Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
94 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Covenant High School 5

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
Covenant High School was the perfect fit for our 4 children. We home schooled through 8th grade and found that transitioning to a formal school setting was easier than we anticipated in many regards. The staff and faculty are genuinely interested in the students. The student body is small enough so that our kids did not feel lost in the crowd. The academic standards are high, but we found that diligence paid off where ability was weaker. Our kids felt very well prepared for college, especially skilled in writing and communication. We highly recommend Covenant for its strong academics and warm Christian environment.

Covenant High School 5

Posted March 25, 2013
- a teacher
Covenant High School is a wonderful place to be, for teachers as well as for students. The students show great interest in learning and care for one another. As a teacher, it is a great encouragement to see the Christian and academic growth of my students as they progress through their high school years.


Covenant High School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
By far the best High school in Tacoma. Students get a first rate education and are nurtured in their faith. Our oldest child is heading off to college this fall and received numerous scholarships. She also received preparation that will make her successful in life.

Covenant High School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a teacher
Strong, caring principal leadership makes this school one of the best Christian high schools in the Puget Sound region.

Covenant High School 5

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
This is a school serious about educating the mind and heart of the student, not just for today or for the next test, but to prepare them for college and for a life after college. My daughter graduated from this school and felt very prepared for the demands of college. The training she received while attending CHS was directly related to her success in the university. In her job as research specialist in a large international organization she draws on the skills and work ethic standards established while a student there.


Covenant High School 5

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of 3 graduates and 1 current student. CHS has academic excellence, a warm and encouraging atmosphere, and top-notch faculty that are each teaching in their area of academic expertise and preparation. The curriculum is very well-developed and solidly based on a Biblical view of the world. My children have been well prepared for college. Studying at Covenant is challenging, but it's also a lot of fun. The highlight of the 4 years is the Great Britian/Normandy Historical tour taken in the junior or senior year. This is truly an outstanding school.

Covenant High School 5

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of a CHS grad and a current student, I have been so thankful for the Christ centered atmosphere and biblical worldview perspective that shines through the curriculum. Schools like this one are hard to find!

Covenant High School 3

Posted July 05, 2012
- a student
I am a graduate of this high school. Many of the teachers I had have left or retired, and most of these have been replaced by either graduates of the school or spouses of other faculty members. Academic qualifications are not a priority in hiring the teaching staff. That said, these teachers are for the most part loving, dedicated, and deeply concerned about the spiritual welfare of the students. The students are thoroughly trained in the specific religious beliefs and doctrines held by its board, faculty, and sponsoring church. They are less thoroughly trained in academic areas or in critical thinking. Certainly the quality of education is better than any of the local public schools, but it cannot compare with other private high schools in the area. It is not suitable as a "reform school" for wayward kids, and those of more liberal religious beliefs will be a distrusted minority. This is a conservative Presbyterian madrasah, and as such it is a very good one. Conservative and religious families will appreciate its strictly interpreted purpose, mission, and statement of beliefs. Those seeking a well-rounded education and academic rigor should look elsewhere.


Covenant High School 1

Posted May 21, 2012
- a community member
Not recommended for any international students. Very strict within their own territories. Some host family is not open-minded and as loving as expected, and unable to embrace other cultures, ideas, values and beliefs. Not enough outdoor activities. Communication with parents is poor.

Covenant High School 5

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
This is an outstanding school. Academically I don't think any other schools in the area compare. At Covenant the kids receive a classical education, studying Latin, Shakespeare, music and history, and every other year their studies take the Junior and Senior classes to England, Scotland and France for two weeks. The teachers are what really make this school special. They love God, they love teaching, and they really care about the students and take time to help them individually when help is needed.

Nearby schools

Covenant High School
620 S Shirley St, Tacoma, WA  98465
(253) 759-9570
Last modified Covenant High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top