Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Vancouver, WA
Students enrolled: 709

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


53 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chinook Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Teachers are great. My kids love going to school here and it has a good community with a lot of activities. Mr Lapidus the principal is fantastic

Chinook Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
So happy with this school. Office, principal and teaching staff are wonderful. Every child succeeds. You just need to walk the halls and feel the warm happy environment. I have 3 very happy kids in this school. Best choice I have ever made.


Chinook Elementary School 1

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
Children are forced to go out for recess when weather conditions are horrible. Today it was a record breaking cold day, with a severe wind/weather advisory. Children were complaining that they could not feel their fingers and that their hands and faces were hurting. Unfortunately this is not abnormal for Chinook elementary, and many other elementary schools in the area. This has been going on for years and parents and teachers are doing nothing to stop it! Unless people start standing up and fighting for their children, they are going to continue to do this. The children are complaining about how their hands and face hurt yet they can't do anything to help them. Many children come to school without coats, hats, and gloves and are still allowed to go outside. Will it be frostbite, and the loss of a child's fingers that make this stop, or will they wait for our children to start dying? I urge you to email the principle and superintendents at your child's school to make this travesty stop!

Chinook Elementary School 1

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
Where to begin with this school! Our son has been in this school this being his second year. Since being in 1st grade he has had nothing but problems from being bullied not only by his peers but also by his teacher. We have talked to the principle about this many times and he just informs us that the teacher is top notch and that kids are going to be mean it is just in there nature. I can't wait to get out of this school district so that my child has a fair education and someone that is going to care about his needs instead of belittling him in front of his class. I strongly suggest that you do your research before putting your child into this school!

Chinook Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a teacher
What a positive first impression of this school. I went in for a sub job and was greeted by kind office staff. The kids were well behaved and it was clear their teacher has set clear expectations for them to be successful. Then the principal came around to greet all of the substitutes and introduce himself. It was a very welcoming environment.


Chinook Elementary School 4

Posted August 11, 2012
- a parent
My older 2 attended Chinook and have terrific memories with awesome, caring teachers, many of whom are still part of the backbone of the school. Having just recently returned to Vancouver after a job transfer took us to the Seattle area, we are thrilled to be able to send our younger sons to be Wolfpups this fall! We know they will be academically challenged in a nurturing and kind environment. Congratulations to Principal Joe Lapidus for his leadership and guidance of this fine school!

Chinook Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
The teachers, staff and principal are great!

Chinook Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
Awesome teachers! Many people working together for each child! Very caring place!


Chinook Elementary School 4

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
Great community and great administration.

Chinook Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
Because each student is seen as an individual and their best interests are looked after in so many ways. Joe Lapidus leads an awesome community of caring adults!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chinook Elementary School
1900 NW Bliss Rd, Vancouver, WA  98685
(360) 313-1600
Last modified Chinook Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chinook Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top