Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harvard Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 407 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

I am looking on this site to get my child out of this school his teacher is great but everything else is horrible the school we will be sending him to is in Arizona where were moving and it's a 9 out if 10 better test scores and will be challenged there's supposed to be a no bully policy what a joke! I literally can not wait to get my kindergardener out of this state and out of this school Ps do not send your kid on the bus I have had nothing but problems the fifth graders pick on the kindergardeners and nothing is done instead the kindergarder will be punished for defending him or herself plus they have no compassion for special needs children that have ADD or any other learning disability if I could I would give it no stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

My son came from Tacoma School District #10. The requirements are far from the same at Harvard Elementary. Daily homework is not mandatory and I have to come up with alternative teaching methods at home because my son is not being challenged. The school awards mediocrity and praises the kids for showing up rather than celebrating with the kids over actually learning. I am counting down the days until we move and can get our child out of the Franklin Pierce School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I have heard not so great things about this school, but am so happy I decided to send my child anyway. The teachers are wonderful, the principal is fantastic. I volunteer 4 out of 5 days in the classroom, and I am very, very pleased with the school. This is coming from a very critical mother. Please ignore negative reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

My son 1st year at harvard was great for me and him, I fell in love with the school and the principal seemed to be a wonderful person and it seem as if he knew all the children by name and I'm like wow, Ilike the way I saw him interact with the children and I liked it. My son is now going to the 1st grade and I hope all is still good. I know children that go there also and they seem to be alright and the school is always in order when I go there and I've there many of times morning afternoon and after school and to me so far so good to Teachers. Principal,students and all the staff.. My child love school and been ready to go back all summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

The staff at this school are absolutely WONDERFUL, but the addition of the new principal, in 2005 has dramatically reduced the quality of the program and the general atmosphere. He's basically a 'stuffed suit' that doesn't take a genuine interest in the staff, students, or the building. He lacks leadership, communication skills, and general people/management skills. The discipline problems at Harvard border on dangerous, and teachers are not well-supported with it comes to discipline issues.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 5, 2006

Both grandsons have gone to this school for the past four years. I have been disappointed that this school does not offer more one on one for children with ADHD. We have had a couple of excellent teachers who have made extra effort and it was much appreciated. I have done volunteer work at the school and have had opportunities to observe different teachers in there classroom. Three of these teachers had absolutely no control in their classrooms, but I confidence that there will be improvements as these teachers are know longer there this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female31%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic32%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income44%
Not low income40%
Special educationn/a
Not special education48%
Limited English28%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female66%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income66%
Not low income80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English56%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female70%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income72%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female74%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income68%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students57%
Female67%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income55%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited English42%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female56%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income57%
Not low income64%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited English44%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female79%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income69%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English63%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students31%
Female27%
Male34%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic24%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White39%
Low income28%
Not low income46%
Special educationn/a
Not special education33%
Limited English6%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 18%
White 20% 63%
Two or more races 15% 5%
Asian 10% 7%
Black 8% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 176%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 225%N/A8%
Special education 210%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 7N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 46%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Paul Elery

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1709 85th St East
Tacoma, WA 98445
Phone: (253) 298-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Larchmont
Tacoma, WA


Boze
Tacoma, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT