Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 403 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

I'm very disappointed in Lincoln elementary school. I had heard great things about this school and bought our house in this neighborhood based on what I had heard. My son has been there for two years now and all I can say is I'm disappointed. The staff is rude and speaks to parents like they speak to students. The staff gossips about parents to other parents. I dread walking to pick up my son and driving to pick up my son. The education my son is getting is comparable with any other school. That said, I would choose a school with lesser ratings where he got the same education without the snobby, snooty attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

Two of my children are currently enrolled a Lincoln, and I have been pleased every school year with their teachers. The student population is diverse in both experience and aptitude, yet the teachers are able to meet everyone's needs, whether that means remediation for missing skills or challenge extensions for the more gifted learners. Lincoln is undoubtedly the best of the downtown neighborhood school options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Lincoln is such a great school! Best staff ever! We are like one big family here at Lincoln. The Lincoln community is very supportive.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 3, 2010

This school is one of the best I have seen in several states! Smaller class sizes, and individual attention to the children, makes me LOVE MY CHILDREN TO ATTEND LINCOLN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

LIncoln is the best in VSD!! Hands Down!!! I couldn't work with or for a more wonderful group of people!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

academic success is the key and everyone thinks of the kids first and how we can help them learn and be happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

Our twins went to kindergarten here and both excelled. The teachers were wonderful and very invested in the children. I cannot praise this school enough. We just moved to Dallas and are truly missing this wonderful school as the ones here are awful. I didn't know how lucky we were.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

The staff is great with the kids but quite a few things worry me. I do everything when it comes to my childrens school appts and events. So when my husband who has not yet met any teachers or staff was able to walk on to the playground full of children and walk into the building without being stopped by any teacher it worried me. It was also the same day my husband picked our son up before school was out, and didn't sign him out or show ID. The security and well being of my children at that school is very unstable. I really don't feel I can trust them with my kids safety . Also the school meals that they serve are so small my sons teacher is taking money out of her own pocket to provide her students with snacks before lunch. Theres more but no room
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

the staff is great with our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I really like this school, My kids seem to get along with the facility very well. they are really good about working with kids one on one when it is needed. The neighborhood that the school is in is very safe and a great place to be. All the teachers work well with the kids even though the class sizes are of a medium size (about 20) As a parent I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

both of my sons went to this elementary school, Tyler started out in the third grade, tanner started at kindergarten. i have nothing but praise for the administration and teaching staff...along with all the other employees and volunteers of lincoln. thank you so much for being there and teaching my sons all things. Tyler still currently holds a 4.0 average in h.s. and is on the honor roll. tanner made the honor roll at his middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
15%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students57%
Female48%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income50%
Not low incomen/a
Special education53%
Not special education58%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female86%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income79%
Not low incomen/a
Special education53%
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female50%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Low income32%
Not low income70%
Special education14%
Not special education55%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female70%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income63%
Not low income75%
Special education43%
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students52%
Female70%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Low income42%
Not low income70%
Special education43%
Not special education55%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female41%
Male49%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Low income43%
Not low income53%
Special education23%
Not special education51%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female59%
Male63%
Black82%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic21%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income58%
Not low income71%
Special education46%
Not special education65%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students44%
Female41%
Male46%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic21%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Low income32%
Not low income77%
Special education31%
Not special education47%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 63%
Hispanic 17% 18%
Black 9% 5%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian 1% 7%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 158%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 27%N/A8%
Special education 217%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 58%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Craig Homnick

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 NW Daniels St
Vancouver, WA 98660
Phone: (360) 313-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT