Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Covenant High School

Private | 9-12 | 120 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tacoma

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $186,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2013

Covenant High School was the perfect fit for our 4 children. We home schooled through 8th grade and found that transitioning to a formal school setting was easier than we anticipated in many regards. The staff and faculty are genuinely interested in the students. The student body is small enough so that our kids did not feel lost in the crowd. The academic standards are high, but we found that diligence paid off where ability was weaker. Our kids felt very well prepared for college, especially skilled in writing and communication. We highly recommend Covenant for its strong academics and warm Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

Covenant High School is a wonderful place to be, for teachers as well as for students. The students show great interest in learning and care for one another. As a teacher, it is a great encouragement to see the Christian and academic growth of my students as they progress through their high school years.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 22, 2013

By far the best High school in Tacoma. Students get a first rate education and are nurtured in their faith. Our oldest child is heading off to college this fall and received numerous scholarships. She also received preparation that will make her successful in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

Strong, caring principal leadership makes this school one of the best Christian high schools in the Puget Sound region.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 6, 2013

This is a school serious about educating the mind and heart of the student, not just for today or for the next test, but to prepare them for college and for a life after college. My daughter graduated from this school and felt very prepared for the demands of college. The training she received while attending CHS was directly related to her success in the university. In her job as research specialist in a large international organization she draws on the skills and work ethic standards established while a student there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

I am a parent of 3 graduates and 1 current student. CHS has academic excellence, a warm and encouraging atmosphere, and top-notch faculty that are each teaching in their area of academic expertise and preparation. The curriculum is very well-developed and solidly based on a Biblical view of the world. My children have been well prepared for college. Studying at Covenant is challenging, but it's also a lot of fun. The highlight of the 4 years is the Great Britian/Normandy Historical tour taken in the junior or senior year. This is truly an outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

As a parent of a CHS grad and a current student, I have been so thankful for the Christ centered atmosphere and biblical worldview perspective that shines through the curriculum. Schools like this one are hard to find!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2012

I am a graduate of this high school. Many of the teachers I had have left or retired, and most of these have been replaced by either graduates of the school or spouses of other faculty members. Academic qualifications are not a priority in hiring the teaching staff. That said, these teachers are for the most part loving, dedicated, and deeply concerned about the spiritual welfare of the students. The students are thoroughly trained in the specific religious beliefs and doctrines held by its board, faculty, and sponsoring church. They are less thoroughly trained in academic areas or in critical thinking. Certainly the quality of education is better than any of the local public schools, but it cannot compare with other private high schools in the area. It is not suitable as a "reform school" for wayward kids, and those of more liberal religious beliefs will be a distrusted minority. This is a conservative Presbyterian madrasah, and as such it is a very good one. Conservative and religious families will appreciate its strictly interpreted purpose, mission, and statement of beliefs. Those seeking a well-rounded education and academic rigor should look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2012

Not recommended for any international students. Very strict within their own territories. Some host family is not open-minded and as loving as expected, and unable to embrace other cultures, ideas, values and beliefs. Not enough outdoor activities. Communication with parents is poor.


Posted May 14, 2012

This is an outstanding school. Academically I don't think any other schools in the area compare. At Covenant the kids receive a classical education, studying Latin, Shakespeare, music and history, and every other year their studies take the Junior and Senior classes to England, Scotland and France for two weeks. The teachers are what really make this school special. They love God, they love teaching, and they really care about the students and take time to help them individually when help is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

I am a current international student in CHS! This is such an amazing school with wonderful teachers, friendly learning environment, i made good and godly friends here! If you love Christ, you would love this school! But this is a really really really SMALL school, i only have 20 classmates in my grade, and we only have less than 100 students. so.. it depends on do you like small and biblical school or not!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2005

Finest teachers around. Concentration on the classics and on core academics. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2005

I too am a CHS graduate. The education I received at Covenant was superb and I will always be grateful that I was able to attend CHS. The teachers were wonderfully suportive and caring, and the course material really prepared me not only for college, but for life in general.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 25, 2004

I am a 2003 graduate of covenant High School and I can say that my experience was a positive one. The teachers took a real interest in my academic needs. I would highly recommend this school to parents that want their child to have a good education and a good environment to learn in.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 64%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 2% 6%
Hispanic 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

620 S Shirley St
Tacoma, WA 98465
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 759-9570

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Wilson
Tacoma, WA


Foss
Tacoma, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT