Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
642 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Life Christian School 4

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
My son attended Kindergarten at LCA and we were both very happy. He is now in 3rd grade in public school in another city and he still tells me he misses LCA. His teacher was so loving with the kids, as were all of the teaching aids and school staff. There was an aid named Ms. "C" who did special little wood-working and art projects with the kids after school, my son loved her. Many of the other mommies frequently told me how much they loved their high school children attending LCA; one mommy told me she felt like all the teachers and staff were like aunts and uncles to her kids. I will say, the small drawbacks were that not being a wealthy, well-known member of Life Christian Church, as a parent, I sometimes felt "little." This could have been my own insecurities, but some of the other parents I knew at the time mentioned similar feelings. But, that's anywhere! There are always going to be kids who's families have more money than your kid, or more important parents; and we could have made more of an effort to be involved as well. If we ever moved back to the area, I would definitely consider enrolling my children here again.

Life Christian School 5

Posted September 22, 2013
- a community member
I have to say something after reading these reviews. I have gone to Life Christian my entire life and have felt so overwhelmed with love from the staff. The teachers genuinely care about the students academically, emotionally, and above all spiritually. Reading these reviews most of them are outdated and almost all the complaints have been taken care of. My school always strives to improve and listens to feedback. Life Christian is a great community and school. I have learned so much there spiritually and academically. I love LCA it's my second home and if you are considering enrollment I would strongly suggest it. The school is obviously not perfect but it is a true Christian environment. The kind of compassion and leadership the coaches, teachers, and administration show is something I honestly don't believe you'll find anywhere else. I love my school and though it may not be for everyone it's a place that is blessed with true Godly men and women.


Life Christian School 4

Posted April 17, 2013
- a community member
I was a student who graduated from Life Christian recently. I have attended both private and public school throughout my schooling. Many comments on written below seem to complain about the emphasis on religion within the school. Of course that is one of the biggest aspects of the school. Yes, acadmemics are important but you are paying extra for an education in religion, for teachers to pray and spiritually guide you. If you want a school solely focused on academics attend Charles Wright, or Bellarmine Prep (where students can attend study hall instead of mass.) That being said, there are many high school teachers that challenge their students both academically and spiritually as well as those teachers that are not as effective. However, the administration has let go certain teachers and replaced them. They are still in this process. Additionally, I wholeheartedly disagree with the comment based on teachers pulling their own children out or admitting public school kids who were kicked out of local high schools. Life Christian believes that GOD can change hearts, despite the circumstances. Though many of these kids are not perfect, there are many cases of lives being transformed

Life Christian School 2

Posted October 13, 2012
- a parent
If you are going to spend this kind of money why not go to bellarmine prep down the road, which is much stronger academically and has many distinguished alumni? It seems outrageous to pay tuition to a very average school, educationally.

Life Christian School 4

Posted July 17, 2012
- a parent
Please don't judge this school by a couple of reviews. Talk to people whose children go there or are alumni. LCA is a loving Christian school that prepares students for college and life.


Life Christian School 1

Posted January 14, 2012
- a parent
Unfortunately, I must agree with the 2 most recent parent reviews. While LCA has some neat teachers, it is NOT a college prep school and, therefore, not worth the money. Everyone must take an entrance test to see if they can be accepted...but everyone who can pay is accepted so the academic standards are much lower than they advertise. One high school teacher lets her kids sleep in class on Fridays...really! The administration hides a lot of things from the parents- things going on at the school that parents should know and have a right to know...they are our children. There are a number of unsettling things going on. Take your money and your child and find a better school.

Life Christian School 1

Posted December 07, 2011
- a parent
We had a child who attended Life Christian Academy high school. Their website is beautiful and they give a great sales pitch. We were promised so much and were excited to be there. However, the reality of the high school is VERY different from what they present to a new family...very disappointing. Be VERY careful before signing your student up- pray very hard! The fact that many teachers there have pulled their own students out of the school should tell you something. The fact that many parents have left and now have their kids in other private schools should tell you that it is not just about the economy. The fact that they accept students who have been kicked out of one or more public high schools should be a red flag to parents. Be careful. I don't care how pretty their website is..the truth is VERY different.

Life Christian School 5

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
My children have been going there for 7 years, so far. I'm very happy with the loving atmosphere and Christian values. My children all love it there. I'm happy with the academics, too. They are getting a great foundation for life.


Life Christian School 3

Posted September 07, 2008
- a student
I go there right now. and i like it because ive been going here sense 4th grade and im in high school now. it has a great cheer team and football team and it was pretty good academics the only thing that is bad is that sense its not a huge school and everyone knows eachother there can be gossip

Life Christian School 5

Posted August 28, 2008
- a student
I've gone here since Kindergarten and I love it! Everyone knows everyone. The sports and academics are great. We are also an awesome christian school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Life Christian School
1717 South Union Avenue, Tacoma, WA  98405
(253) 756-2190
Last modified Life Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Life Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top