Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chinook Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2010

My nieces attend this school, and I was very impressed with the environment when I visited it. I love the fact that the arts are so encouraged there, and the teachers and principal were all so friendly.


Posted May 13, 2010

Fantastic learning environment, caring teachers and administration, great community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

A true, supportive community of students, parents, and staff. Strong emphasis on music/arts/PE program. There are also many great extracurricular family activities put on by teachers or by PTSA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

My daughter attends this school and loves it very much. We are very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The staff from the office personnel to the principal are excellent. My son is in first grade and has progressed in his learning fantastically. We chose to live in this area because of the schools and have not been disappointed. My daughter will start kindergarten next year and we can't wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Chinook Elementary School has the best staff and principal in the whole world! My granddaughter loves her first grade teacher so much.


Posted September 20, 2009

I especially love the Chinook Lifelong Guidelines, the same guidelines I teach my children...and all of the wonderful staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I love the environment they create at this school, creative, exciting...the kids love this school!


Posted September 20, 2009

I love Chinook because of the great teachers, principal and support staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

The teachers are great, the principal is very interactive with parents and students alike, and my son is excited about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

This is our 3rd year at Chinook. We absolutely love it. Very responsive teachers and principal, so many activities, and a very caring environment. I have a 1st and 3rd grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Chinook elementary school is a great school, has great teachers and staff, specially the principal he is very helpfull, great with the kids, very down to earth very involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

I am a proud parent of a child who attends Chinook and I have no problems at all. I love the principal. Her teacher is great. She is thriving and loves it there. She hates to be sick and can't wait to go to school each and every day. They have so many activities for them. I am proud to say we attend Chinook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

My two children have attended Chinook since Nov of 2004. My daughter 3rd - 5th grade and is now at Alki and my son k-3rd grade (currently). I didn't realize that schools really were all that different until we got to Chinook. We came from a school in the Evergreen district that I was very satisfied with. There is a huge difference in the moral of the teachers and staff, parental involvement and family participation and activities, not to mention academics. The PTSA provides so many programs for the children and families. I am very proud that my children are a part of Chinook elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

I am very impressed with this school. They do their best to help every student succeed. I am very happy with my daughter's teacher. I do volunteer at the school on a regular basis and therefore see a lot of what's happening. The art classes are wonderful; the children learn concepts that I never even got in my high school art classes. There is also a choir for 3rd-5th graders, which is an after-school program. My daughter has only had trouble with one other student not treating her kindly, but that problem was very quickly and professionally resolved by the other student's teacher. I am thankful that my child goes to Chinook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

Has not met the needs of our children. With the right leadership this school could be so much more than it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I have a fourth grader and a Kindergartner at Chinook & have been very happy with their education. Every teacher they have had has been wonderful. Many programs have been made available to my fourth grader who needed to catch up after coming from a different school district. Every time I visit Chinook I run into the principle who always makes himself available to the parents. We are moving next year & I only hope we can find another school that even comes close to the high standards we have thanks to Chinook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

This is our second year at Chinook. We have two students attending. One of our kid's has a learning disability and after testing was done for this state things went well last year. This year has been a joke. He is getting homework that is way above his level. They seem to be very disorganized and the teacher is not at all a good match for him. The other child seems to be doing fine. Only because he doesn't require any assistance academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

If you don't look too carefully, Chinook 'appears' to be an adequate school. The reality is test score are falling every year and there is a lot of lip service and self promoting. We have not been happy with the teachers, specialists or administration. We would give Chinook a B- at best and D- at worst. If you have any troubles at Chinook - Go to the District. At Chinook, you will not get problems resolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

Chinook is the Best! The staff is Awesome. I would not put my children in any other school. We love Chinook .
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female90%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income77%
Not low income90%
Special education54%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low income100%
Not low income93%
Special education77%
Not special education97%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female73%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income65%
Not low income74%
Special education41%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female89%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income83%
Not low income80%
Special education71%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female75%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income61%
Not low income67%
Special education41%
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income65%
Not low income76%
Special education46%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income84%
Not low income86%
Special education92%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female76%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income76%
Not low income83%
Special education62%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 60%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Two or more races 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 221%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 81%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 NW Bliss Rd
Vancouver, WA 98685
Phone: (360) 313-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT