Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Schools

Private | PK-12 | 50 students

Academy Schools recognizes that each child learns in his or her own unique way.
 
 

 
 

Living in Tukwila

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

Academy Schools has been fantastic for our high school freshman son. The small class sizes provide an amazing learning environment thats unheard of in most all schools today. The staff is all very attentive, educated, and uniquely qualified unlike so many public instutions. Wouldn't change schools for our son for anything and highly reccomend Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Our son started attending Academy Schools when he was entering middle school. We are so glad we made this decision. He receives truly individualized instruction. It is clear that the teachers and staff are committed to each child's success. We feel that we are truly working as a team. And, he is enjoying school and the new relationships he quickly made there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Through the years we looked at different strategies for helping my struggling son succeed in school. By the middle of 10th grade he was behind in credits and it became very clear that if we didn't do something he would not only not graduate on time, but maybe not at all. His grades were sliding, but even more alarmingly his attitude and behavior were as well. Thank goodness we found Academy Schools! The small class sizes and the fact that it is a small school have helped him where nothing else ever could. Everybody knows everybody there. My son can't just fade into the background, hope to go unnoticed and barely squeak by. His teachers know him. They know his strengths and see where he struggles and are therefore truly able to teach him. As a result his self confidence and self-esteem have increased dramatically. He is finally a person with value, not just a statistic. He has a good attitude towards school and has worked so hard and made such progress that he is on track to graduate on time! Public schools may be a good fit for most kids, but my son needed more than they were able to offer. Academy schools is the right fit for him!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

all around great school, teachers are very nice and are always there if help is needed. small class sizes means more 1 on 1 teaching, would recommend to anybody :)


Posted October 26, 2013

Academy Schools is an excellent school. My children have attended nine different schools from DC to Seattle. This school gets it! Learning is focused on the child and his specific learning style. Education is not limited to the classroom. The school makes use of every advantage in the Seattle area. Each child is able to reach his full potential with the assistance of dedicated professionals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

This is an amazing school! Academy schools offers small class sizes, an individual based learning environment and patient and caring staff members. Our family is very happy to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Academy school is a school that is greatly geared towards children that are Autistic or have some type of learning disadvantage. Individualized curriculum and teaching methods for these students are hands down right on track. In our situation our children where typically developing and never received tailored curriculum or were challenged at any time. We found that the enrollment dropped significantly by more than half while we were there. We found administration to be unprofessional and had seen many times screaming and yelling from office staff members. Hidden costs and fees are charged throughout the year for different activities that we felt were unnecessary. Overall our experience was very disappointing but we can see the benefit to those that are forced to have a small classroom setting due to learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2013

My 2 boys have been in this school for 5 years now and because of the excellent individualized teaching methods, they are both working above their grade levels in many subjects. My oldest is now in Running Start at Green River Community College taking Calculus 3 (while taking all of his high school courses at Academy Schools plus 3 online courses offered by the school) and has tested in the top 2% of the nation's juniors in the PSAT. He will most likely be applying to a few ivy-league colleges in the fall. This school is not only for special needs children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

This is an outstanding school. As a parent of two students, we were impressed by the small class size (no more than 10), individual attention and academic strength. The school has the flexibility to challenge each child based on her or her potential - whether they are gifted or need additional assistance. Our son was strong in math and science and joined the higher classes for those subjects. He was encouraged to advance to as far as he wanted. You do not get that type of attention or flexibility in many schools. This is a place where each child is truly valued.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

Childrens academy does a great job of providing a no bully environment, and the staff is friendly. Unfortunately, it's the curriculum that is lacking. For a child with any special needs, children's academy was not sufficient. Educational expectations of said children are lowered, and not challenged. The fact that there is no set cirriculum, and that the staff is not required to be certified, are concerns that should not be overlooked. As a parent of a special needs child, it is indeed comforting to know the children are kind, as well as safe, however, the actual education is extremely important. We were highly disappointed with the educational insufficiencies & lowered expectations with our child. There was a very large gap between our child's abilities to complete work at home, compared to the frequent inability of completing it in class. Capability was there, but the follow through was not. Voiced our concerns on several occasions, but they were brushed aside & disregarded. We removed our child & enrolled in another school, & no longer have that gap that was such a problem for us. Our child is now excelling. As special needs parents, we are unable to give a higher rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2010

I am a former student of Academy Schools. I attended for nine years and absolutely loved it. ALL of the teachers I had were amazing. They were so supportive and nurturing that it was like a second family. Likewise, the other students were like siblings, making it an environment where you could feel safe, and learn to the full extent of your abilities. There were no cliques, and you didn't have to worry about being judged on either your appearance, academic abilities, or anything you could imagine. I was able to vastly improve my writing skills, and have been inspired to pursue a career in neurology.The different clubs and electives provided a wonderful outlet for my creativity, and I realized now that the school helped me flourish, both socially and academically, far more than a public school would have. I love this school and miss it dearly.


Posted November 13, 2010

Academy Schools has moved! Our new location is just north of Southcenter Mall, west of Fort Dent Soccer Fields (home of the Sounders) and 1/2 mile northwest of Family Fun Center. Our new school building is beautiful,and has allowed expansion of the many programs offered. The students LOVE the new facility and grounds. Computer Lab for grades Pre-K thorugh 4,Technology in the classroom features laptops for grades 5-12, "Moodle" instructional interface and Smart Boards in the classrooms. After school programs feature: after school care, yearbook club, chess club, band club, and drama club. The school has a calm, comfortable atmosphere and the academic achievements are high. This is a great school. Come visit us!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 9, 2008

As a person who has had involvement with education for over 30 years I can say with complete faith that the teachers give 200%. Each student is not only given one on one time but the work they are assigned enables them to achive and reach beyond their goals. The principal not only does her job but always has time for the students,parents and her staff. She does this with creativity, knowledge and heart. My wish for all students and their parents it that they could have a learning experince this wonderful


Posted November 7, 2008

The staff at The Academy School is tremendous! The Principal, Mrs. Neil, repeatedly demonstrates outstanding leadership, dedication, creativity and sensitivity to the needs of her students, parents and staff members. She is able to balance hands on work with the students with the ever present demands of position as the principal. All the teachers are intelligent, well-educated and comprise a mix of skills. They are excellent teachers and consummate professionals. They are genuinely sincere in their rapport with students and parents. My son Tyler's educational development at Academy Schools has greatly increased intellect, creativity and organizational skills. Chess, drama, homework club are productive and valuable experiences for his growth. Additionally, parent involvement is encouraged and rewarded. It is a special time to volunteer and help others who so cherish your investment of giving to the students as their faces show appreciation for your attentiveness and time spent with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

My son has attended this school for over five years now. He has thrived in this small, calm and very nurturing setting. He has not only grown academically, but has also grown socially and emotionally. The teachers and staff here are exceptional individuals that care deeply about every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

My son attended Children's Academy for seven years. He came as a kindergartener and is now very happy in the Tech Academy progam at Mill Creek. In the first grade his teacher realized that he had difficulties with reading and because of the constant attention to individualized instruction throughout the next three years, he mastered the skill. In public school it is unlikely that it would have been even noticed. Due to the diversity of pupils, he made lifelong friends with a wonderful group of students and their parents who all care deeply about the education of their children. We cannot say enough about the caliber of teachers, parents and students at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

My son came to this school with a high IQ but low social skills and impulsive behavior. Because of the patience, compassion, knowledge and love of the staff at Children's Academy he has grown into a successful teenager. He now is doing well in a tough program at a public high school. I do not know what would have happened to our family if we would not have found Children's Academy. He was a student there for six years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I am a parent and have been a volunteer at Children's Academy for seven years. I am a former special education teacher and have never seen a more cohesive group of teacher's, parents and volunteers at a school The children are respectful and courteous. Field trips received complements on how well mannered the students were. Students moved between classes in a quiet and orderly manner with a teacher always present. There is no tolerance for bullies or any 'ism'. It is a wonderful place for children to blossom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I have only worked here at Academy Schools for a short time. I can tell you that the Teachers and other staff are wonderful. Their hearts are for the children that come to this school. Each child is appreciated for his or her unique gifts. The teachers and principle are child focused, and want to see each child succeed. The Principle is nothing but a very caring person and I see her as one who wants to help everyone in need.


Posted November 3, 2008

Classes are small but many of the students admitted are not able to function in a large setting and that is why they are at the school. The teachers are kind and caring but not trained to work with special needs kids. I would not put a typical or special needs child into this environment. It is unorganized and chaotic which is exactly how the current principal functions
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 7%
Black 12% 5%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Hispanic 6% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 33% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 66% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Washington
Western Washington University
Oregon State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Running Start
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kori Malone & Jennifer Sargent
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (206) 588-0771

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Music Therapy, Private Counsel
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Running Start
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Computer Club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Music Club
  • Robotics club
  • Rubik Cube Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $13000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Washington
Western Washington University
Oregon State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Running Start
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 33%
4 year college - 66%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14601 Interurban Avenue South
Tukwila, WA 98168
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 588-0860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT