Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alki Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 243 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

I'm a seventh grader at Alki. It's pretty nice here. I like the staff. The principle is leaving . we're getting a new one, but from, what I've heard she doesn't sound nice.


Posted December 19, 2013

I attend alki middle school and I say out of 5 stars this school needs 1,000,000,000,000,000,000 stars this school gives so much care and my teacher are beyond amazing we even have I pads! This school helps family's in the district but also people who don't even live in a house.we have so much fun but yet have the highest test scores in Vancouver. Please make the right choice.


Posted December 17, 2013

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. It's sic an honor to be at this school. My favorite teacher at the school is my temporarily Teaching choir teacher. his name is Mr.Denton. he's the best teacher you could ever have. HE'S AWESOME. He gives good advice and he's pretty wise :) I recommend coming here.


Posted August 16, 2013

I am a soon to be 8th grader at alki. I've been going here since 2011. I love this school but the only thing that bothers me is that all the teachers try to hunt down girls that are somewhat being inappropriate when it's not even that bad. I got in trouble for having my tank top strap hanging out and I think that's absolutely ridiculous, I mean come on what's so inappropriate about a strap? And the shoulder rule when you have to have your shirt be the majority of you shoulder. I also think that they should change the bandas rule. Like seriously, I know it's a sign of people that like the same kind of gender as them but they should still be able too. I wear it to support them. And not wearing bandas for some people is like saying its wrong that they like the same gender as themselves. The last thing I have to say is the shorts part. I think it's not right to put a rule that if your fingertips are longer then your shorts then it's inappropriate. I have really long arms so If I were to wear shorts they would have to be to almost to my knees. I hate shorts like that. Please please please change theses rules!! I love this school just not the dress code.


Posted May 19, 2010

Excellent academics, athletics, art and music. Highly effective principal. The teachers care about the student's academic achievement and involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

I like the teachers and school work but the one thing that isn't very wondeerful about this school is the drama. It follows you whever you go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2009

Right now i am currently a 7th grade student at the school and i must say that i have seen the reviews so far some bad some good so i'm here to put my input Alki middle school is great although some teachers could be more supportive most are great and want to help you althought during spring and summer they do really crack down on the clothing rules. May i warn you though for any students that are thinking about Alki that they do NOT have lockers so you do have to carry everything with you . The intermerial teachers are wonderful adn nice so there should not be a problem with them I prefer Mrs. Hebner the choir teacher and the spanish teacher Mrs. Myres( having her baby soon!) The spanish though is only fro 7th and 8th graders and you have to be approved. Good bye Go Wolves!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2009

Being a student at Alki middle school I've learned from this passed year that the teachers seemed to be more concerned about dress code than teaching. If they would have put as much effort in helping students and listening to concerns as they put into finding the girl with the shorest shorts or the boy with the lowest pants, maybe Alki could have had a better outcome in some students education. My personal opinion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

I am a student attending Alki right now as a seventh grader. I find that all of my teachers are extremely nice, but there are some that are better than others. The main problem is the students. The 8th graders this year are a pretty rough bunch and I have heard numerous complaints about them made by teachers. But, taking away the entire 8th grade, I feel that this school has been a good experience and will hopefully be a good preparation for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2008

I just graduated from Alki this year. I also went to Pleasant Valley Middle School and Gaiser Middle Schol. I thought that Alki was an ok school. The students come from wealthy familys. I trasfered in the middle of the year and did not feel very welcomed by most of the staff or students. I was lucky because i happened to have known students at the school because if i hadnt i think i would have been all alone. There are not very many extra curricular ativities besides sports. There are some good teachers but there are also alot of horrible teachers. Some are very nice but do not help the students learn. If I could choose if I went to Alki after my experiences I wouldnt have changes school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

My son is an honor roll student this year, and a very successful student. My son s success is truly due to his effort and not due to the school administration. On two separate occasions, I have had an opportunity to interact with the Alki Middle School administration. I found the principal and associate principal to be extremely argumentative and unwilling or unable to assist with any resolution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

My son has some learning difficulties and this School has done everything to help and gone beyond in my view.Thank you from the bottom of my Heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

I have found the principle and associate principles to argumentative, unreasonable, and disrespectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

My child went from being a 4.0 student to a less than 2.0 student in his first year at this school. When contacting teachers, counselors and principals I found them to be disrespectful of both the students and other staff members and unresponsive to parents. My child changed schools and is getting back on track. My child had attended the elementary school next door so the transition should not have been the problem. I'm sure it is a good school for some but it just wasn't for us. Unless you have time to volunteer at the school you will not know how your kid is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

ALKI is the best school I have ever gone to I have been to Gaiser, Jefferson, Mac, and others but ALKI was the best. In this school people (the kids) accept all people into their groups I have never felt more welcome number one school. The Principals are great. The office knows all the kids like their allergies, likes, dislikes, etc... I love ALKI!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2006

hi i am a student and i think the alki middle school is a really bad school the kids there are fine but the princeipal and teachers are simply unaware of what is happening around them the only good teachers that are there in the 6th grade is the p.e teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2006

Alki middle school is a great school. It was a great learning experience and it is set up between chinook elementry school and Skyview highschool, which is great if you have kids at all 3 levels.There are music programs, art programs and a friendly staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

My son had a very positive educational experience at Alki. I was impressed by the staff and the level of academic quality, as well as the opportunities for sports and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

Alki is a school afraid of change. The new principal is a wonderful person but Alki's teachers, students and parents recieved her with a closed mind. She was unwelcome from the start. I do think Alki is making a change for the positive under her leadership. Alki students need to learn that they are children, not adults and should behave accordingly. Peer pressure seems to big at this school and the students are way too grown for their age. Academics at Alki are excellent and there are many extracurriculars to choose from. This community cares alot about their kids. Parents flock the schoo in an almost annoying manner. All in all I wouldn't not reccomend Alki for your child; as long as they know what their values are and stay grounded, their miiddle school experience at Alki should be pleasant.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 13, 2005

I went to Alki before moving. I liked the school under Mr. Little. He was a fantasic principal. I don't think he could have done a better job. The new principal is inadequate. There was no connection between her and the students. The teachers and classmates that I had were great. Many teachers were dissatisfied with her approach to leading a school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female70%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic32%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income47%
Not low income74%
Special education21%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female85%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income74%
Not low income79%
Special education44%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female78%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income68%
Not low income80%
Special education34%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female84%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income68%
Not low income83%
Special education47%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female90%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income73%
Not low income83%
Special education34%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female76%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income58%
Not low income77%
Special education24%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female77%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income68%
Not low income78%
Special education26%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female73%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income58%
Not low income80%
Special education32%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low income100%
Not low income100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 60%
Hispanic 7% 20%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 10%N/A8%
Special education 111%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 230%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 79%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Curtis Smith

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 NW Bliss Rd
Vancouver, WA 98685
Phone: (360) 313-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Gaiser Middle School
Vancouver, WA




The Gardner School
Vancouver, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT