Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
650 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charles Wright Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 25, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. West, Mr. Ford for your academic, emotional and social support to our child. Teachers like you will never be forgotten by our son or ourselves. Thank you sincerely

Charles Wright Academy 5

Posted April 25, 2016
- a community member
A well rounded experience is provided to the students. Fantastic academic support. Great preparation for life


Charles Wright Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
I have a second grader and her load is about right. I hear that homework increases as they get older.

Charles Wright Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
Charles Wright has a class devoted to helping develop key attributes of a good citizen and person, like humility, kindness, courage and hope.

Charles Wright Academy 5

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
We have had such a wonderful experience at Charles Wright's lower school. There is a real sense of community and a focus on learning while still allowing time for play. I have also really appreciated the continued focus on learning important key values like compassion, perseverance and courage. It is a wonderful school!


Charles Wright Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Mr Newton makes Science fun! His enthusiasm is contagious. He's my kids' favorite specialist. Thank you!!

Charles Wright Academy 5

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Charles Wright Academy has exceeded our expectations over the last five years. It starts with the extremely knowledgeable and approachable admissions staff that truly offer superior customer service. The teachers are on the leading edge of current methods to motivate and educate while incorporating relevant field trips that gives the children more hands on learning. There's a tremendous support group of Parent involvement which help put on lots of exciting Events. Great leadership starts at the top and Diane Hunt, the Head of the Lower School, knows the name of every child in the school. Diane stands and holds the door open to greet the children every morning. That speaks volumes!

Charles Wright Academy 3

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
This school teaches with a liberal bias. I asked on multiple occasions if they would direct a more neutral curriculum to let my kids form their own opinions. They seem to focus heavily on teaching and acceptance of the LGBTV community. I don't believe schools should try to force opinion on youth regarding minority lifestyles. These should be taught from parents with the school focusing on learning and improving standard curriculum. For what they charge it might make more sense to hire a private teacher giving more travel flexibility and a focused curriculum that meets your families needs.


Charles Wright Academy 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
We started our son at CWA part-way through his 3rd grade year several years ago. Our local public school, while good, couldn't challenge him enough even after moving him up a grade. We looked at all of our options, including the district next door and other private schools before determining CWA would be a good fit for him. We feel very good about our choice. He's been challenged, allowed to learn in ways that work for him and connected with lower and middle school teachers. We recently attended our first high school back-to-school night and were excited about his classes and teachers - each of whom were passionate about their subject and working with students. We were happy about the emphasis on writing, analysis and clearly expressing thoughts. We were also thrilled with his visual arts class - a ceramics class with an amazing instructor - that has really captured our son's interest. Overall he is challenged, but not overwhelmed, and we're pleased not only with his grades, but - more importantly to us - with the effort his teachers/classes elicit from him. CWA offers many out-of-classroom experiences, including middle school days and several major outdoor experiences. These are lead by CWA teachers - kayaking, backbacking, hiking - and have been wonderful, especially since our family does not do these things. We've been so pleased with CWA that this year we started our 2nd child in the middle school in order to give her the same opportunities. She is excited and soaking it all up. We couldn't be happier with this decision.

Charles Wright Academy 2

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Too much liberal in thought and action - poorly managed. Teachers are just average though they try to teach higher grade level -students cope by doing extra credit and not thru a better teaching or supportof students. the facility and school grounds are amazing -but thats just the only thing I can positively agree is good. Otherwise...if you just want to enroll you child and feel very exclusive but without substance - go ahead enroll. GoodLuck.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles Wright Academy
7723 Chambers Crk Rd W, Tacoma, WA  98467
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. (253) 620-8373
Last modified Charles Wright Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top