Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Tumwater, WA
Students enrolled: 839

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


A G West Black Hills High School 5

Posted November 15, 2014
- a student
I started at BHHS when I was a freshman. First time being in the district, as well as new to Tumwater. Before this I went to Curtis Junior High. However, the difference between the two is that Black Hills was far more welcoming than that of Curtis. Having been constantly bullied at Curtis, this was a welcoming change for me. Academics are also easier to grasp and the teachers are very helpful and awesome, even if a few do pick favorites. Having a GPA of 2.5 at Curtis even with working as hard as I could, a GPA of 3.5 at Black Hills marks one of the reasons of how teachers try to make their students understand the material. There's a ton of school spirit, the Fine Arts Program is amazing. There isn't a social hierarchy of cliques (unlike Curtis) and the student body tries to get everybody involved and no one is left out. There's something for everybody. The best thing about this school is Perception Day (If you go to BHHS, you know what I mean). As a senior, I'm more than glad to be graduating soon from a school that can have a positive and safe environment. The only minor flaw is that there's not too much diversity. Other than that, BHHS all the way!

A G West Black Hills High School 2

Posted June 29, 2014
- a community member
As a former student of Black Hills High School I can confidently say that the teachers and student base as an absolute delight to work and spend time with. Unfortunately, the main office staff and online class superviser still have not figured out how to help students and their families in a polite manner. In fact, sometimes they are downright rude.


A G West Black Hills High School 2

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
This school has great student community, and the teachers are fabulous. Academically it's a wonderful place to grow. However, if you're a looking for a school with administrative leadership and support this isn't a good place to send your children. The admin staff are a joke. Everyone in the office is an absolute nightmare to work with, from the condescending principal right down to the rude attendance staff. Skip the office BS and go right to your child's teachers if you need any sort of information about what's going on at school.

A G West Black Hills High School 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
this is the best school that you will ever go to and there are alot of nice people here so if your new you wont be a loner and spend all of your time eating alone at lunch you will make friends really fast.

A G West Black Hills High School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
I think BHHS is really great! I'm a new student and everyone are very nice to me. This is the best school in my life.


A G West Black Hills High School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

A G West Black Hills High School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

A G West Black Hills High School 3

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
The only bad thing about this school is acouple teachers. Other than that, and the smell, it's a good school.


A G West Black Hills High School 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
the staff pick favorts and dont get to know the students they herd things about

A G West Black Hills High School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
I have attended two different High Schools now and Black Hills is by far the better of the two. Black Hills has everything you could want for your child or for yourself as a student. Black Hills next task would be to take the next step to where everyone in all there activities and teachings has a confidence about. A confidence that they know they really are the best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

A G West Black Hills High School
7741 Littlerock Rd SW, Tumwater, WA  98512
(360) 709-7800
Last modified A G West Black Hills High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
A G West Black Hills High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top