Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Tumwater, WA
Students enrolled: 1,124

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tumwater High School 3

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
Wow - my child is only in the 4th grade, but there appears to be some concerning issues that need to be addressed. I hope the administration is paying attention to this feedback! P.S. I had to 'rate' this school just to get my review posted.

Tumwater High School 1

Posted June 16, 2013
- a student
I really hate this school. The academics are great and all, but the environment sucks! People are mean, and cruel to one another, people call each other gay, and they threaten each other, it's full of cruel people who just hate everyone. If you are anything below "popular" then you get picked on. DO NOT GO HERE!!!!


Tumwater High School 3

Posted April 11, 2013
- a student
If this was just based on academics and athletics, I would rate the school a 5/5. The teachers genuinely care for the students and are usually available outside of class time. The Honors and Accelerated teachers are particularly talented. All of the athletic coaches are great. I've participated in soccer and cross country. Both of the sports had a positive impact (soccer not as much) on the students involved. We aren't the best team in the district, but we definitely have strong school spirit. The reason I gave this a 3/5 is because the social environment is pretty hostile considering how great everything else is. If you are a quiet and shy person then you will automatically be excluded from higher social classes (which it's like with most high schools). What sets this apart from most high schools is, as an other student already stated, the lack of diversity is appalling. If you don't fit in as a "jock", jokester, or try-hard (someone who does everything perfectly) then you're automatically excluded from most groups. Almost all the students are Republican Christians, which makes it hard for LGBT students. There is a lot of hate from the students you would least expect.

Tumwater High School 4

Posted March 24, 2011
- a student
Tumwater High School is filled with many strong and talented teachers that make sure that their students understand the material. A few exceptions here and there, but overall any average or hardworking student should be able to graduate with a adequate grasp of the material they have learned over the past four years. Another great policy implemented in 2009 was CORE/FLEX. This policy forces students with any grades below a "C" to use a 30-minute passing period to catch up on their homework. On the surface, it sounds harsh, but with it Tumwater has effectively decreased the number of failing students. However, a crippling flaw of Tumwater is its lack of diversity, both ethnically and spiritually. There a very few minorities here, and almost everyone is a Christian. The political environment is very conservative. The school (or district) doesn't seem to know its priorities when it comes to spending money, as the Performing Arts Center is, quite frankly, pathetic. The indoor theater itself makes the school look underfunded. The majority of the computers found here are frustratingly slow, and clearly need to be replaced. Aesthetically, Tumwater High School looks very aged.

Tumwater High School 5

Posted December 17, 2010
- a parent
We are new to the public school system having home schooled most of the kids school life. Kids are 10th and 11th graders. We are a military family and live on base and selected THS and attend as "out of district". THS is a pleasant atmosphere for learning and the kids are excelling. They have good academics. The kids are in AP classes and honors. A really rigorous schedule. They also participate in Choir, and drama, which are excellent performances. I'm very pleased about THS. BTW, THS are the State Champs in AA Football. Hoorah!


Tumwater High School 5

Posted December 13, 2010
- a student
I am shocked to see all of the negative posts on here! I graduated spring of 2010 and was very happy with the school. I was new my freshman year and it was not hard at all to make friends. If you are shy play a fall sport to meet people. The administration was great, most of the teachers were also good. NOT a lot of drugs (compared to other schools in the area). Great school.

Tumwater High School 1

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
this school is worse than black hills so if you get into high school and you want your kids to go to tumwater dont because it is not a good school and it is full of drugs and stuff and a very bad place to go lots of bad people (go to black hills)

Tumwater High School 2

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
this school if your new you dont make alot of friends very fast (unlike black hills) and the sports system you loose alot during every kind of sport


Tumwater High School 1

Posted May 02, 2010
- a student
I am a student at Tumwater, and i hate it. Do not send your child here. It's very hard to fit in, and unless you are a star athlete and popular, the staff does not give a care about you! There is hardly any diversity between the students, and if you are different in any way they make fun of you and are not accepting.

Tumwater High School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
I personally love love love THS! Great school spirit!! Awsome Music prgram. Great athletic department. The most winningest school. Great staff the principal and AP scott seaman and Brian Hardcastle are great.ive really connected with the Triple H! only downfault is that there is not a wide diversity of students..As a minority it is sometimes awkward

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tumwater High School
700 Israel Rd, Tumwater, WA  98501
(360) 709-7600
Last modified Tumwater High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tumwater High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top