Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Christensen Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 409 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 26, 2013

Christianson elementary does not follow through for a positive outlook for children with behavioral problems. Some of the teachers are fabulous but it is the higher that keep it from progressing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2013

This is a terrible school. The staff has no warmth and does not care about the students. My child's teacher refered to the school as a "revolving door" of students and explained to me that students in poverty only respond to "yelling at them" because they are "ignored at home". While my student was not one of the students being yelled at, they are a good kid, I would not leave my child is this teacher's care and pulled my child as soon as there was an opening at another school. The teachers do not care if the students learn or not. They are unresponsive to the needs of the individual students. The teachers care more about the appearance of structure then if the students are learning necessary social and language skills. All in all this school is appauling. Do not send your child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

This school is like any other public school...the quality of teachers lacks due to the standard of pay, and the sad reality is that many of them forget why they wanted to be a teacher to begin with. The principal of Christensen is a condesending man with an inferiority complex.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

I have three daughters and have been involved with Christensen for the last 6 years. I am very pleased with the quality education my girls have received. The teachers are attentive to the needs of all children, make every effort to help those who excel and those who struggle, and respond to parent concerns and input. I am an involved parent and it makes all the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

My fifth grader has only one more year at this school and I cannot wait to get out of here. The principal has a attitude that he thinks he is superior to everyone. There are some good teachers, but most of the staff seems like they do not know a thing about children. They expect way too much out of young children and set them up to fail, especially in issues of behavior. If you live in an area where you can choose your school pass this one up! I know several parents who have pulled their children out of Christensen the last two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

my son went to this school from kindergarten until fourth grade , I belive he had a great experience in learning and having his specila needs met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I am the parent of a kindergartner so we were new this year 08-09. We have had a very positive experience with full day kindergarten my son has learned to read, do math, even mapping skills learned in a fun way. It has been asked for and encouraged for parents to participate not only in the class rooms but for PTA functions, I have noticed there is not a lot of parent participation. The teachers have been great, I have noticed and appreciated teachers from the upper grades saying hello to my son by name, they take an interest in all the kids not just their class. Thanks Christensen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

My son went to this school last year and we did not have a good experience. The principal is wishy-washy. He claims to want parent involvement but when he gets it, he complains about parents being there too much. The entire school acts as if parents are a nuisance more than an asset. Recess has been cut way back, behavioral issues have become top priority, and no one seems to actually care about the students. Franklin Pierce School District has continually asked for raising taxes to help the look of the school and upgrade sport facilities, but not to help their failing curriculum. I don't think any child should have to go to a school like Christensen just to be ignored, treated badly, and gain nothing. I am horrified that there's such a school like this out there; if your child goes here, pull them out before it does its damage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

Christensen is a school that I would not want any child to have to go to if they don't have to. The principal is not supportive of teachers or parents; the teachers are more concerned with making themselves look good than they are about making sure their lessons are challenging to their students. I was forced to pull my son from this school and I would encourage anyone who has a child here to do the same. The only way that I would say different is if your child is below grade level, because that is exactly where the teachers teach. It saddens me to think that there are so many children that go this school who never have the opportunity to reach their potential. I truly feel like the students are academically stunted in this school. I say shame on the school district, principal, and many of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

I am a parent and my daughters 3rd grade teacher Mrs. Balabat is great! The kids love her, and she gets them to learn so much. I WISH all teachers were like her. Overall the school is needing parent envolvment more then ever. The Principle could be replaced. I dont care for him that much, he has a chip on his shoulder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I have two grandson's that attend christensen elem. 3rd and 4th grade this school year and they both have been there since kindergarten and will continue till they start middle school,the teachers and staff have done a fantastic job and keep the good work up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

My oldest son has gone to chrisenen since the first grade and is now in middle school. I have been very happy with the teachers he has had he is currently an honor student in math and language arts and I owe alot of that to the hard working teachers. If I would change anything it would be to get more sports. They have track and thats it. They also have a free after school activity called cougar club were they do all kinds of things from playing games to homework help and movie time and even have a bus that will take them home when its over. Another bus can take them to the local boys and girls club after school. I cant say enough about this school. I really love how they bring families together with their family dances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

The teachers at Christensen are very dedicated and work extremely hard! I feel very lucky to have my children in their class. Unfortunately, in the past few years I have notice overall moral of the school going down. Teachers are stressed, and in my opinion not supported by administration. Parents feel de-valued by not being included in important program decisions. Most importantly our children feel the pressure. They are worried about the WASL, lunches are rushed, recess time reduced, and intermural sports have been almost eliminated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

I use to love our school, I still adore our Teachers. But believe the district and school has denied my son a fair public education during the school year of 2003-2004 even thou he had a 504 plan, they did not abide by it. My heart goes out to the single parent who works 10 hours a day and doesn't know how to get the help for their child. FPSD wake up before we become a failing school. Christensen teachers thank you for being so devoted I know it has to be hard when you don't have a strong leadership behind you. A proud parent of 6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

It seems that my child is learning but not as easily as he/she should. recess is cut short if a teacher wants, kids are late to lunch & eat a shorter lunch bcause the teacher wants to keep them in for his/her reasoning. As an employeer-we can not hold an employee from their legal lunch. My child sometimes is frustrated and tired when getting home. Kids shouldn't have to feel stressed from school. Challenged? you bet! Hungry & tired from drill camp? - I think not. the teachers say this doesn't happen but I know from other kids and parents, this does. Lets focus on all areas, not just the wasl and plans on paper to make the school & dist look good. P.E. was to be enjoyable. Recess used to be fun, now its all about who in the class will punish the others and leave no point for release. Lunch shouldnt be rushed- would you like to have 15 min to eat bcause your boss is frustrated? This causes digestive probs & more time in class rooms equals bordom & fatigue. What about music, a place where kids can express themselves? Time is cut short here also. Lets improve all areas, not just the agenda someone else has set, after their lunch, walks, breaks. Make Christensen a great and fun place to learn again.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
10%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female66%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander40%
White78%
Low income58%
Not low income90%
Special education30%
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female66%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander70%
White78%
Low income58%
Not low income82%
Special education18%
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female78%
Male64%
Black91%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income66%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female75%
Male62%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income65%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students76%
Female88%
Male65%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income72%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female61%
Male36%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Low income48%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education55%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female81%
Male64%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic85%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income70%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students53%
Female52%
Male55%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Low income45%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education55%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 35% 63%
Hispanic 20% 18%
Black 17% 5%
Two or more races 12% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 10% 1%
Asian 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 172%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 29%N/A8%
Special education 212%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 52%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tim Enfield

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10232 Barnes Ln
Tacoma, WA 98444
Phone: (253) 535-9887

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Fern Hill
Tacoma, WA



Larchmont
Tacoma, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT