Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hazel Dell Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

Hazel Dell has made my children into well prepared middle school students. My daughter was so well prepared and is a shining star in her classes. Hazel Dell is what you make of it, just like any other school. If you have a negative, combative attitude and aren't in a position to hear advice about how to guide your student towards a path to success, then this isn't the school for you. It is what you make of it. Be open minded and positive and your child will thrive. The people are amazing and care deeply for their students. I have seen it many times, in all forms. Professional, dedicated, caring.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

5 this is a excellent school i will keep my child there at all costs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

I am so pleased with the education my child is getting at Hazel Dell Elementary. The staff is amazing and treat the families and children with such respect. I am always greeted with a smile and feel as though I can go to them for any situation. The building is clean and the hot lunches are awesome! The teachers and the Principal go out of their way to assess each child and their needs, and then respond accordingly. Either to up the challenge or to slow down. I cant say enough great things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

This school based on MSP state testing falls well below average. Is has a ranking of 3 on a scale 1 to 10. For some reason lower income students have worse performance then kids with a higher income. I do not understand this. Is the school saying that kids with a lower income does not have the same ability to learn or are they picking and choosing who they teach. I see the community ratings on this page how ever it does not state the ratings of this school based on test scores based on the states expected requirement. I urge everyone to go to the state test scores based on other schools around us, income, ethnic group and any other information you can gather based on facts. At that point let the school leaders no how you really feel and get involved. We as parents must be the leaders of our children and the school we send them to. Any suggestions to make this school better please put your review on here or bring it to the school and school board. Our children deserve a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

We attended this school for 3 years and have since moved out of the district. I must say that we miss it terribly! From the caring and always approachable teachers to the impressive involvement of the principle, this school is so welcoming and inclusive of all of it's student's. The parent friendly atmosphere combined with top notch supervision of the children always put my mind at ease, and I realize now that not every school has it as together as Hazel Dell. I appreciated the consistent and firm yet completely caring attitudes of the teachers - and their willingness to embrace each child's individuality. Thanks for taking such wonderful care of our children and we miss you Panthers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

I am raising my grandson. I so beleive this is a very good school hazeldell elementary has a wide diversity in their students. The teachers are very concern for their student and do communicate to the parents which I like very much. When my kids were young they spent a year at this school now my grandson is going to hazeldell. He started with headstart there and now he is in third grade and doing well. Thank you for being here


Posted August 16, 2006

I just finished elementary school and I ahve to say, this school takes the cake! I went here for 5 years and I recommend it to every adult with kids. Best school I've been to.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 19, 2006

Our child just completed Kindergarten at Hazel Dell. The teaching and administrative staff have been wonderful and the curriculum excellent. Our son loves school and his teacher, and can't wait to start 1st grade. He has performed well academically due to the way basic skills are taught. His teacher has communicated with us well and appears to treatsall of her students in a way that makes them feel special. The staff did a good job orienting us to the school and the way the curriculum is taught prior to the start of the school year. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

Very nice new building, but academic program seems to be lacking. Sports program is good, but music and art are hardly priorities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2005

The new school has made quite a difference in our children's futures. The staff works hard to ensure that all students feel safe, important, respected, and involved academically. There are so many after school activities to choose from, that will benefit every child in countless ways! Another benefit the students have are the faculty members of the extracurricular activities. They can learn a dance from a different culture, as well as how to play a new song on many instruments! The parents of Hazel Dell students are also an important part of the school. Volunteers are always encouraged and welcome for events during holidays and for Panther Nights, which are held once a week. You can also find parents helping out in the classrooms. Everyone has worked hard to make Hazel Dell Elementary the best it can be, and will continue to do so in the future days to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

My son attended this school for one year and I knew instantly it was not a fit for him. The teachers did not provide good feedback and seem to only be able to operate with a linear student personality. Any students that went even a bit out of their 'ideal' expectations were instantly considered a problem. My son is very kenetic and needs to move a lot and because the teachers at this school would not even work with that he learned almost nothing the entire year and ended up being behind the other students his age. I moved him to Walnut Grove where they were willing to work with him and he is now almost totaly caught up and excells at math. I would never bring another of my children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

I don't think that I would want my daughter anywhere else. It is a new school, excellent principal and teachers. It seems as though there is nothing that this school lacks for my childs development and well being. She loves it there and I am happy she is enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female52%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income52%
Not low income74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited English31%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female66%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income58%
Not low income70%
Special educationn/a
Not special education66%
Limited English39%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students42%
Female38%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic38%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Low income44%
Not low income38%
Special educationn/a
Not special education45%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female62%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income58%
Not low income54%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students57%
Female71%
Male37%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income63%
Not low income46%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited English38%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female44%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Low income40%
Not low income53%
Special education17%
Not special education50%
Limited English18%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female75%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income64%
Not low income77%
Special education25%
Not special education77%
Limited English46%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students53%
Female45%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Low income50%
Not low income57%
Special education33%
Not special education56%
Limited English36%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 60%
Hispanic 23% 20%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 110%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 264%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 71%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Laurence Howard

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

511 NE Anderson St
Vancouver, WA 98665
Phone: (360) 313-2050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT