reviews posted here. I moved my children out of Tacoma Public School in Fall 2013 and I have been extremely impressed by the very high academic standards at Annie Wright. The Headmaster is charismatic, down-to-earth, and 100% committed to the long-term viability of the school. My kids both tested into the Highly Capable program in Tacoma Public Schools. They feel very academically challenged and are given extra and more challenging work to satisfy their interests and strengths. The teachers are very responsive and there is regular and detailed communication from the teachers, Headmaster, and other school leaders. Civic engagement and the development of emotional intelligence are emphasized - skills that I think are often overlooked but critically important. In short, Annie Wright is worth every penny and moving my kids to the school has been the single best decision we have made so far. With respect to the bullying comments, my experience has been the complete opposite, my children have been made to feel very welcome and they report an atmosphere of warmth and inclusion for all students.

Annie Wright Schools 5

Posted September 01, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. The headmaster is determined to do the best for the collective and run the school based on the needs of the students...not the whims of the parent. Emphasis is placed upon academics and arts. Lots of forward thinking, end goal being to get our children into great colleges and create a generation of critical thinkers invested into community. Bullying is a problem in all schools...slowly being dealt with. Parents MUST be involved whether at AW or anywhere. Lower school improvements (IB program) at AW make me very excited. Proud AW parent. Devoted to my child's education and well being. If I weren't she'd be somewhere else. Parents are never involved enough...until they leave and write scathing reviews on the internet. I don't care where your kids go to school. As a parent, you must be involved. You're the biggest advocate for your child. Find a good school and commit to making it worthwhile for your kid...and the community. Good luck in your search!


Annie Wright Schools 1

Posted July 01, 2013
- a community member
Head of school is a bully who has driven off tons of staff the past 3 years (look it up to confirm turnover rate). Head is short-term, reactionary, and doesn't keep in mind long term health and moral growth of children. Community has been concerned with turnover at this position the past decade....TURN IT OVER. Head is toxic to the environment here.

Annie Wright Schools 1

Posted September 17, 2012
- a parent
We gave up. We paid full price for our child to attend AWS for several years. Our child did super on the standardized tests at AWS (ERBs). Sadly, high achievers are a small minority. Test scores were well below self-selected independent peer group and no better than public schools. As many have mentioned, bullying remains a serious problem and is not dealt with. Many of the teachers are good. Many, however, have fled the current administration. Top third students will be bored and unchallenged.

Nearby schools

Annie Wright Schools
827 North Tacoma Ave, Tacoma, WA  98403
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (253) 272-2216
Last modified Annie Wright Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top