Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Shore Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 429 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2014

Overall, I am fairly happy with Lake Shore. First grade was a bit rough. Our first grade teachers' favorite kids are of advanced learning. Those that are a LITTLE challenged are bullied. We felt very discourage by this teacher. Since then we have learned from 4 other sets of parents that we are not alone in that experience. We also found out that the principal at that time favored that teacher, so we did not go to him because we did not want our child to be on the radar. We have a new principal this year, so hopefully she will be open to coaching that teacher. Second grade was 100% better! We had the best teacher I have ever met in my life. The learning challenges our child has improved and reduced to almost non existent with the love, grace and positive guidance from this very special teacher. The office staff are nice and helpful. The community is warm and friendly. Had things continued as they were in first grade, they would have 1 star. BUT, the second grade experience far out weighs first grade so it is 4 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

Lakeshore is a wonderful school! My first grader is already learning multiplcation and division! The PTA does fun family nights once a month which are awesome, and the teachers and staff really care about the kids and want them to succeed. My only complaint is the amount of sugary treats my son gets for doing well...:(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

As a grandparent, who has visited and spent time in a couple of classrooms, I am impressed with Lake Shore Elementary Staff and the direction of the school. I am very happy to have my grandchild at your school! Thank you all for your hard work towards our future!


Posted October 20, 2009

Very dedicated teachers whom utmost concerns are about the success of The Students in Lake Shore both academically and the children's welfare..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

I love this school! My family has had students there over the past 6 years. I think the snootiness mentioned came from the Challenge (gifted) program students, parents, and teacher. They're no longer at our school, and the rest of us are glad. Teachers are friendly and approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2007

The school is demanding and has high standards. The teachers are highly skilled. In particular, they do a wonderful job working with students with dramatically different home backgrounds. There are very wealthy kids at Lakeshore. There are also kids with families on public assistance at our school. The principal is very receptive to any feedback or suggestions. The parents are actually a little 'too' involved at this school. This probably relates to the other posts about snootiness. Although my husband and are both college graduates, we notice that most of the soccer moms' at this school believe their children are budding little Einsteins and need to be 'challenged' with more homework and extra projects. The only drawback I can see is the limited number of after school activities. Other schools in the district have after school activities. I am not sure why Lakeshore doesn't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

Great school we have had no negative experiences with this school! m Shanaberger
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2007

This is a great school if you dont mind a stuck up snooty staff. My child had been in the challenge program and decided he wanted to go to 'normal' school.We tried Lake Shore and found the staff to be stuck up rude and snotty. We felt very uncomfortable there and after 3 weeks my son asked to go to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

I have had 3 children in Lake Shore and my experience has been extrememly positive. Most of the teachers are excellent, but the thing that makes the most difference is a high percentage of parent involvement and commitement to the school. The school is also very community oriented which is a value I like my children to learn. If I could keep all my kids there all they way through, I would, but they are boundry exception and I think I am running out of time. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

We have had great experiences at Lake Shore but have also had a couple really bad ones that should have been handled by the staff much faster manner than they were. There are a few outstanding teachers there that go the extra mile with your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students75%
Female73%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income55%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income50%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female73%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income56%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female80%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income56%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female80%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income69%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female66%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income57%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income76%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female74%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income67%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 60%
Hispanic 9% 20%
Two or more races 4% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 14%N/A8%
Special education 118%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 232%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 52%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9300 NW 21st Ave
Vancouver, WA 98665
Phone: (360) 313-2250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT