Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

McLoughlin Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 296 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2014

Every student had an iPad and a new technology focused curriculum last year. It also has some very hard working teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

Mac is a great school all things considered. Teachers care and work extra hard to take care of the students. It's more diverse than a lot of schools in the district which is a plus. It isn't full of spoiled rich kids like other near by private schools. Teachers and principals really care. I just wish more students and parents were proud of their neighborhood school and continued to grow community pride and involvement in this historic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

This school is one if the worst in the world. Teachers expect to respect them but they don't respect you. They NEVER help anyone. The dress code is ridiculous because McLaughlin is the only school in bad to have a dress code. The principles yell at you teachers say bad words and talk behind your back to other teachers. I think this school needs new principles and teachers or be shut down.


Posted July 23, 2011

I love this school. (: It is so awesome and great. The teachers a cool. My 6th grade math teacher, ms. Pappan is the BEST. I love you. Sincerely, Denisa Husic


Posted April 29, 2011

The previous Principal was excellent. The high-ranking comments from 2009 and before were because of his leadership, in my opinion. The current Principal is terrible. There are non-stop verbal fights between students using vulgarities I cannot repeat here, increasing in intensity because the problem isn't dealt with promptly. Eventually these verbal conflicts become physical altercations, not just between 2 students, but between gangs of friends (because it escalates to that extreme). This would have never happened with the previous administration. The kids fear for their safety and there is little supervision or protection. One security guard simply walked away when my student asked for help. When a girl called my daughter "Ugly," the counselor's response was, "Well have you looked in the mirror lately?" The Principal's way of dealing with the violent girl cliques is to create a new one called the "Sisterhood" Group. From what I understand, this group was established to get the bullies and their victims together to "work things out." It isn't working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Mac is about test scores, nothing more. Every year, the teachers tell the students about how important the WASL is. Being able to pass a single test is a lousy indicator. (The DMV makes us all take a standardized test, too. How was your drive home from work today?) The teachers are fine for the most part, but the school policies are for the benefit of the administration, not the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

I feel that there is not enough supervision at this school. There are a lot of fights, and it isn't very safe. There are a lot of rough kids too. I will be trying to get my son into a different school for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

I have been on the PTA every year for the last 3 years. I have gone to every parent meeting. I have volunteered for almost every function. However, I know that people on this many people who are criticizing the school have not been to a meeting, have not helped out at a family night. I also know from personally meeting with the Mr. Reeves that the test scores have gone up, discipline rates have gone down, and student moral & involvement has also increased. For the parent who thinks that mac attire is hard to handle. Think about it...Walmart $10.00 shirts compared to Nordstroms $50.00 t shirts. Does your child really need clothes that can cost the same as a electric bill or the garbage bill. I know for a fact the PTA even gave Mr. Reeves money to help students get at least 1 or 2 shirts that wearable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

I Hate Mac attire. its stupid and there is no need for it, it does nothing. other than that its okay?
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

This school is awesome! :) all these reviews are nothing like the actual school! i guess you will just have to come here to find out! mr mccoy and mr six rock!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2008

Some teachers really care and some you have to keep on them to help with your child, they seem to busy to give that extra effort to a child who asks for help. the principal tries to help but still waiting for the teachers to respond. the dress code is the most horrific idea I have seen and to try and hold back all the children who's parents can afford clothes is unfair to these kids who are trying to grow and find themselves. Also with a school that has no lockers for these kids to put there belongings, and made to wear a backpack all day and no place to put there gym clothes, lunches or different classes during the day is as close to a bad learning enviroment as it gets. If you are thinking about enrolling in this school please look around to other schools, planning to move!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2007

i miss this school so much i loved it the teachers classes principles ect. it was over all an amazing school im a sophmore now and if i could go back and do it all again i would


Posted August 22, 2007

i go there and i swear i love it. my mom loves that they have honor classes and the staff are very nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2007

I love mac the staff is very helpful and the extra activites are outstanding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2006

i am currently attending this school and the academic programs are really organizedand succsessful with the students.mr.obenour is our music teacher and we achieve in the marching band every year.but overtrall this school is a good envoirnement to learn in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2005

My child has gone to this school for 3 years.This year is his last year before high school.He has not been giveing his all.His father and I were at our wits end with his attitude.I scheduled a conference with his teachers and ALL of them showed up.I was so impressed with each one of them.They were so careing and willing to help out in any way.This school has at the very least 6 of the greatest most careing teacher's I have known.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I have seen spikes in their math performance for 6th grade 2003 but then it returned to 40% pass. I wonder how they can duplicate their success in 2003 again.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 8, 2004

This school offers a challenge program which I believe was great 3 years ago. The science teacher Mrs Ko and 6th grade Challenge teacher was absolutely top notch.I am disappointed with the last two years that a science team no longer meets to compete. There are a variety of extracurricular activities offered but I think that the academic type might also benefit the students. I think the kids should get extra credit for participating in extracurricular activities that are academic in nature as it enhances their learning in a different format. The music program is great especially Mr Obenour!! I have noticed that the no child left behind program has changed the mind set of teaching and how information is presented to students. Kids that were discouraged with school are enthused with learning. What better way to improve behavior and self-esteem. Love the family night actitivies. Thanks for responding McLoughlin staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2004

McLoughlin Middle School has a very well advanced learning system. The teachers are fun, loving, caring, and extremely over the top helpful with the students that attend at McLoughlin Middle School. There is one thing I want all parents to remember it's not the grades that matter, it's the test scores that make up the grades that matter.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2004

I go to Mcloughlin middle school. I know how things are really and some things people are saying are true and others arent...I mean we do have fights but not everyday. We do have some good teachers but not all are nice. But I have to agree that th p.e. teachers are really cool. And our school does have some expactations. Teachers at our school grade differently to make sure that the kids are getting the best time and the work isnt too easy or too hard. Sure our school is really old but we are getting remodled this summer and sure we do have a few problems with some kids but not all are bad....and sure 8th graders are going to pick on 6th and 7th graders they are the big dogs of our school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students38%
Female39%
Male38%
Black8%
Asian55%
Asian/Pacific Islander47%
Hispanic28%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander43%
White49%
Low income33%
Not low income66%
Special education4%
Not special education45%
Limited English9%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female55%
Male43%
Black46%
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander48%
White56%
Low income44%
Not low income72%
Special education21%
Not special education54%
Limited English19%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female46%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanic29%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander53%
White57%
Low income40%
Not low income74%
Special education23%
Not special education48%
Limited English16%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Female45%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander53%
Hispanic27%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander42%
White58%
Low income40%
Not low income64%
Special education27%
Not special education45%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students58%
Female69%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic49%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander83%
White62%
Low income55%
Not low income74%
Special education12%
Not special education63%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students34%
Female35%
Male34%
Black8%
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander38%
Hispanic27%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander14%
White43%
Low income30%
Not low income51%
Special education3%
Not special education39%
Limited English12%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students35%
Female41%
Male28%
Black23%
Asian50%
Asian/Pacific Islander21%
Hispanic27%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander0%
White45%
Low income30%
Not low income55%
Special education12%
Not special education38%
Limited English5%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students39%
Female41%
Male37%
Black8%
Asian60%
Asian/Pacific Islander29%
Hispanic28%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islander7%
White54%
Low income34%
Not low income60%
Special education18%
Not special education42%
Limited English7%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

10 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students90%
Female83%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Low income90%
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low income100%
Not low incomen/a
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 60%
Hispanic 34% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 14%N/A8%
Special education 115%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 280%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 86%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5802 MacArthur Blvd
Vancouver, WA 98661
Phone: (360) 313-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ged/Re-Entry Program
Vancouver, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT