Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chinook Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2007

My children have been students at Chinook for almost two years and we couldn't be more pleased. Before we moved here I researched the school on this website and also talked to as many parents as I possibly could. When we move we choose the school first and then the house. There are so many wonderful things about this school I don't know where to begin. I love how involved and visible the principal is and how he emphasizes 'life long learning skills'. The teachers have been wonderful and my children have blossomed & they both love school. Chinook has a very active ptsa that sponsors many after school events (read with dad, movie nights, carnival, etc) and this year purchased a keyboard system for all students to use. I believe that my children are receiving an excellent education and I'm so happy we chose Chinook for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

My two children attend Chinook, and absolutely love it. We have had a very positive experience and the teachers and staff have been wonderful. The art,music,dance, and other classes have been a lot of fun for my kids to try new things. We love all the family events, and things they have for the parents to get involved and see what their kids are doing. We are very happy with Chinook and are very thankful for all the staff and their hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

*Beware westside's best kept secret. Test scores do not give the whole story! School administrator's gloss over continued staff mistreatment of students ranging from ignorance to abuse. Worst of all they are all too quick to blame the children and never themselves. Chinook needs some serious housecleaning. The source of our information is our own experience, If you have a perfect child with high self esteem, who needs nothing and can survive despite being in at its best a neutral nurturing environment then you will probably be fine. Otherwise - beware, if you attend chinook and run into problems with staff-do not let them make you feel it is you, it's not!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

Our Chinook experience has been negative from day one and has only gotten worse over the years. Many, many tears have been shed by our children and us. The staff is not able to handle common issues, let alone anything approaching serious. They have a nasty habit of chastising the students and it is tolerated quite openly. They have disdain for the Special Needs students. Interior of the school is almost always dirty. Lots of Divas - teachers and PTA-types. Administrators do not handle problems but instead deny they are any and tell you it is your child's fault and you are being difficult. It's has been a very trying experience. It probably will hurt our property values, but I would not recommend this school in it's current state. It's really bad. We pray something will be done. Many families suffer in silence thinking their experience is unique when they are actually quite common.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

I have been at this school for 5 years now and being a part of this educational community is one of the best experiences my three children and I have ever had. Most of the teachers have completed graduate degrees, the principal walks among the students and regularly performs for them by singing and playing his guitar. The school averages over 50 parent volunteers on a daily basis. They have several extra curricular activities after school ,including sports and science programs. Family nights are available to attend throughout the year. The parents are very generous and the PTSA works alongside the staff and the relationship is great. The kids really benefit from all the positive aspects of this school. It also has a very strong arts program. I am glad our family could be a part of it during these precious years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

Chinook Elementary School has some really great teachers and a just few that might not work well for your student. The music and art programs are exceptional. There is a core group of parents who remain very involved in the school, and their PTA is very successful in its fundraising efforts and is very generous in its classroom and school assistance. Our students learned a lot academically. What we really liked is that some of the work, spelling, for example, was done on an individual basis, thanks to the help of great teachers and parent volunteers. For example, your student would be tested at words good for his level, whether they are grade one words or grade 12. The only down side for us was that the 5th graders would be out at recess the same time as the 1st graders. The size difference was an issue. This has perhaps
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2004

I have had two children in Chinook, one that was there first through fifth and has now gone on to Alki, the other who will only spend Kindergarten at Chinook. During their time there, my children both have blossomed. My oldest has ADHD and the programs that Chinook offered to him helped improve his academic skills exponentially. He was a non-reader in first grade, and now he is reading novels. I credit the school, the administration and the teachers. They are open and willing to speak to parents at all times. If I was given a choice, Chinook would be my first every time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2003

My oldest child is just starting second grade, so our experience with Chinook has just been over the last two years, but it has been great! She has had 2 fantastic teachers who were very in touch with their students individually. They were great about speaking with me (in person, by phone and e-mail) whenever I had concerns or questions. I was very impressed how they effectively dealt with the children at different levels, for example in reading. They were divided into small groups depending on their level, so that all children were being challenged. In talking with other friends, this is not so in all schools, even in the same disctrict (advanced readers were left to read along with those still struggling to learn). I am also greatly impressed with the high level of parent participation at Chinook. I have seen a great deal of parents helping out in the classroom on a regular basis, as well as for special projects, PTSA, etc. I really believe this allows the students greater opportunities for learning and extra activities that otherwise may not be possible. A new principal will start this fall (2003), so it will be interesting to see what changes come about under his leadership. So far our experience at Chinook has been fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2003

Most literature suggests parents take an active role in their children's placement and education. At Chinook, parent involvement leans toward volunteerism with lots of paperwork and extracurricular activities outside of the classroom. Parents are valuable resource for administrative tasks, but when voicing opinions or concerns about the curriculum--watch out. Parents are not allowed to survey teacher's classrooms because there are too many 'overinvolved parents' at Chinook (School Personnel, 2003). Yet, only a group of parents (10-20 families) volunteer and are at every function--out of a student population of over 600. Learning resources are readily available for students who are at risk of failing, or those who are extremely successful. Many students in the middle are not given the same opportunities for learning resources nor the same level of committment. These students may not be learning to the best of their abilities and their parents really have to fight to be heard. It's sad that when Chinook needs volunteers, it doesn't take months to get them, but when the parents need help for their children, it takes months for Chinook's teachers and administration to take action. This may be due in part to an adminstration that seems to allow teachers much autonomy. While this must be pleasant for the teachers, there are some teachers who behave differently in the principle's and vice principle's presence. Parent's may attempt to address a teacher's negative behavior or lack of communication, but ultimately, our experience is that the administration may fail to recognize what they do not see with their own eyes.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female90%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income77%
Not low income90%
Special education54%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low income100%
Not low income93%
Special education77%
Not special education97%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female73%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income65%
Not low income74%
Special education41%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female89%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income83%
Not low income80%
Special education71%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female75%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income61%
Not low income67%
Special education41%
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income65%
Not low income76%
Special education46%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income84%
Not low income86%
Special education92%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female76%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income76%
Not low income83%
Special education62%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 60%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Two or more races 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 221%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 81%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 NW Bliss Rd
Vancouver, WA 98685
Phone: (360) 313-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT