Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 280 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2014

I have 2 children in this school. One is in 4th grade and the other is in 1st grade. I have noticed that my older child has slowly decreased her interest and progress in school. I have read all the other reviews and these parents need to wake up and smell the roses. They are completely happy with their children being at one of the worst schools in Vancouver. Why do you think they chose this school to be taken over by the Chineese Immersion? Ultimately I feel sorry for the children because the parents are failing their kids by standing by and letting their children get sub-par education. I am following in other families footsteps and am selling my house and moving somewhere that has acceptable schools. No disrespect to anyone, but come on parents "DON'T FAIL YOUR CHILDREN"!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2014

I'm sorry, I'm going to have to disagree with the previous parent. I also have more than one student at Franklin, now and in the past few years- not in the Mandarin program. Franklin teachers are very dedicated and are excellent at their job. Education is a partnership. Parents need to do their part as well. I am at the school,frequently and work with some of the students. Many of these children have been let down by parents who obviously don't work with them at home or who can't find the time to help at school. There is always an excuse for why forms can't be returned, why they can't show up for parent conferences, why their children in 4th & 5th grade still don't have times tables memorized, etc. However, there is always time to blame others, especially teachers, in today's society for the simple lack of good and attentive parenting. So, parents who like to complain about our little school-when was the last time you were at a PTA meeting or volunteered at the school? When was the last time you showed interest in what is going on at school, besides finding more things to complain about? I see a lot of caring and hard working people at Franklin, it's a shame you can't see it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

One sided school! Kids not treated equally! If your child is not in the mandarin program forget about it! It is too crowded because of the program and boundary exceptions! It's a mess!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

Our son attends Franklin and he has really blossomed here. We love the teachers and principal. The school has such a sweet, small-school environment and the PTA organizes many family-centered events. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

I cannot say enough great things about this school. My child is in the Chinese Immersion program and every day I am astounded with what she is learning. The immersion program is incredible! The immersion parents are highly involved which has helped to make this two -year old program a success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

the school is about to add a new element to it's offerings: a Chinese Language Immersion Program for k - 5. I met with the staff and Principal and couldn't be moreexcited about the program. Very nice building and facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

My daughter has attended this school for 5 years. The class sizes have grown the past couple of years, but the teachers are great. The previous principal was a much better administrator and ran the school more effectively than the current principal. Overall, a good choice for a public elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

My son goes to kindergarten this year in a special behavioural class. It's the best school for him in our area and I couldn't be happier with it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

We love Ben Franklin! My daughter has been there 4 years now and my son just started this school year. We have had a great experience. The principal, teachers, staff members, parents and kids are great. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

Franklin Elementary provides an excellent grade-school education. The teachers emphasis reading, writing and arithmetic first, and the students gain a strong foundation in these skills. However, the teachers mix in some really exciting projects (both individual and group). Last year, my sixth grader invented a new civilization and then created an archeological dig after spending several months studying ancient world cultures. My second grader prepared two reports: a country report and a mammal report. The school consistently emphasizes planning and thinking, research, organization, and writing in its projects. Science fair projects were mandatory for grades 4-6. The school play was a wonderful experience for my sixth grader. I like the staff, teachers, and other students and parents. I highly recommend Franklin Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

Very high caliber, totally committed teachers. Small school compared to others in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2004

Great school, great teachers! Parent envolvement is a must.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

we have had nothing but good experiences with ben franklin.........go patriots
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2003

We have always been happy with the schools in the Vancouver School District (Our children have been in three other schools in the District). But with out a doubt Franklin is the very BEST. The teachers are wonderful; very helpful, friendly, giving 110% of their-self to the kids: the kids love them. Every teacher at Franklin is dedicated to the well fair of each child. The staff is also great, very dedicated. Franklin is a small school so the kids get a lot of individual attention. There is also a great deal of parent involvement. Franklin is the only school I have seen where the Principal is greeting the kids in the morning or watching the kids at lunch or break time or saying good-bye in the afternoon. And is involved with the kids. There are reading incentive programs to get kids reading, and a great deal of help in different forms for kids falling behind or struggling. The kids also do very well on the WASL testing & other State wide tests. And having just put a child in Middle School I can say the kids leave the school well prepared for the next step.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female59%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income38%
Not low income69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female59%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Low income50%
Not low income59%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female47%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income36%
Not low income73%
Special educationn/a
Not special education59%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female67%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income43%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students36%
Female40%
Male30%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White25%
Low income29%
Not low income46%
Special educationn/a
Not special education32%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students57%
Female69%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income48%
Not low income67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female69%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income57%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students55%
Female53%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income48%
Not low income62%
Special educationn/a
Not special education55%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 60%
Hispanic 15% 20%
Two or more races 12% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 16%N/A8%
Special education 121%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 237%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 8N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 58%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Laura Dilley

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5206 Franklin St
Vancouver, WA 98663
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 313-1850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT