Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Charles Wright Academy

Private | PK-12 | 700 students

We are best known for our strong relationships between teachers and students.

 
 

Living in Tacoma

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $262,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2014

We recently finished our first year at CWA and have been very pleased with our experience. We found a welcoming community with top-notch teachers who offer a curriculum that is challenging, thorough and thoughtful. The faculty is truly incredible and really 'get' my child. Most importantly, the mutual respect between students and teachers is something you just have to see for yourself. I appreciate that students feel safe, allowing them to take risks in the classroom, on the field, and in the arts. Charles Wright has been our best investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2014

We have a son who is a graduate of CWA and a daughter who is a rising 9th grader. Because of the superb teachers (many with advanced degrees and with international living and/or teaching experience), college preparatory curriculum, excellent sports and extracurricular programs, and two full time college counselors, our son ended up accepted to five of his six "first choice" colleges, received scholarship offers at most of these, and is thriving. His mandatory senior year internship yielded a summer and winter break job, too! Because he had small classes at CWA, he feels very comfortable speaking up in college classes and getting to know his professors. Our daughter is excited to begin her high school years at CWA. Her middle school teachers are very strong in their academic fields, and also understand the emotional roller coaster that middle school years are everywhere, and work extremely well with students and parents who are navigating this transition. Our advice is to schedule a tour, especially when school is in session, and talk with current students, parents, and teachers to see if CWA is a good match for your children. It sure has been for ours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My kids went to CWA from per-k thru 5th grade, and it is our opinion that the teachers are not experienced enough to adequately educate at the 5th grade level. Our child complained that his education was confusing and disappointing. CWA requires parents to let them know before July 1 if they are going to enroll for the following school year. I let them know I was not going to re-enroll for the coming school year and all of a sudden they are now trying to sue me for damages, claiming they didn t receive my notice. What damages, when the next school year hasn t even begun?! How aggressive is that?! They must really need the money. Way to thank good paying parents who had their kids enrolled in the school for years, pre-dating this situation. What ever happened to the notion that the customer is always right? Do we have to send things certified, return receipt requested, to be safe when communicating with this school? I m disgusted with the way the school has dealt with this situation--I would not refer my friends children to it in the future. The school is overrated and pretentious, aggressive and unfriendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

We are thrilled with our entire experience at Charles Wright. Our daughter joined the CWA family as a sixth grader, after five years of homeschool. She has made many friends, is excelling in all academic areas, loves her teachers, and is thoroughly enjoying both performing and fine arts. The teachers are highly skilled at building relationships with both the students and their families, providing opportunities for critical thinking skills to develop and flourish, and offering guidance and support as needed. Although the cost is very sacrificial for our family, it is worth EVERY penny and we look forward to our son joining his sister at school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2013

Exceptional faculty and leadership combined with philosophy of inclusion and challenge create an exemplary learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2012

I can not say enough great things about this school. I have been in the upper school for two years after transferring from public schools. I was nervous at first about the small size of the school due to the fact that I didn't know if I would find people I liked there, however, this turned out to be a blessing. All the kids in all classes know each other on a personal basis. After a week there, the receptionist, the head of the upper school, head of the school, and both of the deans of students knew me by name. The kids here are extremely inclusive and inviting. I was frustrated at my last school because it was viewed as "uncool" to try and do well in school and wanting to succeed academically. Here the kids all care about how they do academically. However, they still have social lives just like normal teenagers. The teachers are exceptional. They make lessons very informative and interesting and always have time to help with things you don't understand. They even give out their home phone numbers to call if you need help after school! In two years, I can not find anything negative to say about this school.


Posted December 14, 2010

Charles Wright Academy is the best. My son started at CWA in the 6th grade and will continue through the Upper School. Within CWA, there is a culture among students, parents, and staff that places a high value on learning and acheivement. We surveyed other schools in the South Sound and are very glad to be associated with CWA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

Charles Wright Academy is the finest private school in the south sound region of Washington State. My two children joined CWA in Middle School. Their transition from a much smaller private school was seamless. The school offers a challenging academic environment which is balanced by an array of sports, music, theatre, arts, outdoor ed, clubs, organizations, etc. There is something for everyone at Charles Wright Academy, including parents. If you want to be involved at your children's school and if you want to be a part of a "community", then CWA is the school for you and your family. I would highly recommend Charles Wright to any family who wants to provide their child/children with the best possible, most well-rounded education available in the greater Tacoma area. CWA's students come from all over the south sound, because it's worth it and that speaks volumes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

I ve had a lot of experience in teaching (43 years). Charles Wright gives each student/parent a chance to become involved in an incredible learning environment. After spending 25 years in the public schools, I find it truly enriching and up lifting that I m able to spend quality time with each of my students as they have need. If a better learning opportunity exists, I don t know where you would find it. Administrators, teachers, and staff work together as a cohesive unit with the goal being to educate our students. We have set and reached a very high level competency for our students. The results on national tests (AP Calculus 40% above the national average) and in college performance (The grades students get at CWA compare very favorably to the grades they get in college) speak to the level of preparation each student attains. I came here to complete my 30-year teaching career and can t get myself to quit. What a wonderful place to teach.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 12, 2010

One of the most impressive things about Charles Wright Academy is that teachers have the flexibility to teach about subjects in ways that best meet the students' needs. Classrooms are filled with hands-on learning, laughter, discussion, reading, writing, and problem solving. We foster in students the skills to become lifelong self-directed learners who are interested in the world, through making learning fun and pulling back the curtain on what it means to learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 12, 2010

There are a lot of great public schools out there, but let's face it: Our public education system is broken. Public schools are suffering: overcrowded classrooms, inadequate facilities, not enough funding for textbooks, too much emphasis on tests, budget/staff cuts, a decrease in the arts, science, social studies, PE and computers. What draws many parents to CWA is what also drew me to work there. If parents need me, they call me up. If I need to talk to a parent, I can likely find them milling around after school - that's how involved our parent community is. Parents know their child is getting individualized attention with CWA's small classes. They know they are getting a well-rounded education with healthy exposure to the arts, science, technology, physical education -- things that are being cut back in other schools as emphasis has shifted to reading, writing and raising test scores. Yes, I teach there. So don't take my word. Schedule a visit, a tour. See for yourself. At CWA students work hard and develop habits that prepare them for high school, college and the "beyond" of adulthood. It's a place where genuine learning takes place for the sake of learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 11, 2010

We are the parents of two children at CWA and I am an alum, our affiliation with the school has been nothing short of spectacular. The kind of attention our lower schoolers have received have been of the highest quality. The administration and teachers are top notch. I highly recommend you taking a hard look at CWA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

Exclusive and elitist? Hardly! I attended Charles Wright for my high school years and the majority of my tuition was paid by scholarship monies. I know many other students who also received assistance. It's true that there are many families with children at CWA who are well off, but that by no means indicates that ALL of them are rolling in money. CWA taught me to think critically, too look beyond the obvious answers, and to continually challenge myself to do more. I know that my life would be significantly different without these skills, and I am eternally grateful to CWA.


Posted April 29, 2010

Academically excellent but very exclusive and elitist.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2010

this is a great school it keeps its kids well rounded and hardworking, it also has extra activites for kids to have fun!


Posted March 31, 2010

I have had 2 children enrolled at Charles Wright Academy since 2004. I removed my Kindergartner after he was put in time out for 2hrs with no phone call to me or his mother. I have decided not to enroll my eldest son in Middle school due to the lack of consistent teaching methods and discipline. I caution any parent considering CWA to look beyond the pretty new buildings and ask why parents in record numbers are moving there children out of Charles Wright.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

My daughter joined CWA in pre-school. Initially, we were a bit worried about full day school for 4 year olds. However, after just a few days, I was amazed at how well thought out the curriculum really was. You could really see how well these little kids were being mentored. Yes the academics are important, but the CWA is more than just about academics. Its about personhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

My son was at Charles Wright for his high school years. I can't say enough good things about the quality of the teachers he had there, or the value of the entire experience. CWA completely prepared him for Whitman College. Although his attendance at CWA meant a long daily commute for us, we found it completely worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

it is the best school in the state hands down
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

I am so happy that my son attends Charles Wright. He enjoys his classes and he finds the work both challenging and rewarding. He feels the teachers are engaging and really care about the students
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 64%
Asian 16% N/A
Two or more races 10% N/A
Black 6% 6%
Hispanic 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Korean
Japanese
French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Opera
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Robert Camner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • charleswright.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Opera
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Literary magazine
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

December 16, 2013

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7723 Chambers Crk Rd W
Tacoma, WA 98467
Website: Click here
Phone: (253) 620-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Drum Intermediate School
University Pla, WA



Heritage Christian School
University Place, WA


Chambers Elementary School
University Pla, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT